We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother.”
Review of Hotel Elen

Hotel Elen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Elen
Ranked #408 of 546 Lombok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

One of the worst places i've stayed in - we only stayed there 1 night. Simply, the rooms were not very clean at all. The shower was pathetic, the bathroom needed replacing let alone cleaning, cockroaches came out from the sink, the bedding was not fresh, we were told there were no towels or toilet paper and the blanket was horrible. Breakfast was poor - chewy/dry pancake and a black tea. Price was obviously low and perhaps appealing to backpackers (like us) - but I would strongly recommend you look elsewhere even if you pay a bit more. Shame because the grounds around the rooms are quite nice and the wifi in the communal area worked well.

Room Tip: When you see the sign for Hotel Elen...keep walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphillimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend spent 1 night here in October 2011, after moving from an awful homestay down the road. We were nearly as unimpressed with this place.

We paid 100,000 Rp a night, for a double room with a fan, en-suite (with cold shower) and a patio area.

Our room was clean, but the bathroom was a little smelly and in need of a clean. The door handle of the bathroom was falling off and the electricity and water kept cutting out.

The surroundings around the rooms are quite nice (apart from the poor unwell fish in the ponds and the birds in tiny cages).

A simple breakfast was included – plain pancake and tea or coffee - which was quite tasty.

We weren't very impressed with Sengiggi as a whole - not much to do or see, and poor accommodation. Plus, everywhere rips you off with the cost of laundry!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

At first glance these rooms looked okay but when you look closer you realise just how vile they are. The bed was covered in stains, our pillows had mould all over them, and the bathroom was horrific. I strongly advise anyone to look elsewhere because these rooms are below average. I asked for towels, bed sheets and toilet roll but rejected every time. The windows didnt shut properly and we could hear everything going on outside.

Room Tip: Don't bother looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The room didn't look all that bad on first inspection, but we later discovered stains on the sheet, hidden by the blanket. There were also numerous mosquitoes in the bathroom.
After a hot night under a very inadequate fan, I woke up to discover bites all down one arm and my legs. I'm pretty sure they were caused by bed bugs. The fact that Hotel Elen charges 100,000 per night is laughable.
In my opinion this place should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyAndKatyInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My bf and I checked this place out, as it suited our backpacking budget. We were quoted 4x the price that it said in the Lonely Planet (during the low season) and this place was hideous. There was literally a broken dirty toilet laying on its side right in front of the door of the room we were shown (which the management wasn't bothered by at all). The bedsheets looked soiled and disgusting and the room featured a chair frame (as in, no seat or back - what's the point?). This isn't the first disgusting hotel we encountered in Indonesia though, nor is this the first time that a place that got a good recommendation in the Lonely Planet upped their prices and stopped cleaning. Avoid like the plague, but don't be surprised if you don't find anything better for the money in Senggigi.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Bananas2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
4.6 km away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
17.0 km away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
763 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.7 km away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,913 reviews
10.6 km away
Princess of Mentigi Bay
Princess of Mentigi Bay
#1 of 1 in Teluknarat
30 reviews
71.2 km away
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
#1 of 1 in Jerowaru
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elen

Address: Sengiggi, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 546 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing