We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendliest Inn Owner in Surabaya”
Review of Da Rifi Hostel

Da Rifi Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Da Rifi Hostel
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I arrived at Surabaya late at night and it doesnt matter because this hostel was near to the Juanda airport.

The owner, Mrs Dyana was very friendly and offered us drinks and food as we arrived.

The room was ok, the bathroom next to our room needed repair but the corridor was clean and free wifi!

Breakfast consists of bread, fried noodle, fried rice fruits and lots of crackers. So many choices for only RM21 / night!

Mrs Dyana suggest us to share a rental car with another tourist from Korea since our destination is the same, hence can share the rental also. And here goes the best part, the driver insist that we took 2 cars (its cost 650k Rupiah/day each!). But Mrs Dyana spoke very firmly with the driver that 1 car is enough. The battle went for almost 10 minutes and at last the driver agreed with our plan.

I can't thank her enough for having our back and stand up for her guest. That really amazed me.

We saved a lot with the transportation fees and all thanks to Mrs Dyana!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Farah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darifi, Manager at Da Rifi Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Our pleasure to serve you and thank you so much..:):):)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Mbak Dyana arranged a driver for my friend and I for our Ijen andg Bromo tour. Our driver, Pak Nofi Susanto was very nice. My friend was having motion sickness during the long road trips and he bought her medicine. He took care of us really well.

Went back to Surabaya and stayed at Da Rifi on our last night. Mbak Dyana was really nice! We really felt at home. Directed us to the nearest mall and breakfast was free. Wished we had more time in Surabaya cause we really felt at home. Thank you so much for all your help, Mbak Dyana!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank 398intana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darifi, Manager at Da Rifi Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Thank you so much :):):)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

I felt like in my home/dorm in this hostels. The owner, Mrs. Dyanasari, was really helping and sociable to their guest... Everyday, the corridor got cleaned and mopped. The bathroom was okay, reparation is needed due to broken shower hose. The breakfast menu consist of bread, and some domestic dishes..

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Fakhri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darifi, Owner at Da Rifi Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

Hi Fakhri A! What a very nice of you! I just got a bunch of fresh yellow flowers from you, sent by florish agency. Surprise!!!Thank you so so much....you are the nicest customer I ever had..and also this review...you really made my day! I am really really appreciated. May Allah bless you always and He will do the best for your life. My pray for your future to wish you luck in every your step...All the best, dyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Very convenient if your stopping over for a day or 2 in surabaya. Close to the airport ( they will pick you up for 25,000rp on a motorcycle) and close to the bus station. A very friendly owner who served a delicious breakfast and even served me a free dinner. Comfortable beds and you will probably have the room to yourself. Fast wifi and clean toilet. No mosquitos in the room, just keep your door closed :). Highly recommened.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Devon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

We were picked up from airport for IDR 60.000 (three persons). Da rifis homestay is a bit like H. Potter's "The Burrow", but the manager and her family are very friendly and offer a great service! The manager organized a private driver very shortterm for us. The driver (Andrew) was also very friendly and spoke english. He drove us to Mount Ijen, Waterfall Madakaripura, Mount Bromo and Yogyakarta. We can't say anything negative about this trip! Also he organized guides and hostels for us. Perfect! So: Ask for Andrew!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank l_kaaloppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
10.5 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 138 in Surabaya
887 reviews
8.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#9 of 138 in Surabaya
698 reviews
10.1 km away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
10.3 km away
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya managed by AccorHotels
9 km away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#13 of 138 in Surabaya
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Rifi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Rifi Hostel

Address: Jl. Duku II/190 | Pondok Candra Indah, Surabaya 60400, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Surabaya
Price Range: $13 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are small hostel to provide affordable price for backpackers to stay. We serve cheap tours to Bromo, Ijen, Yogyakarta, Malang, Bali and so on by rent car. Motorbike service for airport pick up or going around Surabaya and surroundings is also available and need to confirm. We are not hotel so we can't provide service like hotel but we try to give you our best service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Da Rifi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Rifi Hostel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing