We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in Bali”
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
Ranked #9 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Ghizo Island, Solomon Islands
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great hotel in Bali”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have stayed at the hotel VICEROY last September.
My wife did a lot of research before our trip, as we had never been to Bali before, and we stayed here on the strength of these reviews. We found the location excellent, there are plenty of shops around, and it is not far from the Monkey forest. It's a bit of a hike to the Markets, but as we enjoy walking this was not a problem for us. Taxis are plentiful and cheap in any case.
The fitness Centre is little more than a bench and a few weights, but useful as the other Gyms in Ubud are far away. I would still recommend joining Ubud Fitness Centre though as I did ( 165000 rp for 7 days membership ) if you are looking for a Gym to stay fit in the area, and just catch a Taxi there as it's about 2km away.
We always found the food excellent, and although we did not have dinner here, we had room service numerous times, and of course breakfast., we stayed in one of the deluxe room was excellent, with the Deluxe being excellent value for money. The rooms are very clean, and the whole Complex is beautifully Landscaped and excellently maintained.
My only complaint was you could hear the distant traffic during the day, as it's not far from Monkey Forrest Rd and the other main road, but at night it's pretty quiet, maybe just the occasional Monkey fight from the Monkeys which wander in sometimes!
All in all, a great place to stay if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation, great friendly service in a well located spot.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomlucky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    88
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
106
744
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BB37
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Rooms are very spacious with fantastic views. However breakfast could be improved as portions are small and choice limited. Also disappointed with restaurant food: sky high prices but chewy waggu beef!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We have been to Bali several times, but this was our first stay at Ubud.
This is a beautifully-locted resort, with green-hill views from our room. We got upgraded to the Viceroy Villa i/o the 2 Terrace Villas we had booked and this was a real treat. We were apprehensive at first as the Viceroy Villa was closest to nature - there was a sheer cliff where the villa wall (low) ended - but we ensured we never left the kids alone in that area and it turned out just fine. This is a great room, with a pool and 2 bedrooms. There was a lovely baby cot provided for the infant, i liked it so much that I wanted to bring it home!
The service was great - except on the first day of Chinese New Year holiday, when they may have been understaffed. So breakfast took longer than usual - but that's about it.
There was only one restaurant, but the continental fare was great, the Indonesian fare less so.
The restaurant used to close at 11 pm, but they would keep the bar open and we had some pretty late nights there without a problem. There was also a babysitter service, which was helpful.
Overall - a great stay with helpful staff and superb views.

Room Tip: Choose the Viceroy Villa, especially if traveling as large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPRIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The only problem with the Viceroy Bali is that the minute you arrive there you wonder how you are ever going to leave this little slice of heaven! I cannot fault the Viceroy even if I tried as every small detail was taken care of and nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful, friendly and attentive staff. The position of the hotel is breathtaking, overlooking a gorgeous gorge/jungle and waterfall with monkeys swinging in the trees - so peaceful and tranquil. Our private villa with swimming pool was magnificent, spacious and spotless. Owners/hosts Otto, Margaret and Anthony are always on hand for a chat and run this stunning hotel with precision and perfection. There is nothing lacking - the gym was great, the spa was wonderful and the restaurant was fantastic. Every meal was presented beautifully and the food was delicious. It was lovely that the chef Graham always came out of the kitchen to chat with the guests and any special meal request was taken care of without a problem. What a wonderful holiday - I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ozi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I travel around the world and I found the most relaxing spa in Ubud! The Lembah Spa. It is not just relaxing but it is soooo beautiful. We went to the spa with my family. We were treated like royals. Everybody was very nice. They have one of the best view in Bali. I highly recommend the luxury treatments. You wont want to leave this place ones you are there. It still comes back in my dreams!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helike75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.9 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,154 reviews
5.0 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.1 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#18 of 196 in Ubud
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
249 reviews
25.3 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,543 reviews
2.9 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Property: Viceroy Bali
Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): $653 - $2,226
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Boutique Honeymoon Hotel' in the world, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the center of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves European and Indonesian cuisine and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing