We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$248
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$275
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$607
US$546
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$777
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$780
US$711
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$635
US$538
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$641/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
481
89
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
89
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshindu roomdewi roomyamuna roommonkey forestcafe wayanlake lekeafternoon tearice fieldsupstairs and downstairslily pondsprivate pooleach morningfree shuttlehuge roomfish pondshuttle servicetraditional balinese style
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Back again for another visit to this paradise in Nyuh Kuning Village in Ubud! Have stayed here many times and it is now like returning to family! We always try to stay in Yamuna/Gangga rooms - nothing like having your own private pool, but all the rooms are lovely. However, it is the wonderful staff that make this place so special! They can't do enough to make your stay wonderful. We will be back, of course! Can't wait to see the new reception area when it's finished!! (Does that sound like an excuse to come back very soon!! )

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Freolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Alam Shanti in Yamuna room with husband and two boys. There is nothing I could fault about this place apart from the fact that we only had two nights. We had a pool to ourselves that is shared with the upstairs room but it was unoccupied while we were there. The staff were beautiful, location was very close to monkey forest and restaurants. Getting into the centre of Ubud was very easy going through the monkey forest but we did get a bit lost on the way back. They offer a free shuttle service into town and back though. The decor and architecture was very Balinese and so lovely. A very peaceful and beautiful place to stay. I would stay again in a heartbeat but next time for longer. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MazzamcBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We have just had 5 nights at Alam Shanti - just on the south side of the monkey forest. I can't recommend it highly enough.

We stayed in the Gannga room/suite, with lovely marble bathroom, Balinese features, and deck over looking rice paddies and sports fields. Breakfast delivered to our room and enjoyed on the deck each morning was a highlight.

The Gannga room shares a generous sized pool and well kept pool facilities with one other suite downstairs. So not just yours, but plenty of space so you won't be tripping over each other.

Staff were impressive, friendly and also extremely attentive and discrete. They were also great with our 3 year old, including providing a staff member he was already friendly with to baby sit for a few hours.

The hotel is part of the Alam Indah chain, and I would expect similar high quality from all.

There is a spa on site - I had two massages in the pool side massage rooms. Absolutely delightful, highly professional, and well priced.

Being on the South side of the monkey forest it is a little cut off from the rest of Ubud. This is a good thing - Ubud was crazy with tourists! There are nice shops and restaurants in the village around the hotel and the hotel provides a free shuttle into Ubud. You can taxi back for about 50-70rp, depending on traffic, which can easily take 20 mins to go a very short distance.

Tip- avoid the traffic jams. walk 10 min along the shared use path (scooters and pedestrians) just outside the monkey forest to get to the south end of Ubud. Get a taxi from there or continue on foot. Take a torch for the return trip at night (supplied in your room).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MellJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This place is just gorgeous. The grounds are so lovely and peaceful. It really feels like they thought of every detail to make this place as relaxing and authentic as possible.

My room (Shindu) was breathtaking. The terrace, the carvings, the bed...ahhh bliss. The cherry on the cake was my bathroom. It had a fish pond and a fountain in it. A fountain! A fish pond! In my bathroom! My favorite part of Ubud was sitting on my terrace (or even chilling in my private Garden of Eden bathroom) and listening to the frogs ribbit, the fishies splash, and gaze at the lotus floating in the ponds in the moonlight.

The staff are so sweet and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they are happy to help make arrangements for you for the shuttle, breakfast, tea, laundry, etc. When my friend left her passport behind, they found it within an hour of us leaving and even looked through the spa bookings to get her email and let her know asap. We really appreciated their diligence in tracking us down.

The location was great for us - a quick 10 min walk on the edge of the monkey forest. This was fine during the day, but at night we opted for the free shuttle or a cheap taxi ride from town to avoid any monkey/moped incidents in the dark.

I could go on and on, but I'll leave it to you to experience your own magic here. Matur suksma, Alam Shanti!

Room Tip: A member of staff took me on a room tour, and I can say that all rooms are special. There is no bad room here.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Alam Shanti is a great place to stay in one of the nicest areas of Ubud, just behind the Monkey Forest. It's a well-run and managed resort. Our room Indus, its bathroom and deck were all large and very well furnished. Breakfast, delivered to our deck each morning, was simple but good. The shuttle service into central Ubud was excellent.
We highly recommend Alam Shanti.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews