We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #55 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Alam Jiwa's setting is sublime, overlooking beautiful rice terraces and waking up to ducks gives you a real sense of being on the 'real Bali' Rooms are large as are the amazing bathrooms so many reviews have mentioned. The hot water is an issue with low water pressure and it tends to run out - certainly not enough to fill the bath. We stayed in Garuda with a friend in Angsa - both beautiful. The gardens are lush and add to the tropical feel. Swimming pool very pleasant although have to admit we did not use it much. Staff are friendly and relaxed with nothing too much trouble. The shuttle is very handy but I'd encourage you to walk through the monkey forest as Ubud centre is really not as far as you may think if you only use taxis or shuttle. Breakfast was ok but not great, despite the lovelly views from your balcony. I would most definately return and reccommend to friends going to Bali. Thank you to the staff of Alam Jiwa for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a better view of rice terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 99kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 250 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Starting with the welcoming fruit juice, the beautiful room and the veranda with gorgeous views, the fabulous and abundant breakfast, the attentive staff and the shuttle service. Everything has already been said here before.
There is a negative thing that should be improved, though: the exterior shower and its lack of pressure. For this only reason I would give Alam Jiwa a 4 1/2 stars review instead of 5, but there is not such a possibility so I think it deserves 5 stars better than 4.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had booked a rather last minute trip to Bali and had tried to stay at the Alam Indah hotel in ubud as we had stayed there before and loved it, unfortunately there were no rooms available for our stay but they managed to fit us into Alam Jiwa for a couple of nights and then Kebun Indah.
We were not disappointed, Alam Jiwa is lovely, we had the Ganesa room which had lovely views to rice paddys from its balcony and bathroom (outdoor), the servie was truly excellent and the brekkie was great. It is located a walk from Ubud but they will drive you to town and back for no charge, there are also a few restaurants close by if you dont want to venture into town each day, we liked Coffe and Copper by the monkey forest which is probably 10mins walk from Alam Jiwa. We also like their airport pick up service, no fuss and a reasonable price. We will definatly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CozPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Everything is beautiful...the rooms, the staff, the food, the decor, the view, the pool, the service, the on hand driver...everything except the shower, hot water is really really slow! However everything else makes up for it and we have booked for ten days next year. So lush!! Loved it! Its not close to town which was perfect for us because by the time we got here we were tired of shopping and noise...we actually didnt want to leave the hotel and did so only occasionally, we ordered in a lot...which was great, they brought us up plates and cutlery and set the table for us when our food arrived. I cannot speak highly enough of the service. Just absolutely loved this place. You need to book early as they book out really quickly...almost didnt want to write a review in case it becomes too popular :)

Room Tip: ganesha room is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LetitiaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

For our past 2 trips we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alam Shanti but could not get in this time. From what we can see, it seems that all rooms in Alam Jiwa have rice paddy views and the setting is more natural and less manicured than Alam Shanti. However we think the rooms (especially Yamuna where we stayed last time) at Alam Shanti are nicer.
The friendly service, the breakfast with the incomparable banana pancakes etc are excellent.
The only slight negative is the very hard bed, is it just me getting older?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 km away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#71 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
2.9 km away
The Samara
The Samara
#53 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
0.6 km away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
5.2 km away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 200 in Ubud
279 reviews
2.2 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $123 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing