We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pajar House Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pajar House Ubud
Ranked #13 of 481 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had 4 days here, decided to book after reading many positive reviews on tripadvisor. I am sure glad we did. Our little house in the garden was perfect for what we wanted. Quiet, close to the nature, and private. The family running the establishment were very helpful, and provided free transport to Ubud. We rented a scooter for 50.000 rupiah/day, which was a bargain. We tried the bicycles first, but they were in bad shape with no brakes etc.

The staff speaks very little english, so expect some snafus in communication, but nothing that caused any serious confusion.

I see others comment that it was ruined by roasters, hens and ducks, but we found it quite charming. Earplugs recommended. Also, the tokay geckos are very noticable with their rubber-duck sounds.

Room Tip: The rooms, as far as we could tell, were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlend1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    58
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
210
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gland, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very unfortunate experience in this guesthouse...
I must first say that the setting is beautiful, the individual little houses very pretty, well decorated as the pictures testify - no surprise there and it could have been an idyllic stay.
However, we learned on the first morning that it would be impossible to sleep past 4am for the noise...
This is not just a few roasters in the distance: this was dozens of roasters, hens and ducks just over the wall - basically one meter away from our house - making incredible noise starting around 3:30 am. Over breakfast, we also had the smell of the birds' poop very pungently on our patio...
And the raucous is also in the evening of course.
Overall a real disappointment for us. If you stay there make sure you stay far from the henhouse.
(Note: Pajar House is split into two sites, about 100 meters apart. We stayed at the one a bit further down the road (Pajar 2?) so we can only testify to this second site though the noise was so overwhelming I suspect it affects both sites.)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

we spent 2nights
but we missed alot and come back again.
that means it was too perfect . free transfertation free byecle and good breakfest , wonderful hosipitality. awesome staff and owner wayan .
and coozy room good balcony fatastic bathroom with natural view.
just book now ....

Room Tip: pajar have a 2 palce next of pajar 1,2 2 have a kicthen both 2 rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 민쉐프
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

After spending a couple nights in a big hotel in Kuta, me and my girlfriend decided we wanted to experience Ubud in a traditional balinese family homestay.

We found Pajar House on tripadvisor and stayed there for four nights and it was absolutely fantastic.

Don't expect luxury here but if you want a sneak peak at where and how a genuine Balinese family lives, then you must come to this beautiful place.

The rooms are traditionnaly designed with beautiful gardens around and little places to relax for a very fair price (with A/C). It was indeed great value for the money we paid.

The family will answer any questions you might have about Balinese culture and they will do anything to make you feel at home. It seems like the only thing they can't do is quieting the roosters, but that's part of Bali's atmosphere :-).

The house is 5 kilometers north of Ubud but they organize a free drop off and pick up on request. It is also easily reachable by scooter.

The breakfast is light but prepared with great care and the same goes for dinner. Everything was delicious.

This is a place where smiling seems to be the golden rule and i would love to come back next time I'm in Ubud.

To those looking to get away from the tourists and still be fairly close to Ubud, i can only strongly recommand Pajar House!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The staff - Pajar House is a family business and the staff have hotel experience and go out of their way to make sure you are happy. They are attentive about meals times, transport, checking on your comfort and amenities and they are ready to help you book any activities you might be interested in. The location - although it is 4km out of Ubud, it is located in a village area among rice fields which is far more authentic than the centre of Ubud town! If you would like home-style Balinese cooking or to be involved in any local religious ceremony or part of daily life, just ask and the lovely family will be more than happy to include you or help. Also because the staff are aware the location is a little further out they are more than happy to give you a lift into town and pick you up whenever you are ready or to help you rent a scooter or bicycle. (A real highlight was walking the rice field path from Pajar House into the village, stopping for lunch at an amazing organic cafe along the way!) The bungalow itself is amazing - a large bed, TV and great air conditioning with a fabulous semi-open bathroom (just the edges of the bathroom are not covered by roof - so the plants get watered!) with a shower as well as a bath, a kitchenette, and a second dressing room/study with a wardrobe and a desk (also an extra double or single bed can be added in if you request). I would recommend this to anyone for a very comfortable yet more authentic Balinese experience!!

I travelled by myself and felt comfortable, safe and looked after at all times. I was not concerned at all at being a little bit out of town, it did not feel isolated, it felt homely!

Room Tip: I stayed in Pajar House 2, room 1. There are 2 independent bungalows in Pajar House 2, and two more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AL800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 km away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.7 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#20 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.5 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#54 of 183 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#7 of 481 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
9.4 km away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
2.7 km away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#11 of 481 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pajar House Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pajar House Ubud

Property: Pajar House Ubud
Address: Jl. Kelabangmoding, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 481 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price range (per night): $57 - $153
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pajar House Ubud 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dear traveler Pajar house Ubud our location at Kelabangmoding Village is around one and half our drive from Bali International Airport and just 10 minutes drive from the center of Ubud. Built in traditional Balinese architecture, with balcony overlooking a beautiful lush garden set with various plants and flowers. Pajar House Ubud offers an excellent value for money with clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and warm Balinese hospitality that promise wonderful stays while your vacation in Bali Best Regards I Kadek Ambara [ Kadek dolir] Hotel Menager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pajar House Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pajar House Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing