We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience China Town
from US$75.00
More Info
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
16
33
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
33
11
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Usually, China Towns in North America are dirty, not safe to travel, and basically slum areas. But the China Town in Padang is the opposite. I think it is cleaner than other streets in the city, quite safe as long as there are people around, and there were many great Chinese Padang restaurants. This town has almost convinced me that I was in China. The foods here are really nice too.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Dong Hoon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I came during ramadhan vasting month, most of the restaurant are closed down so the only place i can get lunch is from chinatown. With most of the locals are moslem, we can not have food of drink in public.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank callmeyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

A very compact area. Come early morning 7-10PM and come hungry. Rows of Kopitiam in mid-century shophouses. Sample the local chinese & Padang food. Duck into the small market area where you'll find more stalls selling more food! Hunt for the local version of cakue/youtiau!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Anditan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Padang China Town fulls with shops selling chinese padang cuisine and other things else. But the stand out architecture is the 'kongsi' building (such as HTT and HBT or orther Chinese surname) - it's huge and definitely represent the culture of Padang born Chinese.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank SIOK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Amazing destination at the night. Can buy local culinary and the seller will say why if that is sold there is the pork don't fear .. even the name of hometown of china.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Ame H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews