We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful discovery”
Review of The Pavilions Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pavilions Bali
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2008

After reading a lot of good things about this place, my partner and I decided to try it out in early January. The property is located in Sanur, on the East Coast of Southern Bali. The property is accessed from the main road via a beautiful and serene bamboo-lined driveway (see picture).

The property has a total of 23 villas, and we were in villa 20, one of the three 2-story 'Honeymoon Suites'. We booked it at a discounted rate through a local travel agency's website, BaliDwipa, but payment through the agency was a complex and time-consuming experience to say the least (they picked us up at our hotel to go to their office and get an imprint of our credit card, after having us fax them photocopies of our passports and credit card from Canada before our trip!).

The villa was beautiful and perfect in every way, with a couple of exceptions: 1- the outdoor shower had poor water pressure and was poorly set up in my opinion, making it kind of useless and, last but not least: 2- there were no smoke detectors in the villas (unless I'm blind), and if you consider the fact that the spiral staircase that leads up to the sleeping quarters is nothing else than a chimney with stairs, my guess is that if a fire ever breaks out on the main floor during the night, you'll be history in no time!

That being said, the villas are gorgeous (plus there is a 2-piece bathroom next to the bedroom upstairs), the private pool is a real pool (sorry for being opinionated here, but 'plunge pools' should not be called 'pools') and each villa is totally enclosed and private, which allows you to walk around and swim totally in the nude if that's your kind of thing...We found the staff to be kind and gracious (just like everywhere else in Bali), but lacking in experience and self-assurance.

Food and drink prices are extremely reasonable for this kind of property: the small Bintang beers in your villa fridge are about a dollar (large ones are $1.50!), and restaurant prices are much lower than at properties in this price range (a half bottle of Veuve Cliquot sells for under $50!). The food is not especially good though, especially given the fact that this property is part of the very upscale Relais & Chateaux brand (we ordered croissants and pastries for breakfast on our second morning, and they were nothing short of dismal).

All in all, an excellent stay that reminded us very much of a previous stay at the Uma Ubud, although I'd say the Uma was slightly better overall.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 359 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2008

Wow where do i start!! This place is unreal. we stayed here from 22/12/07 for 2 weeks over xmas and new year. We stayed in a 1 bedroom pool villa which i would highly recommend paying the extra for. You may have read in the brouchures that the villas have private walled gardens, well when it says private it is exactly that. So much so that even the entrance to each property has a lockable wooden door with a door bell so that when room service arrive they cant disturb you!!!!!

Each morning breakfast is served privately in your room by your own butler, there choice of continental,American and balinese breakfast. (see photos for example)

The villa has a lounge/dining area which is ample size, well furnished/decorated with a tv, dvd and music system. There was an outside bath(some villas have inside or out) a walk in wardrope and 2 sink areas (a his and hers!!)

Theres also a mini bar in the room. We were very suprised at the prices both in the hotel and bali itself. An exapmle would be a can of coke being 9000 rupiah. Now bear in mind that there is 18600 rupiah to £1 or 9300 to $1 so a coke was £0.30p chocolate bar £.80p bottle of corona £1. This was really handy as often alot of hotel mini bars (as you will well know) are very expensive but here you could have whatever you wanted whenever you wanted without thinking you are going to break the bank!!!!!

There is a restaurant in the hotel which serves dinner/evening meals or you can dine privately in your own villa (butler service-no extra charge!!) Again very reasonable prices, startes from about £1.50 to £2.50 and mains for £2-£4 (to work out in $ just double these figures)

Also a good point to make is reagrding the hotel Spa, my girlfriend had a manicure/pedicure and i have hotstone massage on xmas day!! it was fantastic and not overly priced.

overall service and standard here is impecable, the receptionist are very handy, butler service and room staff will be there within minutes for whatever need you have. If you are planning a honeymoon, relaxing stay away, pampering holiday or just an excuse for a luxury trip away i would highly recommend Bali Pavilions

Some inside tips about the resort Sanur ans Bali

Contrary to most other destinations ive been to dont negotiate taxi fares before hand. All official taxis have a meter and this will generally be alot cheaper than a negotiated price. prices are cheap only £0.50p/$1 within Sanur. Around £4/$8 to KUTA/Seminyak and £5/$10 to Jimbaran. Particularly bare this in mind when landing in bali for the 1st time and taking a taxi from the airport to the hotel. we paid double what we should have due to negotiating before hand instead of using the meter. The only time this tip is not relevant is if you decide to hire out a taxi for a half/full day. its cheaper to negotiate a total price which you can get for around £20-£30/$40- $50 for a full day(8 to 10 hours) !!! thats cheap!!

Although this happened only the once so dont be put of by this comment, be carefull when exchanging money/travellers cheques. in one place in Sanur we exchanged $100 cheque which we needed around 920,000 rupiah, she counted out 900,000 in 50.000 denominations asked me to check it then gave me the 20.000 after this. She then picked up all the cash and proceeded to count the money out and hand it over. As she did so she very quickly managed to slip out 4 x 50.000 notes. If it wasnt the fact that i double checked the total pile of cash we would have walked out with a lot less than we should have. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Hotel offer a bus service to the beach, if you want to walk it can takle 10-15 minutes. However there is a good short cut. Turn left out of the hotel and cross the road. 200 metres you will find a hotel with La Taverna sign (italian) tell the security guard that you wish to dine there and he will let you pass without questioning you!!!!!! Its alot easier than waiting for the hotel bus.

Although we had a great time i would not travel back there in Decemer or January, when it tell you its rainy season in the brochures its not like the caribbean( 1/2 hours then it stops) it rained all day. over 15 nights it rained 50% of the time but it didnt dampen our spirits(pardon the pun!!)

Sanur nightlike contrary to what i had personally read is fairly low key. if you want a party night out head for Kuta which is 30 mins by taxi.

we visited tana lot, the wildlife zoo, the resorts of Sanur, Jimbaran (exellent sea food restaurants- stick to the upmarket ones though), Nusa Dua, Ubud and would recommend going to explore these places.

Since the Bali bombings security has been tightened, and from my experience it was 1st class security in all resorts, hotels and restaurants that we visited.

Stayed: December 2007
7  Thank EnglishJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sharlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mrssin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Sampo_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 km away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
2 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tandjung Sari Hotel
Tandjung Sari Hotel
#5 of 82 in Sanur
565 reviews
4.3 km away
The Samata
The Samata
#1 of 82 in Sanur
173 reviews
2.4 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 76, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $173 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilions Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in a quiet corner of Sanur, The Pavilions Bali makes for your calming moment of bliss. Set between a reef lagoon and stretches of white sand, this secluded spot offers peace, yet is conveniently close to Sanur’s main shopping area. Enjoy The Pavilions Bali charming, spacious villas and leave your worries behind. Our personalised butlers are at your call with unobstructive attention ensuring complete privacy. Relax at The Pavilions Spa with our signature massages with handcrafted aromatic oils, enjoy breakfast in you private villa. See the real Bali with our private tailored made island tours with our butler, let our chefs create delicious Balinese candlelit dinners for you at Jahe Restaurant or at your villa. See why our guests cannot wait to come back to The Pavilions again, book today on our website for exclusive offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pavilions Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Pavilions Hotel Sanur
The Pavilions Bali Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing