We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star but could do better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel has been around for a while and it shows in the furnishing and layout. However, it is still fine and everything was quite perfect as we were upgraded to an Executive Double Room on the 27th floor and being a corner room, the view was spectacular. We also were able to enjoy the Executive Lounge services due to membership benefits and it was really enjoyable. Again great views whilst you relaxed in the very spacious lounge. Food was aplenty but quality could be improved. There was once during cocktail where we saw a very "sorry" looking strawberry in the cheese platter! It must be recycled from the morning breakfast? Gosh, I think for other hotels, I can close an eye but this is after all a Marriott chain. Other than that, the food was ok but maybe more variety? The Bakwan was super delicious though!!

We were made to wait awhile during check in and was not offered a welcome drink? Well, nothing to grouse about but I thought such details would be encouraged. Ah...another point, the bed was not turned down every night with chocolates? Hmm, again I expected this from a 5 star hotel but then again, maybe I am too fussy....

Other than the minor grouses above, the hotel is good and very comfortable. Location was slightly out of the madness of traffic jam areas so it was peaceful. There are a few eateries nearby, a Texas Chicken outlet, a local supermarket, and Sari Laut Nelayan seafood restaurant, all in a row, just a block away from the hotel. The food prices at Sari Laut Nelayan were reasonable but we didn't get to eat there, just saw the menu. The supermarket has all necessary stuff and quite reasonably priced. All this is within 5 mins walk. On the same row as the hotel, there is a Nasi Padang place called Merdeka (looks quite posh) and also Jumbo Restaurant (another seafood joint). This place is smaller than Sari Laut Nelayan and also pricier (had a look at menu too!!).

Oh, forgot a great tip, the hotel has a free shuttle service to Center Point Mall which is a 10 -15 mins walk (but it is crazy hot to walk in Medan). There is a schedule for trips to and fro. We were lucky as we took the Railink to the city and the Medan Station was just across the Centre Point Mall. So we hopped over to the mall and caught the shuttle to the hotel. So convenient right?

Lastly, the taxi to take is definitely Blue Bird which was very reliable and drivers honest and polite. We decided to brave the traffic on our return trip but was pleasantly surprised the ride took 50 minutes and at IDR195,000 so it was more convenient than the Railink which was at IDR100,000 per pax. If you are alone, the Railink would be recommended but not if you have 2-4 pax.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so need to keep the blinds drawn or else could be warm. Higher floors have mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mr/Ms Taipei101,

It's always been a pleasure to read such comment like yours in regards of recent stay with us. Thank you for staying with us, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us, especially with the location, service and facilities we are offering.

It's great to hear that you love the corner room so much while I totally understand your concern on your check in experience, your kind feedbacks are very much appreciated and it will be shared to the team. But, overall I'm glad that you enjoyed the whole experience.

Thank you very much for sharing feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back here for your next stay and also to continue showcasing you better services and hospitality you would expect from a JW Marriott brand.

Hope to see you around!

Warm Regards,
Amit Sakhrani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I liked this hotel the first time I stayed here, I really liked it the second time. I was put in a high floor in a corner room and the views were incredible. We had a thunderstorm roll through one night and the views were incredible, what a light show. The room was large, and the bed comfortable. Aside from that, the gym is spacious and well equipped. The pool area, although showing some age, is still a very nice place to hand out , and relax. The executive lounge was better than the last visit, although you still had to hail an attendant to get a drink. I have no complaints with the service in the lounge other that that. The hotel is centrally located and an easy taxi to the train station if you don't want to walk. Speaking of the train, I am glad it is there. The last time I was here the airport was still in town. With it being so far away now, the train is a must. Anyway, I will stay here again when I come back, it is a very nice hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mr Donald G,

Welcome back! It's always been a pleasure to read your comment like yours in regards of recent stay with us.
Thank you for staying with us, though it was short stay, we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your time with us, especially knowing that our service & facilities impressed you that much for us to receive such great review. Thank you so much for loving our hotel.

Appreciate you for putting such a nice comment on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back here for the third time again to continue showcasing you the services and hospitality you would expect from a JW Marriott brand.

Hope to see you around soon!

Warm Regards,
Amit Sakhrani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at the Medan Marriott.

While service was good and our room was fine we had a few issues.

Reservations were fine in principle. We tried to move our reservation earlier and even called the reservations department. Inexplicably once 4pm the day before came suddenly no rooms available in the entire hotel. We persisted on phone and magically we did get a room, but this was after calls, emails and a lot of unnecessary fiddle.

Dinner at in house steakhouse was weak - certainly not at the 5 star international level we expected.

The breakfast buffet is vast, but we found it a little below par in terms of quality.

Clearly a few maintenance and updating needed in our room; though beds were a delight and the view from floor 29 incredible.

A reasonable option in Medan and well priced.


Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Mr Matvl,

Firstly, I wish to personally thank you for providing us feedback following your stay at JW Marriott Medan. I am sad to know that your experience with the reservation issue was not perfect. As you know, we at the JW Marriott pride ourselves on the service we deliver and hence I am upset to know we fell short of your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback on multiple areas. Your feedback shall certainly be addressed with all concerned we shall take necessary actions to fix the issues. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and feedback about your experience staying at JW Marriott Medan. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Medan.

Best Regards,

Amit Sakhrani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

First time to Indonesia and Medan, the people here very friendly and polite.

I like this hotel, u have to pay for the wifi and the breakfast are quite Asian style nothing much special.

The toiletries not as perfect as I expected with this kind of 4-5 stars hotel. Overall the staff are kind and very nice to guests.

From hotel to airport by taxi will take about 45mins to 60 mins depends on the traffic.
Cost about RP 200,000 one way.

Advice to take "Blue Bird" taxi for your transport, which they use meter to calculate the fees.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank NIs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Mr/Ms JoeJoe888,

It is always encouraging for the us to read such positive comments. Its happy to know that everything is fantastic and you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I also appreciate your recognition of our hotel staffs.

Hi-speed internet is indeed one of the hotel top priorities in running as a business hotel in this digital era. Complimentary WiFi is available in the public areas of the hotel and for rooms, it is free to all Marriott Reward Members. I would personally recommend you to enrol for Marriott Rewards and discover lots of instant benefits; like lowest rate when booking direct and earn points. You can sign up online or at the reception of your next visit to any Marriott's hotel. It's completely free and rewarding.

We appreciate the time you spent to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we would love to host you back again and we will ensure your stay are just memorable as it should be. See you soon again!


Best Regards,
Amit Sakhrani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

The Medan JW is a beautiful hotel with a great staff. They have a very nice workout facility and views from pool are fantastic. Breakfast buffet has numerous options for all tastes and the onsite restaurants are very nice.

Definitely my first choice when visiting Medan.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Chandler1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Ms Chandler1901,

It's always been a pleasure to read your comment like yours in regards of recent stay with us.
Thank you for staying with us, though it was short stay, we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your time with us, especially knowing that our service & facilities impressed you that much for us to receive such great review. Thank you so much for loving our hotel.

Appreciate you for putting such a nice comment on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back here again to continue showcasing you the services and hospitality you would expect from a JW Marriott brand.

Hope to see you around soon!

Warm Regards,
Amit Sakhrani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.7 km away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 76 in Medan
695 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
1.6 km away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
2.8 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
10.5 km away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 76 in Medan
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Address: Jl. Putri Hijau no. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: $89 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Medan is the first International 5-star hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor infinity swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open 24 hours daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing