We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Spot!”
Review of Alam Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alam Shanti
Ranked #73 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stayed here a week. I waited a while to write this review because we had a bad experience for the first few days and I wanted some perspective from time.

First the unfortunate. They were building a new building 20 feet from our gorgeous balcony. Sawing the tiles. Cutting the wood. Hammering the supports. No warning. No apologies. We complained, and they started hammering really softly...which just made us feel bad for the workers. If we went to the pool for quiet relaxation... guess what? They were taking out all the tile around it... more sawing of tile all day. Finally, the 4th day, my husband asked to move. **This should have been THEIR idea!! They agreed and gave us a choice of rooms and all was well after.

I would just hope that the next guests would be told ahead of time.. or offered a different location... or at least told "we will have workers on these days, so plan time away." Customers have a right to know when there will be major construction!!! We came to Bali for relaxation!!!

After we found a peaceful room, all was heavenly. The breakfasts are as delicious as people say. We found that we never wanted to eat again until dinner. The location is perfect, in a peaceful area that is walkable to busy Ubud, but feels far away. Their transport in for dinners really worked out great. Beds were super comfy and bathrooms were huge.

This is a beautiful spot at a fair price with outstandingly friendly and kind service from the staff. Management just needs to be more proactive when problems come up.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time whether there will be major construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamindahbali, Manajer Kantor Depan at Alam Shanti, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear kawh,
Thank you for your review and for your feedback.
We are so sorry you experienced inconvenience due to renovation we made at our office and for the repairs we had to undertake at the pool.
But we are also pleased to know that you were able to enjoy your stay with us more once we were able to move you to another room. We are always hoping for our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us while we also wish to take care of any needed maintenance. We had a heavy rainy season this year and it was not easy finding the right weather days to complete the work. Again please apologize for inconvenience caused.
We assure you that all has been completed well now and we do hope to welcome you again for a future visit.
Best regards,
Ayu for Alam Shanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in the Shindu room, a downstairs bungalow that was huge. Everything was spotlessly clean, huge outdoor bathroom, good bed and the decor was authentic Bali. Felt like we were in an ancient home with the beautiful wood carvings, huge doors and all of it so well kept. The staff brought us breakfast each morning, good food. The shuttle was free to Ubud then they picked us back up to bring us back later. We walked to the monkey forest from our bungalow and it was so close. We enjoyed a massage from the ladies at the main road into Alam Shanti and they came to a massage room by the pool that is set up nicely for massage treatments. The massage was only $23 for an hour, such a treat!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ReneeDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Possibly the most peaceful place I have ever stayed in my life. The gardens are a tropical paradise, the rooms are huge, very private - eating breakfast on the veranda was a highlight. Free pick up service from Ubud too. The ONLY fault I had was that there weren't many restaurants around to eat dinner but that's not Alam Shanti's fault! Can't wait to stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed for five nights in upstairs Gnagga room. Booked this due to having a semi private pool, which is shared with the downstairs unit, but if you are super lucky like us, you will get it all to yourself. We felt spoilt and privileged to stay in such a beautiful place. Upon entering the room we were overwhelmed by its beauty and exquisite furnishings. I feel it is one of the few places left in traditional Balinese style.

The open air bathroom has a bathtub, one hot shower and one separate cold shower. Outside veranda has "his and hers" daybeds, a table with chairs, great for breakfast and views over the rice fields. The King size bed is right next to a window, which allows the breeze to cool down the room at night, without the need of having to run the air conditioning. The mattress is a bit worn out and we feel is in need of a replacement.
We had our breakfast most days in the Gazebo by the pool. Breakfast choices are good and plentiful, everything is presented with utmost care, attention to detail and tasty. We forgot to order the black rice pudding... definitely a reason to come back.
The staff goes the extra mile making sure our stay was hassle free. My husband forgot his glasses at a warung at Jatiluwih rice fields. Dewa, our driver, went back the next day in his private car to get the glasses. This is service beyond expectations and we really appreciated the effort of the hotel, which went into recovering the glasses. We booked the rice field tour with Alam Shanti reception staff and basically the tour was tailor made for what we wanted to see. Dewa, our fantastic driver, was very entertaining, yet professional at the same time. Highly recommend his service. Alam Shanti offers free shuttle services into Ubud until 9.30pm. We used this service a lot, but due to horrific traffic conditions in Ubud, it is quicker to walk through Monkey Forrest.
We used the Spa for a back massage and a foot massage. It was ok, but we did not rush back for more. Massage staff should not take mobile phone calls during treatment...-
We had all our meals at either Café Wayan or Lake Leke restaurant, which are part of the Alam Group. All meals (three vego choices) were delicious. It would be great to add a few more vegetarian dishes to the menu.
Alam Shanti is a very peaceful place and is highly recommended for a spoilt and relaxing holiday. Thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Larger families/two couples booking Gnagga and Yamuna together will get the ultimate luxury experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ABee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Five years ago we booked out all 12 rooms in Alam Shanti for my husband's 50th birthday. We all had a lovely stay with wonderful memories and a number of our guests have returned since. I wanted to return here for my 50th but a number of rooms were already booked so we booked out Alam Jiwa- also an excellent choice and just as beautiful.
We stayed in Yamuna this time which was perfect for my husband, daughter and I. The huge room, balcony, bathroom, with the extended garden leading out to the private pool, was like our own totally private villa overlooking the rice field. We had the pool to ourselves all of the three days we were there (it is shared with the room above) which was a bonus.
The gardens and rooms, are truly Balinese with exquisite designs, furniture, flowers and space.
Service is always discrete and with a smile. The included breakfast served on your balcony is always a delicious treat and afternoon tea is included.
This was our 5th visit to an Alam and it won't be our last. The village of Nyukuning is always wonderful to walk through, however, it has become much busier now with more restaurants and hotels opening up.
Thank you to all of the lovely staff-especially Kadec, who welcomed us back with open arms:)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joluvstravel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#71 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
2.6 km away
The Samara
The Samara
#53 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
5 km away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 200 in Ubud
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
1.8 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
0.2 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#68 of 200 in Ubud
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $101 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Shanti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing