We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
62
154
138
43
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
154
138
43
32
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This resort is really good enough for my family and me,especially the Family Room which locate in the hill,has a nice garden view and sea view , all the facilities were great! Towel was cleaned, and the single bed in Family Room was huge.This resort also has 2 restaurants , one is called Asiana Restaurant is a Western Food Restaurant and the other one called Sun Moon is a Seafood restaurant,the seafood was fresh and delicious .
If we want go to Bintan Cabana Beach Resort ( Bintan Agro sister resort ),it will provide us a free shuttle bus.At Bintan Cabana Beach Resort the water is very clean,the sands are very white and no crowds when we were there. We had a pleasant stay!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariani l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Overall, decent stay. Spent 4 nights there, Sunday through Wednesday. The weekdays were quiet--very nice to be able to avoid the hordes.

The photos on the website are deceptive. The resort is nowhere as fancy as the photos look. The good beach is at Bintan Cabana, about a 15 minute ride away by (free) shuttle. Clean water, marine life (hermit crabs!), quiet, no crowds when we were there. Agro has most of the facilities. There is a simple cafe at Cabana. Good food, friendly staff. There is also good, affordable no frills food at the Agro bistro, nice friendly staff. Would have liked more local and vegetarian food options on the menu. Excellent sour sop juice! Good breakfast buffet--Not stellar, but simple, good variety and coffee was very good.

The rooms were okay. Clean enough, but there was no shower curtain (yes, there was a curtain rod) so the bathroom flooded after every shower, which was kind of gross. We had a room overlooking the pool and had a partial sea view (obscured by a big tree). Sun Moon had good food but a little pricey by Indonesian Standards. Did not use the kayaks or other of the marine sports facilities, as they were pretty expensive. Did not do island hopping either. With its expanse of clear, calm, shallow water, Cabana would seem a logical place for kayak rentals, but there were none.

One part of the resort that marred our experience was the mini zoo, whose presence at a beach resort, in itself, is bizarre. Management absolutely NEEDS to deal with this issue. The zoo is on the "under construction" end of the resort, away from most of the action. It was a very sad collection of animals. The housing conditions were terrible. There were a few caged rabbits on a raised enclosure, with a wire floor. No clean grass or appropriate bedding. There were parrots in small cages, with no source of mental stimulation. There was a concrete pen with a few tortoises crowded in a small pool filled with filthy water. There was a separate pen with a pair of chickens. The hen looked sick and miserable, and did not move while we were there. She was crouched in her little enclosure. A rooster was in there with her. His feathers looked bad. NONE of the animals had clean fresh water. In fact, two pens had NO water when we were there. We checked on three separate occasions. We spoke to the front desk about the lack of water at least twice. Most of the staff looked confused. Then someone indicated they would talk to "landscaping" about it. Next day? Still no water.

The resort has a lot of space, and if they insist on having a mini zoo, they could certainly provide good, humane conditions for the animals. They sure have enough staff hanging around to take better care of the animals. My advice would be to start with simple internet research on what constitutes appropriate housing for the animals they have.

Here are two good starting points for management, which I hope reads these reviews:
http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/small-pet-care/bird-care.aspx
http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx

Overall, good for the beach and clean water at Cabana, good for the food at Agro. Good getaway from Singapore.
If anyone visits, please check on the animals and make sure they have water. Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The resort is old and has not have good service. But that aside, what is really irritating is they intentionally mislead people by putting crystal clear waters and nice beaches which ARE NOT their property but you need to take a boat to reach that island, and can only spend a couple of hours. You pay SGD60-80 for the trip.

Their own beach is muddy water not suitable for swimming at all, with rocks and sludge. I think the resort should be honest. They have NO swimmable beach at all.

Rooms and service so so. Swimming pool always crowded. They have a swimming "pond" near their lobby. For kids only. Really not worth the effort going there.

Room tip: Ask them if they have a nice clean beach or if you have to take ferry and pay to go to an island for snorkeling.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mralfredchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just a heads up. If you're already set on going to TG Pinang or a less-developed country, then learn to blend in with the local culture, and you'll be all right. You'll marvel at how simple life is in the villages, and how blessed we are in Singapore.

We went on a weekend trip to Tanjung Pinang, with little expectations due to poor reviews mentioned by previous guests of Agro Beach. just a note, we were also Groupon customers, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bintan.

Our ferry ride was a tad long (1.5hours), but it was comfortable and it got us really excited on our way to Indonesia. Upon arrival, we were welcome by a friendly staff who checked off our names and brought us (and other guests) to our bus. It was definitely interesting as our welcome was to the dirt streets and local street vendors. There were no proper traffic or roads for you to walk on, so if you're taking young children, it is best advised to be carrying them on your way out.
The bus ride took arppoximately an hour to reach the resort. I didn't have much of an expectation as mentioned, but when we arrived at Agro resort, we were welcomed with a friendly staff at the reception, that had rooms already allocated for us, which was on the ground floor. It's a sea-view room (only if you actually step out of your room).

The room was clean, and pleasant. But i must say that you have to remember to close your bathroom door whenever you're done using the toilet. It gives off this really strong stench, but other than that, all the facilities were great! Towels were cleaned, toilets were clean, and the twin beds were huge. And they had cable TV too! So that was a plus.

We were really impressed with the dinner, but we heard so much abuot the SunMoon Restaurant we had to give it a try. REMEMBER TO BRING RUPIAH! Their conversion rates are really poor, but if you're not a big spender, its all good. The seafood was fresh, delicious, and we were served less than 10 minutes after ordering our food. The food was DELICIOUS by the way!
There's also a mini mart if you're looking for a drink/snack.
Brekkie was okay, but don't expect a feast. i guess the food were more inclined towards a vegetarian meal. But its edible, so don't worry! (:

Overall, we had an extremely pleasant stay!

Room tip: Try to get rooms on the second or third floor. You'll avoid being awaken by early-risers!
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nljyyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Visited recently. Was fortunate enough to get a room with sea view. Room was good. I would recommend to stay at this resort if stay is one or two days. Beach is good for water sports but not for people who are willing to relax at beach.
If you really want to just hang on at beach, Bintan cabana resort is much better place. There are free shuttle bus available form this resort to bintan cabana resorts, so better stay at this resort and spend your time at cabana resorts as rooms are clean and well maintained...Water sports and trip to other islands were just great at Bintan agro resort.

Break fast was great, not much luck on dinner and lunch.....and being very far from city...you have no option but depend on the resort.....
overall a good experience...

Room tip: do not advise to take rooms on the ground floor
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajashekar_goud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews