We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
483
91
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
91
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshindu roomdewi roomyamuna roommonkey forestcafe wayanlake lekeafternoon tearice fieldsday bedlily pondsprivate pooleach morningupstairs roomfree shuttlehuge roomfish pondshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in the Shindu room, a downstairs bungalow that was huge. Everything was spotlessly clean, huge outdoor bathroom, good bed and the decor was authentic Bali. Felt like we were in an ancient home with the beautiful wood carvings, huge doors and all of it so well kept. The staff brought us breakfast each morning, good food. The shuttle was free to Ubud then they picked us back up to bring us back later. We walked to the monkey forest from our bungalow and it was so close. We enjoyed a massage from the ladies at the main road into Alam Shanti and they came to a massage room by the pool that is set up nicely for massage treatments. The massage was only $23 for an hour, such a treat!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ReneeDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Possibly the most peaceful place I have ever stayed in my life. The gardens are a tropical paradise, the rooms are huge, very private - eating breakfast on the veranda was a highlight. Free pick up service from Ubud too. The ONLY fault I had was that there weren't many restaurants around to eat dinner but that's not Alam Shanti's fault! Can't wait to stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed for five nights in upstairs Gnagga room. Booked this due to having a semi private pool, which is shared with the downstairs unit, but if you are super lucky like us, you will get it all to yourself. We felt spoilt and privileged to stay in such a beautiful place. Upon entering the room we were overwhelmed by its beauty and exquisite furnishings. I feel it is one of the few places left in traditional Balinese style.

The open air bathroom has a bathtub, one hot shower and one separate cold shower. Outside veranda has "his and hers" daybeds, a table with chairs, great for breakfast and views over the rice fields. The King size bed is right next to a window, which allows the breeze to cool down the room at night, without the need of having to run the air conditioning. The mattress is a bit worn out and we feel is in need of a replacement.
We had our breakfast most days in the Gazebo by the pool. Breakfast choices are good and plentiful, everything is presented with utmost care, attention to detail and tasty. We forgot to order the black rice pudding... definitely a reason to come back.
The staff goes the extra mile making sure our stay was hassle free. My husband forgot his glasses at a warung at Jatiluwih rice fields. Dewa, our driver, went back the next day in his private car to get the glasses. This is service beyond expectations and we really appreciated the effort of the hotel, which went into recovering the glasses. We booked the rice field tour with Alam Shanti reception staff and basically the tour was tailor made for what we wanted to see. Dewa, our fantastic driver, was very entertaining, yet professional at the same time. Highly recommend his service. Alam Shanti offers free shuttle services into Ubud until 9.30pm. We used this service a lot, but due to horrific traffic conditions in Ubud, it is quicker to walk through Monkey Forrest.
We used the Spa for a back massage and a foot massage. It was ok, but we did not rush back for more. Massage staff should not take mobile phone calls during treatment...-
We had all our meals at either Café Wayan or Lake Leke restaurant, which are part of the Alam Group. All meals (three vego choices) were delicious. It would be great to add a few more vegetarian dishes to the menu.
Alam Shanti is a very peaceful place and is highly recommended for a spoilt and relaxing holiday. Thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Larger families/two couples booking Gnagga and Yamuna together will get the ultimate luxury experience. Private pool is massive.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ABee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Five years ago we booked out all 12 rooms in Alam Shanti for my husband's 50th birthday. We all had a lovely stay with wonderful memories and a number of our guests have returned since. I wanted to return here for my 50th but a number of rooms were already booked so we booked out Alam Jiwa- also an excellent choice and just as beautiful.
We stayed in Yamuna this time which was perfect for my husband, daughter and I. The huge room, balcony, bathroom, with the extended garden leading out to the private pool, was like our own totally private villa overlooking the rice field. We had the pool to ourselves all of the three days we were there (it is shared with the room above) which was a bonus.
The gardens and rooms, are truly Balinese with exquisite designs, furniture, flowers and space.
Service is always discrete and with a smile. The included breakfast served on your balcony is always a delicious treat and afternoon tea is included.
This was our 5th visit to an Alam and it won't be our last. The village of Nyukuning is always wonderful to walk through, however, it has become much busier now with more restaurants and hotels opening up.
Thank you to all of the lovely staff-especially Kadec, who welcomed us back with open arms:)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joluvstravel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

It's a lovely hotel, beautiful buildings arranged in a nice garden or close to rice fields. Quiet, clean, just a little Paradies. Nice staff.

No TV, which was great. The place is just too beautiful to waste time with TV programs!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank CorinaFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews