We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining and delicious ”

Ketut's Bali Cooking Class
Ranked #3 of 33 Food & Drink in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An Original Balinese Cooking Class offers you an opportunity to learn how to cook real Balinese food with local ingredients, with skilled and friendly Instructors. Teachers who can impart the secrets of Balinese cooking to you in a casual and fun atmosphere. Chef Ketut is cooking instructor of Payuk Bali Cooking Class. He emphasizes a friendly teaching style centered on actually doing, rather than watching. He guarantees that by the time you complete your course you will not only have learned a thing or two about Balinese cooking but you will also have had a most memorable experience.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining and delicious ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This program was wonderful! the transfer picked us up in the hotel and we met our happy Budha-like chef, Ketut in Ubud Center, at the market.
He quickly walked through the market with us, talked about the different ingredients, we even could taste some of them.
After the market we left Ubud and arrived to the kitchen in the middle of the nature (rice fields, palm trees, vegetable gardens around us), where the class started.
The chef explained how the ingredients work then we cooked a soup, two main dishes plus fried noodles and desserts.
After cooking we could sit down and the group had a wonderful lunch while strangers get to know each other a bit. Five-star service :)

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    46
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“10/10!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

This cooking class was amazing. Our driver had recommended this place and booked it for us, we didn't know what to expect. It was incredible! It was fun to cook everything and it all tasted amazing! It was at least half the price as others and we also saw the vegetable market, rice paddies, and a typical Indonesian style home. The two brothers who run this place are so kind and we could not have had a better experience!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had a wonderful time today at Ketuts cooking clas with our chef being Made
We would highly recommend this experience to everyone, great hosts, fantastic chefs and the end result Ithat we cook was delicious
Really happy we experienced this

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank muldoonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Informative Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

A start at the local Ubud market and then on to cooking. We learned three of the core sauces for Balinese cooking and made 6 different items using those sauces.

This class was FUN!!! Our instructor's laugh was irresistible and the food great. You get to take the recipes home to explore your new skills at home. Overall, a great experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank GLinville62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amusing and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

Ketut is the funniest cook we've ever met. He's very open hearted and nice, has always a little story or joke on his lips and is a very good cook and teacher.

We cooked together with 2 other couples (german an danish). The food was very good, everything was understandable and easy to do. There have been 2 helper aside. Vegetarian in no problem.

Afterwards you'll eat together from this big buffet with nice view to palm trees and rice fields. The cooking locaion is a bit outside but you will be picked up and brought back.

It's definetly worth to do!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tinicandy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ketut's Bali Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing