We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Enclave Looking Out Over Rice Fields”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #55 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Alam Jiwa is a small boutique hotel with no more than about ten rooms (maybe less). Accommodation is very tastefully decorated in traditional Balinese style and rooms hark back to a bygone era (in antique/old style way rather than out of date!). This is the reason we chose to stay here and we weren't disappointed. The service was very good, the rooms were very clean and the grounds are well maintained. Breakfast and complimentary shuttle to Ubud were also good. I would have to say it's not cutting edge luxury, but aspects such as low lighting and pulsating water pressure in the Cendrawasih suite added to the quirkiness and character of the place. The price, in my opinion reflects this and is appropriate for what you get.
The setting is wonderful, on the edge of the Nyuh Kuning village, looking out over the rice fields - very tranquil and peaceful - ideal if you want peace and quiet with a good view. We really like Nyuh Kuning as a base to visit Ubud as it has a local feel with many village activities (we have been twice and our boys were invited to play football with the locals on their field both times) and there is a selection of reasonably priced warungs and restaurants nearby. It is well located to walk through the Monkey Forest to central Ubud, about 10 - 15 minutes walk away.
The main reason I have given Alam Jiwa 4 stars, is not realy because of the accommodation per say, but because of an unfortunate natural occurance which did impact upon our stay here - and might well be fixed by now? Due to much rain in the lead up and during our stay here in July, there was a landslide which took part of the balcony of the Cendrawasih suite down a ravine (about 10 metres deep) next to the accommodation, which left the whole house periously close to the edge. Whilst workmen were building a retaining wall while we were there (and were very courteous and quiet), there was of course some implied noise. And I have to say I didn't sleep entirely well as I was worried about following the balcony down the ravine! The staff did offer alternative room on the last night, but I didnt think it was as nice as ours, so we stuck it out. Totally not the hotel's fault, just unfortunate for us. I would think it would be nearly fixed by now?

Room Tip: Cendrawasih suite was very spacious. Upper levels of other rooms good for views of rice fields and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

As usual Alam Jiwa was great.Nice little restaurants popping up close by. Traffic problems in Ubud in the middle of the day. The weather was not so kind with a fair amount of rain. The only disappointment was the house being renovated next door. Construction from 8am-5pm. This did interrupt the peace of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stringe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I have rarely felt as captivated by a hotel as the Alam Jiwa. The setting allowed for privacy and comfort with a most attentive, friendly staff. This hotel captures the old hospitality of Bali with flowers everywhere and a staff who seems to anticipate your every need. Every request was immediately responded to in a gracious manner.
The architecture of the hotel and grounds are unique and lovely. I still recall the fragrance of burning incense and blossoms. A dip in the pool was a perfect way to end the afternoon activities and tea poolside was perfect. The location was also perfect with many nearby restaurants, shops and a spa and yet a way from the congested tourist areas. A shuttle was available to take you to the main areas of Ubud and return you to the hotel afterwards. Breakfast was delightful after coffee on our porch.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lindakayjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

This place is fantastic, the staff are amazing. So helpful, friendly. The free shuttle service was very handy, and the free afternoon tea on your own balcony every day was so good. We had a family birthday, and staff were very accommodating, arranging decorations, food, seating etc for a small family gathering.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I have traveled all my life and have NEVER been to a place such as Alam Jiwa. There is no way, I can compliment this place and the wonderful staff enough.. Everything is wonderful.. from the people,. the view, the housing, the gardens, the pool, the food.. did I say staff because they are incredible.. The view of the gardens and the rice patties are incredible.. If you want peace, tranquility, serenity.. THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU!
I will go back to Bali and Ubud, JUST to come back to Alam Jiwa. Walking distance from food, shopping and the Sacred Monkey Forest. I miss the place and staff already..There is no comparison in all of Ubud or bali for that matter.. Be prepared for the simple beauty of peace and be overwhelmed by the view and gardens..

Room Tip: all rooms and villas are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Prudence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 km away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#71 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
2.9 km away
The Samara
The Samara
#53 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
0.6 km away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 200 in Ubud
279 reviews
1.5 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
2.2 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $123 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing