We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, friendly and sweet-smelling”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #70 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We are frequent travelers to Bali and have stayed at both Alam Shanti and Alam Indah, sister hotels not far from each other. We always choose the Alams because the staff are so friendly and thoughtful, the rooms are traditional, luxurious in a thoughtful, not over-the-top way, and it is wonderful to be in a peaceful neighbourhood but still in close walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Ubud. I can't recommend Alam Shanti highly enough. We traveled with 3 adult friends and 3 kids. Booked the upstairs and downstairs of one 'house'. The girls were delighted with their 'princess' beds with mozzie nets. There is aircon if you need it. Food is wonderful, breakfast was included with our room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who all have a great sense of humour and hospitality. Go!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, upstairs has views of rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katevwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The gardens are superb, the staff genuinely care, an extraordinary place to stay. A whole week of beautiful breakfasts, quietness apart from the occasional monkey being shooed from the garden. Thank you, we'll be back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SimonQubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

I'm going to keep this short and sweet,we stayed in Dewi room and I have yet to get over the experience of this beautiful room,the hotel,the staff,the spa and the pool all tick the boxes,right next to monkey forest and the centre of ubud can be walked to through the forest or a complimentary shuttle from the hotel,beautiful breakfast and afternoon tea served to you on your veranda,please do not miss out on this beautiful beautiful oasis of peace and tranquility

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clairmac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous place to stay , lovely rooms , gardens and attentive staff . Really pretty pool. Great Spa . A place where you can just stop and unwind . Great touches like complementary afternoon tea and transport into ubud . Will be back in 2018 .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Truelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

When planning this trip with my daughter, we agreed to stay at places that present
a traditional yet up-to-date rather than modern feel. Alam Shanti more than met our expectations. The property is beautiful and the hospitality we received genuine. We loved our ample and lovely appointed rooms in "Gayatri" which abuts the Monkey Forest. I'm a swimmer and appreciated the lap pool. The village of Nyuh Kuning is a peaceful and quiet oasis compared to the bustling activity of Ubud center making it a very pleasant place to return to at the end of a long day. Also, there are plenty of great eating places right along the street nearby as well as one that hosts evening dance performances. We would not hesitate to return to AS and send our best to the helpful and gracious staff.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danahees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#74 of 197 in Ubud
425 reviews
2.6 km away
The Samara
The Samara
#44 of 197 in Ubud
424 reviews
2 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 197 in Ubud
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 197 in Ubud
368 reviews
5 km away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 197 in Ubud
274 reviews
0.2 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#64 of 197 in Ubud
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $110 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Shanti 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing