We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURI SANTRIAN”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Puri Santrian almost two years ago. Stopping off in KL, staying at Traders Hotel in the hart of the city, one of the best Hotels I have been to. The Puri Santrain is a very nice hotel, with lovely gardens to walk in. The staff are always happy, and very helpful and cannot do enough for you. The rooms we stayed in are in the old style of Bali, kept very clean and tidy with towels changed every day. A nice balcony looking over the well kept gardens. The electric wiring on some things was not to western standards, but it worked. The breakfast were very good with a good choice of food. The waiting staff were great and always helpful. The pool area had one small pool very nice and a large pool on the other side of the hotel, which was always popular, the best pool is in the clubroom part, really nice, but you have to be in the clubrooms to use it (not so good) but we did on certain times. Until we were asked not-to-not use this pool, when we arrived no one told us that we could not use this pool, not good on the part of the hotel. The beach is very nice and well kept will we were there, you can walk in to the town by way of the beach with out to much hassle from people selling things, but saying that the people of Bali are really lovely. We spend two weeks in Bali and had a great time, much better to eat out, there are loads of really good restaurants in Sanur and at a good price. If you go to the Puri, get a clubroom much better. We had some really good tours in Bali, the tour guides were very good but watch out for the wood carving places some are not cheap, you can by the same thing on the beach at Sanur for a lot less. Are last day we were picked up by the reps to go to the airport (not happy bunnies) not sure why. The custom people at the airport were really great. I would go back to Bali any day, really lovely people. I would not stay at the Puri Santrian again, a bit segregated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiaikido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,260 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in the puri for 14 nights ,fantastic greeting. Upgraded to a club room. ( thank you ) the room was fantastic ,clean towels daily ,replenished soap shampoo ect daily, fresh flowers every other day nice touch ,rooms sprayed, immaculately clean and spacious ,staff was friendly and always greeting you with a smile and nice conversation. Nothing was a problem.
The grounds was just amazing ,loved the balineseness style . Plenty shade if needed .beached clean twice daily beach bed plentiful. The staff work hard all day from sweeping the leaves up to the cleaning staff. And reception excellent
We could not fault this hotel or staff.we looked around a few other hotels whilst in Bali. And would recommend this hotel. For young and old .best hotel in sanur keep up the good work you have a fantastic hotel.
Would recommend to all ages. Late bars just out side main gate if you want them.
We wil defornatley return.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed in the club section for 10 days - outstanding value for a large, peaceful room on the top floor. The only noise was the bubbling of the gorgeous pool below my huge balcony. This hotel is built in the old style of Bali and has magnificent mature gardens with lots of beautifully lit statues throughout. The staff were excellent and food was delicious although outside of breakfast I ate a lot at the beach warungs just along the beach pathway and places in the street. In my opinion Sanur is definitely the best beach place in Bali now as it is the only beach with some tradition left.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Club section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bkkjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

stayed 5 enjoyable and relaxing nights in club room by pool we did not have breakfast included in our deal however we chose to eat most mornings at hotel buffet rather than go out
staff/ room and grounds excellent current promotion two person pay one deal at spa (at certain time) great value
given complimentary afternoon tea with a hotel presentation talk on hotel chain facilities very informative
enjoyed beach front restaurant great spot for quiet drink and meal would definately return and recommend

Room Tip: originally booked garden wing as it had no balcony we requested to be changed and were moved to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae60w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It's nice enough but not a luxury hotel as it's trying to promote itself. After a VERY LONG  and unnecessarily complicated check in, we got to walk around and see the place. The hotel grounds are fairly nice, the garden, the pool areas, the beach cafe... In fact, the pools are very creative with a nice balance of swimming and splashing areas. However, the pavilions with the rooms are very uninspired, starting with institutional tiles and bare white walls. Our room was large enough but it had a strange layout and it was missing little touches like area mats on the side of the bed. With bare floors, it seemed pretty utilitarian. The air condition was just a wall unit that blew the air into the room leaving the bathroom and the hallway that housed the closets, sink and vanity area, quite hot at all times.

The hotel is relatively clean and our room was tidied up promptly every day, but the bare essential amenities such as soap and shampoo were only supplied at the very beginning of our stay and on the fourth day of our five-day stay. Note: if your hair is chemically processed (color, highlights, perm), you will need to bring a conditioner. The "conditioned shampoo" that the hotel provided only worked as a shampoo. The hair dryer is a joke - I laughed when I tried it and went around with wet hair the whole time.

We got upgraded to the Club Level on our arrival. What that got us was the access to the Club pool (no kids under the age of 14 and the pool area is tucked away from the wind which was nice). I imagine we got a better room than the base, but I'm not sure about that.

The staff is very nice but gets easily confused with anything other than a very straight forward question. I asked a pool attendant where the nearest toilet was and he replied that there wasn't one and that I would have to go back to my room to use it. A guest overheard this exchange and told me "no, it's just around the corner" and pointed me to it. Sure enough, there it was about 30 feet away. We had other bizarre interactions like this. Also, the front desk staff and attendands walking around the property tried to engage us in strange conversations that felt more like interrogations than polite small talk. We chucked it to a cultural difference, but curiously did not experience it anywhere else in Bali.

The location of the hotel is pretty good and although the beach is a lot smaller than the one in Seminyak or Jimbaran, we liked it because it had plenty of shade, lots of beach loungers and there was a very short distance between the pool/restaurant area and the ocean, so you could alternate the swim in the ocean with the swim in the pool while staying in the same lounge chair and ordering food/drinks from the same place. We would also leave all our stuff on the lounger and go sit at the outside beach cafe or go for a walk on either side of the boardwalk. It felt pretty safe to do it and we did not experience any issues. The only small issue was having to sign for the beach towels, having to return them, getting a hassle from the pool attendant if you needed an extra one or fresh towels. I understand that they probably have problems with people who are not guests of the hotel, but there is a lot more elegant way to resolve this than treating the guests like they are all potential thieves making their mission to leave Bali with as many old towels as possible.

Bottom line, we had a fairly good time and got a good value for the rates (I booked a few months ahead through hotels.com and got a great deal) but I would not stay in this hotel again.

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms on the ground level. There is a lot of foot traffic and everyone ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ann7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.5 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
2.2 km away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,557 reviews
0.3 km away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
531 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#27 of 79 in Sanur
2,379 reviews
11.8 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#15 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $151 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing