We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth it”
Review of Hotel Elen

Hotel Elen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Elen
Ranked #408 of 546 Lombok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, when we arrived we asked to look at the room, which seemed pretty clean and for a good price, when we looked at the bathroom there were about 5 or 6 dead cockroaches, we asked if there was a different room or if they could clean the bugs up before we take the room, the guy said no so we asked for a discount if we cleaned it ourselves...he then decided he did have another room for us. this one wasnt as nice but appeared bug free (ish)
Breakfast comes included in the price...i really wished we hadnt bothered, the coffee tasted like he had just scooped some mud out of the pretty well keep garden area, and we were told breakfast would be pancake, i assumed there would be some sort of jam, source or bananas or something with it, when infact it was an undercooked, soggy, butter soaked pancake, i could feel my heart pleading with me not to fill it with the butter juice so I checked out never to return.
Its a shame as this was recommended in lonley planet so they know people are going to come regardless...i used wished they cared about the place and their customers to make it a stay that is reasonable...also there is no mozzy net so got eaten alive and there was nothing for us to hang our own one on...bring replenant!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie-Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile


It is a cheap place to stay with a simple room. The bathroom is old, but clean. Wifi is free and fast. The breakfast it is only tea or coffee and a plain pankcake, but it is better than nothing. it is a good place where meet new friends. I suggest it if you are looking for simple accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daFraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Good location because right there on the main street, but the front of the hotel says it all: it is miserable !!!! The room was filthy, we didn't dare sleep on the sheets, and we barely set foot in the bathroom. There were bed bugs, it was very very very noisy, because the walls are paper thin, the fountain is very loud, and there are two mosques around.
Only the breakfast pancake was pretty good. But I got a look at the fridge and the kitchen, and I really wish I hadn't.
We knew what we were getting into, we had no money and no other choice: 75,000 RPS for two. tax & breakfast included. wifi in the kitchen area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camillemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

One of the worst places i've stayed in - we only stayed there 1 night. Simply, the rooms were not very clean at all. The shower was pathetic, the bathroom needed replacing let alone cleaning, cockroaches came out from the sink, the bedding was not fresh, we were told there were no towels or toilet paper and the blanket was horrible. Breakfast was poor - chewy/dry pancake and a black tea. Price was obviously low and perhaps appealing to backpackers (like us) - but I would strongly recommend you look elsewhere even if you pay a bit more. Shame because the grounds around the rooms are quite nice and the wifi in the communal area worked well.

Room Tip: When you see the sign for Hotel Elen...keep walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphillimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend spent 1 night here in October 2011, after moving from an awful homestay down the road. We were nearly as unimpressed with this place.

We paid 100,000 Rp a night, for a double room with a fan, en-suite (with cold shower) and a patio area.

Our room was clean, but the bathroom was a little smelly and in need of a clean. The door handle of the bathroom was falling off and the electricity and water kept cutting out.

The surroundings around the rooms are quite nice (apart from the poor unwell fish in the ponds and the birds in tiny cages).

A simple breakfast was included – plain pancake and tea or coffee - which was quite tasty.

We weren't very impressed with Sengiggi as a whole - not much to do or see, and poor accommodation. Plus, everywhere rips you off with the cost of laundry!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
4.6 km away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
17.0 km away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
763 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.7 km away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,913 reviews
10.6 km away
Princess of Mentigi Bay
Princess of Mentigi Bay
#1 of 1 in Teluknarat
30 reviews
71.2 km away
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
#1 of 1 in Jerowaru
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elen

Address: Sengiggi, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 546 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing