We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$62
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$38
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA(Surabaya)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
US$25
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
8
17
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
17
6
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2015

I stayed for two days here. Everything is free if you would ask the help of the operator, except AC you must pay a little bit more. This hostel's concept is simple, the owner runs the hostel by herself, no staff so you should understand her capability to keep everything neat and tidy. If you'd prefer to see the city, never stay in this hostel because it is quiet far from the city. But if you want to continue your journey, this place is the right place. It's nearby airport and bus terminal and all is public transport available. Motorbike rent also provided as well as pick up service. This place is suitable for backpackers concern on budget accomodation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s0meb0dy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Da Rifi Hostel/Homestay is situated in a residential area close to both the Juanda International airport and Purabaya Bus Terminal.

Taxi Ride from either place to the hostel cost 50k or less, so beware for those taxi drivers that may overcharge or going rounds in metered taxi.

First impression of the place is not good, as it is low season and I arrived there late in the day around 4pm but my room and bed is not even prepared and ready for the arrival of new guest. The place is also abit untidy and things are lying everywhere.

Pros:
1) Close proximity to airport and bus terminal, easy to move on to other places of Java.
2) Plenty of beds and rooms.
3) Hot showers is available.
4) Friendly Host
5) Nearest Minimart is just 5 mins walk away.
6) Free Wifi

Cons:
1) Secluded Area, may be hard to find
2) A lot of mosquitoes
3) Windows are not sealed and water can be seen splashing in during heavy rain.
4) Not as clean as I expected.
5) House can be abit untidy and dirty.

Overall, its a cheap but average stay, its good if you are just looking for a bed for a night or 2 to serve as a transit point for other areas in east Java.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuan Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Da Rifi 2 times in a two week period before and after my trip to Kalimantan. Deanna is an amazing host and made me and my friend feel very welcome. It was difficult to find the right bus...easier if we had just taken the 2 ankots or a taxi, but Deanna sent a detailed email and helped us over the phone. Her home is in a safe, quiet neighborhood convenient to many grocery stores and warungs. It was great for us because it is halfway between the vs terminal and airport. We were lucky because Deanna wasn't busy so she offered to drive us in her car to the airport, and picked me up there when I returned.
Her home is large, clean, and quiet, and you will probably have a room to yourself. She cooks amazing hot breakfasts (which may still be around for lunch too!), coffee and tea are always available, free laundry, free fast WiFi., can use fridge, lockers available (in left stuff in a locker for a week while I was in kalimantan)....what more reason do you need to stay here? OK, a few more: she has a wealth of knowledge and books about travelling in the area and throughout Asia; western style toilet and shower; AC available; a very private upstairs; and of course a very competitive price. I found this the perfect comfortable retreat place to hole up in for a few days while updating my desperately outdated blog. Thank you, Deanna, for your welcoming, friendly, and easygoing style. I hope I can visit again someday!

Reality check for westerners: This is an Indonesian home: open indoor-outdoor living style means there are mosquitoes (use anti-nyamuk lotion, it works the best. Deanna has some if you forget it). You need earplugs and eye covering to sleep in later than 4 am. Deanna and her sweet elderly mother are sharing their home with you, be polite and respectful and you will be amply rewarded!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank caraleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

The hostel lies amid a residential area. It created problems for the taxi driver locating it. However I think it is easy to spot it when you are walking along the streat as it has a large sign reading Da Rifi Hostel in front of it. Unfortunately it is neither located very central nor accessible by public transport. You either have to take a taxi or try a combination of airport shuttle bus ("DAMRI") and the local minibuses ("bemo"). I can only recommend this if your knowledge of Indonesian language is good enough to ask for directions or you have a GPS device present.
The hostel is a family run business. It is small and did not appear to have many guests. However I enjoyed the services of a warm and welcoming host called "Adhy" who offered to show me around the neighbourhood, prepared breakfast and gave me the right directions to the train station and Mount Bromo. For the relatively low price a lot of extra services are provided. I have seen signs all over the place stating free wifi, free coffee, free laundry, free breakfast, free mosquito repellent and so on. The breakfast was really nice. Not just the usual toast with Nutella thing offered at most places. There a freshly cooked local dish plus several sides every day.
Generally I would recommend that place if Surabaya is actually not the place you intent to visit. It is good if you are on transit, probably perfect if you want to fly out from Surabaya and are already acquainted to the local methods of transport (ojeks/bemos/damri busses).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Florian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Small,family run hostel making the best of what they got.
There's so many free things!
Free breakfast, towels, blankets, laundry, water, coffee/tea, food throughout the day, wifi everything.

Reasonably priced for the solo traveller. A couple may be able to find something similar/cheaper for a private double. Many shared bathroom facilities( sinks, western toilets, hot showers) All rooms are dorm style, some big (10 beds) some small (4 beds). Close to the airport, a giant, and local eats!

Only things I could find that could be better was the low pressure showers/inconsistent hot water and a mattress that saw better days (very used, clean, but springs were shot)

Upon arrival and throughout your stay your host is willing to help you with anything so all you have to do is ask! (Definitely proud of there place and thrive on there hostel reviews!)
Thanks

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews