We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique building but service could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling
Ranked #162 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This hotel is strategically located in the center of Bandung, the Taman Sari area, and the building has a unique history. Previously it was a student dormitory of ITB (one of Indonesia most prestigious university) that was converted into a hotel.

The room I stayed was quite nice and unique with wooden decoration. But the bathroom is somewhat awkward, it uses a shower but there were no walls separating the shower with the rest of the bathroom; so after you showered the floor would be flooded with water and you had to step carefully if you wanted to go to the sink to brush your teeth or even to the toilet, which are located right next to the shower.

Beakfast was disappointing, I stayed for two nights and on the first day I had an early meeting and planned to have breakfast at 7am but nothing was available only a couple of croissants. Other guests were also hanging around the restaurant waiting for breakfast on that day.

In all the property itself is good but the service is disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahmad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2016

when i go for business, this hotel might be a good choice, because near from shop and many food. the room clean and with unique ornament. You just walk from hotel to find other food and attraction.

I Gede Auditta

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IGedeAuditta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel was booked by our travel agency. Because it was our honeymoon we decided to upgrade the room to junior suite. The room looks fantastic, nice bed and two chairs. But the bathroom was horrible, very dirty, not maintained and the warm water was only working after 10 minutes. Saturday morning at 5.45 a group of decided to do morning gymnastics with loud music opposit of the hotel. This is totally unacceptable. Also the staff is not very friendly and pro active. The hotel is not worth the money, look for a different hotel.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chiel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014

nice location, nat far away to shopping area, room rate cheaps, cleanliness good, employeee so far still giving good services since we stayed. parking lot, hi-speed wifi, I like this hotel, I'll be back soon.....

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Third time here. It wasn't great the first couple of times but this time was just unacceptable. Arrived past midnight so too late and tired to do anything about it. Room was very dark and dingy. Two windows onto a closed ground floor balcony with no natural light. Very depressing. No running water in bathroom sink. Breakfast following morning was pathetic, hardly any choice at all. However, the biggest problem is that they don't clean the rooms between guests. They can't possibly do because there was hair all over the place and the toilet had other people's **** in it. At least the towels and bed sheets smelled clean but were worn, stained and grey with age. You can't expect people to pay to stay in a room that isn't cleaned. Total joke (but an unfunny one). This place smacks of a complete lack of investment and contempt for their customers. As such I think that they certainly don't deserve my business or anybody else's for that matter. Staff were friendly enough but that's it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markallison555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.9 km away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 231 in Bandung
1,499 reviews
4.1 km away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 231 in Bandung
1,868 reviews
5.4 km away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tebu Hotel Bandung by Willson Hospitality
0.7 km away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#6 of 231 in Bandung
710 reviews
4.2 km away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling

Address: Jln. Sawunggaling No. 13, Bandung 40116, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing