We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
US$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$441
US$357
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$454/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$184
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amori Villas(Ubud)
US$309
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$698
US$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
473
83
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
83
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaka lekecendrawasih suiteafternoon tearice paddiesmonkey forestcafe wayanoutdoor showereach morningfree shuttlecentral ubudshuttle service istraditional balinese stylesix nightsyogurton demandprivate terracebali trip
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had booked a rather last minute trip to Bali and had tried to stay at the Alam Indah hotel in ubud as we had stayed there before and loved it, unfortunately there were no rooms available for our stay but they managed to fit us into Alam Jiwa for a couple of nights and then Kebun Indah.
We were not disappointed, Alam Jiwa is lovely, we had the Ganesa room which had lovely views to rice paddys from its balcony and bathroom (outdoor), the servie was truly excellent and the brekkie was great. It is located a walk from Ubud but they will drive you to town and back for no charge, there are also a few restaurants close by if you dont want to venture into town each day, we liked Coffe and Copper by the monkey forest which is probably 10mins walk from Alam Jiwa. We also like their airport pick up service, no fuss and a reasonable price. We will definatly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CozPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Everything is beautiful...the rooms, the staff, the food, the decor, the view, the pool, the service, the on hand driver...everything except the shower, hot water is really really slow! However everything else makes up for it and we have booked for ten days next year. So lush!! Loved it! Its not close to town which was perfect for us because by the time we got here we were tired of shopping and noise...we actually didnt want to leave the hotel and did so only occasionally, we ordered in a lot...which was great, they brought us up plates and cutlery and set the table for us when our food arrived. I cannot speak highly enough of the service. Just absolutely loved this place. You need to book early as they book out really quickly...almost didnt want to write a review in case it becomes too popular :)

Room Tip: ganesha room is lovely!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LetitiaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

For our past 2 trips we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alam Shanti but could not get in this time. From what we can see, it seems that all rooms in Alam Jiwa have rice paddy views and the setting is more natural and less manicured than Alam Shanti. However we think the rooms (especially Yamuna where we stayed last time) at Alam Shanti are nicer.
The friendly service, the breakfast with the incomparable banana pancakes etc are excellent.
The only slight negative is the very hard bed, is it just me getting older?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

You must book this hotel very far in advance and there is a very good reason for its popularity. We booked last October to stay for four nights in May, the off season. We had to change rooms mid stay because availability was tight. We stayed one night in Jatayu and three in Cendrawasih. Jatayu is a lovely stand alone teak villa with a very fetching outdoor shower and tranquil front veranda surrounded by a garden. It was made up with one king bed and two twins for our family of four. Cendrawasih is a three story house and has a king bed and outdoor shower with a killer view on the top floor and a queen bed on the middle floor. There is a kitchen on the lower level that we never used. It is very big and overlooks the rice paddies and the river that runs adjacent to the hotel property. Jatayu has AC throughout; Cendrawasih has it only on the middle level and can get a bit warm with the fans upstairs. Both are very nice, but we frankly would have been content, when all was said and done, to stay put in Jatayu.

Breakfast was simple but lovely on our veranda or porch. Muesli, eggs, jaffle – your choice – plus fruit, fresh juice, bread, and coffee. You order the night before and they bring it to your room. Pool is small but clean and comfortable with a cool oval, portal-like entrance. We were always able to get loungers for afternoon tea and cake. The grounds in general are very pretty and the views over the rice fields are captivating. The nearby spa and restaurant owned by the same group are reasonable and solid. We had a wonderful diner at Laka Leke, though we didn’t see a show. The food was great, as was the service.

Service. This is what really distinguishes the Alam Jiwa. I have traveled the world over and stayed at every level of accomodation at one time or another. I am doing it again with my children now, and I have never encountered a more genuinely welcoming and kind staff at a hotel in my life. Such warmth. My children were entranced. We stayed in Ubud again later in our trip at a much more expensive hotel with a private pool, and my kids missed the staff at Alam Jiwa! Theyt would have changed hotels in a heart beat. I would name some of the staff, but that would be unfair to the others. All were wonderful. Drop offs are included in town which is really handy with children in tow. They all want you to have a wonderful visit. Follow their advice. We hired a driver off of Trip Advisor one day to tour out to the west. We only found out later that Wayan Rebo, one of the drivers, could have taken us instead. It would have been so much better. Rats! Just ask.

I really cannot recommend Alam Jiwa more highly. They simply do everything right. You must book early, but you will be so happy if you do! Terima kasih once more for our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BoulderBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After five weeks travelling through Indonesia on a diving vacation we arrived for three days at Alam Jiwa to relax before we flew home. We stayed in the Jatayu Room (which was more like a villa with a garden) which was beautifully appointed with plenty of room. Breakfast was delivered and taken very leisurely on the veranda which was a lovely way to start the day. The outside shower was interesting; it is not every day one can take a shower whilst looking at the rice fields

The service was impeccable from being picked up and dropped off at Denpasar airport to getting dropped of in Ubud for some shopping, nothing was too much trouble.

Alam Jiwa is a real gem and an exemplary model on service and accommodation. The staff that run this hotel are so gracious and make us feel so welcome. Alam Jiwa well and truly deserves the Trip Advisor accolade. My only advice is to book early, it’s easy to see why these rooms get booked so far in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaminrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews