We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotels, need a little improvement in interior n internet”
Review of Novotel Solo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Solo
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I think it's a good hotel to stay, near a city center (keraton n klewer market), it's an old hotel, a traditional ornaments like woods, sculpture are all around, they make a good surroundings so it fits to me,
I don't like the color of the chairs in lobby, - violet, cmon.. it will be match that the color like grey, beige, or bright brown,
I think the hotel can make improvements in interior that broken like, lift interior, dining interior, etc.. and also internet speed is disappointing me..! it is slow

the room is comfortable, nice,have a espresso machine, and speakers pod for iphone /ipod

the food is great, so many various food

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Arifin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Mr. / Ms. Arifin W, thank you for staying in Novotel Solo and to share your experience. It is a pleasure to receive positive review about our location, room, and food. We apologize for your inconvenience during your stay. We also noted your suggestion and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Budi Wahjono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Dinner party with my big family of 25.
There were all happy with the staff service..very friendly and helpful.
Thanks to Rina & forgot the gentleman name who helped with setting the table.. Thank you!! We'll come back again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jared N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Mr. Jared N, thank you for choosing Novotel Solo to have dinner party with your family. We are delighted to receive positive review regarding our service. I will share your nice compliment to all the staffs especially Rina. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Budi Wahjono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I spent 3 weeks in the Novotel Solo and it was a pleasant stay.
The service is excellent throughout (as is often the case in Indonesia).
The rooms are modern and nice and the bed is very comfortable.
Despite there not being fully double glazed windows, the street noise is minimal and not a big disturbance.
There are two swimming pools and the location is central to anywhere in Solo (Uber is reliable and very cheap. it costs from less than $1 to at most $2.50 to reach anywhere in Solo.
The only drawback was the food.
The hotel has a plethora of promotions (i.e: a full business lunch that even includes free drinks, free entrance to the pool for non guests for only $5, 50% off pastries between 6-8 pm in the lobby's pastry shop etc.) but this fails to impress anyone because the food is not good.
I had breakfast twice and gave up on it for the rest of my stay (the only tasty and edible item was the red rice with potato soup).
As for lunch and dinner, I had a 10% discount on all food items because of my privilege card but I only ate thrice in the hotel's restaurant.
They give tiny menus (they are smaller than standard passports) but if they see you are unimpressed they will bring you the full menu (I have no idea what the reason behind that is).
It seems the kitchen is in disarray because not a single of the dishes I ordered ever arrived as per the description!
The chickpeas and vegetable curry was void of chickpeas (!) and it had so much turmeric (which was probably also added too late in the cooking) that I got turmeric overdose.
Another vegetarian dish which was described as having fresh mushrooms as its star ingredient was void of even a single mushroom (!) and a Mexican dish with fritters and avocado had so little avocado that it may well have not been there at all (just for the record Solo is an avocado growing region and they cost less than $2 a dozen in the market!).
The Premier Floor's lounge was also a disappointment with freshly pressed fruit juices that were so sickly sweet even most children would refuse them and a coffee machine that was not operational 80% of the time and that spewed some kind of bitter, brownish liquid (I suppose coffee) when it did operate.
The hotel kindly provided a free transfer to the airport which was an unexpected but very nice surprise.
In conclusion the hotel is comfortable and very good value for those who wish to spend time in Solo.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Not Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear valued guest, thank you for staying in Novotel Solo for 3 weeks and to share your experiences. It is a pleasure to receive review from you on Trip Advisor. We apologize for your inconvenience during your stay regarding our food and service. Please kindly be informed that we are in changing process for menu. We are also preparing for Executive Lounge improvement. However, we really appreciate for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Budi Wahjono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

we had one nite stay here because an event awaited just across the hotel on the next day we stay. it was pleasant, room is spacious, go-jek driver is allowed to deliver our meals to room, no bothering sound from the main street, but breakfast must be improved.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank anglingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Mr. / Ms. Anglingo, thank you for choosing Novotel Solo to stay and to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to receive positive review regarding our spacious room and no bothering sound. We also thank you for your suggestion about breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Budi Wahjono, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Great hotel, location is good near car free day actraction famous in solo, staff friendly and nice.
Food is great, my family like a chicken menu in lunch.

Great experience stay in novotel solo. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Liamayariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Ms. Liamayariana, thank you for staying in Novotel Solo and to share your experience. It is always a pleasure to receive positive review regarding our location, friendly staff, and food. We are delighted to know that you had great experience stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Budi Wahjono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solo hotels
1.4 km away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
3.5 km away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#1 of 61 in Solo
721 reviews
1 km away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Solo
Ibis Styles Solo
#13 of 61 in Solo
552 reviews
2.1 km away
Aston Solo Hotel
Aston Solo Hotel
#5 of 61 in Solo
510 reviews
2.8 km away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Solo

Address: Jl. Slamet Riyadi 272, Solo 57141, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Solo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solo
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Solo is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the heart of Solo. Ideal for both business trips and holidays, our 142 rooms are both spacious and contemporary. The hotel features a business centre, meeting rooms and a ballroom, perfect for any function. Guests can also take advantage of our outdoor pool and fitness centre, enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax in the bar. Close to shopping centres, traditional markets and tourist attractions, the hotel enjoys a very central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Solo Hotel Solo
Solo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing