We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alam Jiwa
Nearby Hotels
US$76
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$506
US$470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ketut's Place(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$283
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$92
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
463
82
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
82
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaka lekecendrawasih suiteafternoon tearice paddiesmonkey forestcafe wayanoutdoor showereach morningfree shuttlecentral ubudshuttle service iswalk into towntraditional balinese stylesix nightshotel staffyogurton demand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

My daughter, her friend and I stayed in the Cendrawasih Suite at Alam Jiwa recently after staying at Alam Indah the year before. The suite was like a Balinese palace that we never wanted to leave! The service by Nik and his colleagues was perfect, they were friendly and attentive and were able to accomodate for all our requests. The alam group shuttle allowed us to get to and from the centre at any time of the day. The breakfast was delicious with a mix of western and Balinese options, including amazing local fresh fruit. On our last day we were given some cake from the lovely staff on departure. We accidentally left it at the place and the staff delivered it to where we were in the town centre. An example of the exemplary service we experienced. We highly recommend Alam Jiwa!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank TezzaHeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

our family suite done in traditional balinese architecture was almost embarrassingly grand. the grounds were lovely, and service was friendly and attentive. we ordered from the alam group's cafe wayan just as we were leaving, and one of my children pointed out that it's a good thing we didn't discover it earlier because we would have never eaten anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagspackednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We began a longer journey through Bali here and although we were at several really wonderful other hotels this one is the one I most like to remember. Our friends came here already the second time and we hope to be able to do so too. Marvellous little swimming pool, tasty choices for the breakfast and fascinating Ubud closeby. Our rooms had a beautiful view to the typical Balinese rice terraces, and possibility for breakfast on a big balcony with that view.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mvvk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

In our experience, often when you return to a hotel where you have had a great experience once upon a time, can lead to disappointment as frequently a change in management can lead to a decline in standards or possibly looking back through rosy tinted spectacles? Well that was certainly not the case with our second stay at Alam Jiwa. We wrote about our first experience staying at Alam Jiwa in December 2012 and with our recent return to Bali, we decided to book another stay with them 5 years later. Booking was as efficient and easy as before. As we had an almost 2 week stay, they could only accommodate us if we split our stay between 2 rooms. This was the same situation as in 2012 when we stayed at Cendrawasih and also in Alam Shanti. Our airport transfer was efficient and painless and our welcome back to Alam Jiwa was as warm as our first visit. Some original staff were still there and remembered our children from 5 years ago but as with most hotels, there has been a change in staff and management but despite this, the atmosphere is serene as ever and the standards are as high as always. The facilities, gardens and rooms are as lovely as ever and do not appear to have aged or deteriorated at all. Our rooms this time were Merpati and Jatayu and both were fabulous. The elevated rice paddy views from Merpati were a delightful way to have breakfast in the mornings. The breakfast menu remains sensational and our children never tired from the fresh fruit salad, fresh fruit juices and the eggs anyway you want them. Balinese breakfasts were as fabulous as before and having afternoon tea by the pool was a wonderful way to spend the hot humid afternoons. The air-conditioning makes sleeping so comfortable and doesn't interfere with the nocturnal noises from the lizards and insects that you drift off to sleep with. The garden views from Jatayu were equally peaceful made all the more so with the relaxing sounds of water fountains and the small ponds full of fish surrounding the room. All the rooms have stunning outdoor shower areas and inspired us to install an outdoor shower area at home in New Zealand!
Walking through the Monkey Forest into Ubud itself takes only 15 or so minutes which will be quicker once they have built a small bridge over the stream enabling one to walk through the paddy fields instead of going through the forest. Alternatively you can still take a complimentary shuttle into Ubud but the traffic has become significantly worse since 2012 and can take twice as long as the walk. As before, any cafe/restaurant in Ubud will happily call Alam Jiwa for you to request a ride back. Cafe Wayan and Laka Leke are both sister restaurants with Alam Jiwa and both still have maintained a high standard of delicious Balinese food offerings. The staff at Alam Jiwa remain as friendly and helpful as before and it was very easy to arrange a car and driver to take us to various attractions in Bali. They also assisted us in booking a Balinese cooking class as well as our return airport transfer. We met another traveller staying here who comes to Bali frequently on business and each time comes to stay at Alam Jiwa. The past 12 months she has stayed on 4 occasions. This is not surprising to us now as it quickly feels like a home away from home. There is no doubt that when we next visit Bali, we will definitely be coming back to our home away from home at Alam Jiwa!

Room Tip: Each room has stunning views which differ ranging from rice paddy views to beautiful garden views. You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank simana3493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place to relax. Quiet and out of the way with aN unobtrusive staff that refreshes the floral offerings daily. Order in meals and enjoy them while over looking the rice terraces! Walk down through the Monkey Forest to town

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews