We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic people, nice grounds and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Ranked #77 of 629 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Let me begin this review by stating that the front of this hotel (and hence the actual reception area) is still being built, so don't judge this book by its cover.

This hotel was an excellent choice in the heart of Ubud. First, the staff are very friendly, and I mean that in a genuine fashion. They help with anything they can, and aren't trying to push tours etc on you. For example, we were advised to take a tour from somewhere across the street since it was cheaper than the rate the hotel was able to offer.

The breakfast each morning was fabulous (american or balinese). The rooms are very big, and actually consist of a bedroom and I guess something of a sunroom, which we mainly used for breakfast in the morning. The beds are comfy, everything is clean, modern, and well-cared for. The grounds feel like you're living in a beautiful temple, and the pool is gorgeous and fun to swim in.

Locationwise, you're right on Monkey forest road, which means the monkey forest is less than 5 mins walk down the hill (watch out, I almost got pee-ed on by a monkey on a branch above me! do take care not to get scratched or bitten, there's apparently a rabies problem going around with stray dogs in Bali, I don't know if it's affected the monkeys but I personally wouldn't allow the monkeys to climb all over me or my kids as many people were doing). And the Ubud Palace is about 15 mins walk up the hill, where you can catch some great dance performances at night. The Legong dance we saw there was nice, but after that the Barong seemed very similar. We heard the Kecak is good, but didn't manage to catch it.

All in all, we weren't disappointed in this hotel!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AntigenBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were uncertain where the inn was, but we made our way pass a construction site, down a flight of steps and through an intricately carved Entrance into a courtyard. That was where we received our keys to the house.

Standing in the middle of the courtyard, the ambience was soaked in rich Balinese culture with the architecture, the parrot and the rooster. The room is very spacious and clean. Ample incense and cleaning eliminates mozzies and bugs presence within house.

Wonderful experience. Am sure the overall feel will be further enhanced with the completion of the construction in the front yard.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobeer4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great location, not far from monkey forest and Ubud market. It's not completely constructed yet but the built area is extremely nice, Balinese style pondok and decoration, the only noise comes from the parrot. Staff are very responsive and nice, had a little difficulty in communication but luckily we've got Google translate which solves the problem easily. And Free Wi-Fi!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the studio unit right in front of the beautiful blue swimming pool with tranquil green backdrop. An oasis 50 meters the middle of monkey forest road, you can only hear the noise of the birds and animals. Only 5 minutes walk to Monkey Forest, 10 minutes to Market. Pool very clean, lovely sunbathing area with loungers. Great patio with daybed, table and chairs and only a few steps into the pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fabulous breakfast delivered to room. The hotel area is same concept as Bali housing compound. They were still finishing the front reception and spa area but we never heard any construction noise once in the compound. Definitely recommend, fantastic hotel in great location, it was great to have nice hotel without the hassle of catching transport to and from town, you could come and go as you pleased. Try Sagittarius across road for cheap decent food. We had 3 nights of average food on Monkey Forest Road until the last night we walked across the road!

Room Tip: We loved the room by the pool and had to much to ourselves the entire stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at Pondok Pundi with my fiancé in february and it was an amazing stay, we stayed at the rooms closest to the pool and it was just fantastic. The breakfast was amazing and the staff is more than helpful with everything you wish for, "just ask".

The hotel is run under the same management as the popular resturant "pundi-pundi" in Ubud and the owner really put a lot of effort and heart into both establishments.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closest to the pool, you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
627 reviews
0.2 km away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#102 of 199 in Ubud
218 reviews
0.7 km away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 629 in Ubud
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#29 of 629 in Ubud
206 reviews
0.3 km away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#23 of 609 in Ubud
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#21 of 629 in Ubud
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $47 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Zenrooms so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing