We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "super crab" on the island”

Aroma Restaurant Lombok
Ranked #111 of 265 Restaurants in Mataram
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Aroma Restaurant Lombok is one of the pioneer restaurants in Lombok that serves Chinese and Seafood since 1983.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Tatsy & fresh seafood with various chinese souces at simple & clean space.
My recommendation for their best sauces are Crab with oyster sauce (like on pict I attached here) & Crab in Padang sauce (it's spicy hot sauce, but could request the restaurant for adjust the hot level).
Price level are affordable, compare to the size of portion & quality.
Suggestion: Make sure you have enough of your stomach space, bcoz I'm sure you couldn't eat a little here. ;-)

Thank YULIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vany V, Public Relations Manager at Aroma Restaurant Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you Yulia for coming and dining with us. We're glad you love our food. Hope we can serve you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

As we were otw to airport we dropped by to this Aroma to try their seafood. We ordered blood mussel for the entry, the black pepper crabs with roe,garoupa steam fish. Cap cai with tofu and green vegetable with garlic. The interior is standard but acceptable with good service from the owner.
Very cold bintang beer with frozen glass this is excellent for this type of serving in this city .
I had to confirm that the seafood are all fresh especially the crab was still alive. Also the garoupa is very firm flesh meaning was fresh before the cooked with 0.9 kg in weight and another blood mussel is also so delicious . The green vegetable is so standard.
Just only the taste of black pepper needs to be improved too watery and not visible black pepper . The steam fish it should be no Fluor in the souce it would be better .
But the price is very reasonable meaning cheap for the quality they offered .
This restaurant has been running since 1980 and now in 3 rd generation

Thank BUDI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

I never believe cheap foods have good taste and quality. But the Aroma has them al. The foods taste good and the price, compared to the same food in Jakarta, much cheaper.

For example, we paid for fried gurame fish only IDR 55,000 nett (approx. US$4) while in Jakarta, it costs me around US$9. And the fish is fresh. Otherfoods are also good and cheap so after lunch, we bought again many foods for our dinner at the hotel.

The restaurant is small, run by a family. It is a seafood and chinese restaurant.

Surely we'll be back again to this restaurant.

I was too busy to eat and forgot to take pictures.

Thank deeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromaLombok, Owner at Aroma Restaurant Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for your great response. We will surely welcome you again another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I have been visiting the Aroma Cafe since 1998 and just last week returned to Lombok for a short holiday with my two sons. We were very pleased to find that the Aroma Cafe is still serving possibly the freshest and best Padang Mud Crabs in Indonesia as well excellent frogs legs Tepung or Inggriss style. All of the food is of a high standard and very reasonably priced with excellent service. You can go and sellect your mud crabs if you wish to be sure that they are still alive. Oh and the beer is cold as it always has been and I could not have been happier with the food, we had the crabs 3 days out the 4 days we were in Lombok.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HarryO0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromaLombok, Owner at Aroma Restaurant Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you for your visit, Harry! It was lovely that you would come and remember us after all those years. Hope to see you again whenever you're in Lombok!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Chinese Restaurant with a lot of varian chinese food. If you like chinese food, you better come here. My favorite one is Crab Asparagus Soup. Yummy..

Thank LombokAstoriaHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromaLombok, Owner at Aroma Restaurant Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you for your review! The soup is certainly our best-seller. Hope you enjoy the dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aroma Restaurant Lombok also viewed

 
Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara
 
Mataram, Lombok
 

Been to Aroma Restaurant Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing