We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoked duck”
Review of Putu's Wild Ginger

Putu's Wild Ginger
Ranked #55 of 980 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Putu's Wild Ginger is built out of love. Love that Putu and her husband, Nyoman, want to share with you. If you're coming through Ubud, swing by for the best home-cooked meal on the island. Reservations (by phone or email) strongly recommended. Please give 24 hours notice if you'd like to try Putu's famous smoked duck feast.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last visit to Ubud 3 years ago and the smoked duck was recommended. Book a day in advance.
Was excellent then so we went back this visit.
Did not disappoint.
I recommend you go to wild ginger for smoked duck, remember book 24hrs in advance.

Thank Boxy762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

2nd time to Wild Ginger for the smoked duck and it didn’t disappoint!! Such a wonder family atmosphere and good find in Bali you do need to order this ahead though but it is worth it. You get a lot of little dishes with it and they are yummy to say the least. Sorry about the picture has started eating before I took the picture too good to wait!!

Thank debrab587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Noticed this small warung few years ago,but this year when i revisited Ubud in June,and stayed not far,so had a chance to have dinner here.i ordered their signature dish,putu kecap,i chose tempe,cuz found the price not cheap( compared to other big warung)and also ordered pisang goreng and special tea(lemongrass something), taste not bad,the sauce is sweet and nice,but the portion as you read here,some pointed out very small,so a bit pricey,not sure other dish,like nasi goreng big or small.for me just an experience,the tea no problem,but it is very common tea in Indonesia,so the price should reflect the value.about pisang goreng,for me a bit sour,they put honey on it to make it sweet,but not my taste!if you are new to Indonesian food or local food,and stay close to it,you can have a try,service is good,only the portion not good.

Thank Raymondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Have visited this Warung many times in the last few months. We have always found it to be absolutely delicious, the service is exceptional and it is very well priced. Thank you Putu, Nomad and Tueria Om Swastiastu!

Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryansobol, son of the owners at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Not sure how this place is so highly rated. I waited 58 minutes for a basic nasi goreng. Tasteless as well. The portion sizes for the cost are ridiculous. You get around 1/2 a cup of rice for 50k. I ask them to add chicken but they were out of chicken and did not tell me till after I was served. When I got the bill they did not even total it up right and by “accident” added an addition 15% on top of the already normal 15% so food plus 30%. When corrected they acted surprised. I presume this is a normal thing for them as most tourist probably don’t realize and just pay. I suggest going to another place as there are many in close proximity that are far superior.

Thank blonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryansobol, son of the owners at Putu's Wild Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We've spoken with the kitchen staff about the portions and with the wait staff on the correct billing procedure. We appreciate your feedback and hope to redeem ourselves in your eyes if given another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Putu's Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing