We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Other than the hole that was in our window (..looked like a gunshot but was told it was "warping" due to the cold weather they get. I have been in a lot of hotels for hockey in very cold areas and have never seen this.) It was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thank you for your review. we will address all of our guests concerns in order to maintain the satisfaction level desired by our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 852 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

i can't emphasize enough how great my stay was at this hotel the price is incredibly resonable, the location is not the best and we got lost on the first try because we were not told about the Avenue" Extension" but the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. literally! Kudos to that complimentary breakfast and how clean everything was at breakfast time in the restaurant, i must say great job to management and all of the staff from the time i checked in with the very pleasent and professional young lady named melissa who seemed very eager to please but showed everyone the courtesy of timely attention. all around the shuttle service the drivers the housekeepers the servers the bedsssss! The Ramada has my vote i will most def stay again and again and spread a good word, even after arriving home exausted i felt the need to review them right away.

great job! and thank you for the refreshing service

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneNB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thank you, We are glad you had a good nights rest. As we near finishing the upgrade of all our beds we hope everyone will get a great nights rest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I've been staying at this hotel for about 2 years now, 2-3 time a year when I travel to Albany on business. The changes that have taken place since I stayed here last are night and day. I don't know what is going on, but they are definitely on the right track!!! The breakfast is great, they even have home fries now. I am looking forward to my next trip to Albany, I highly recommend anyone that needs to stay in Albany, NY to stay here. A reasonable price hotel with excellent service, amenities and a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

First off this hotel is in great need of updating. The hotel is clean, the room I had was clean. The internet worked well and the breakfast in the morning was good. The staff at the front desk was great. We called from the airport for the free shuttle and they said it was not available right then but told us to take a cab and we would be reembursed. This was really a nice touch. The value in this hotel to me is that they give a free shuttle to the hotel from the airport or train station and then back to the airport or train station in the morning. Cabs in Albany are a complete rip off and should be avoided at all cost.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snuffycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Let me first begin like I do with all of my reviews of hotel properties. I am a very easy person to please; furthermore, I rarely feel the need to complain about anything (even when majority of people would) Basically, I have a very high tolerance when it comes to not being "satisfied" when staying at a hotel. The main reason for my attitude is the multiple years I myself spent in the hospitality field.. Furthermore, I do not think the general public has a clue about what it takes to run a hotel and majority of the time when they are not pleased about something they either go about resolving the manner in far to aggressive of a way or bite the head off of an employee who has absolutely no control or responsibility regarding the specific problem/ issue at hand.

Let me first state that the only thing this property has going for it is the front desk staff. Sadly, I feel terrible for them because they have to deal with the brunt of the guests complaints due to the complete neglect of the property manager and whoever is above that person.

To get short and right to the point! Do NOT stay at this property. It is a health hazard and should not only lose the corporate flag, but be shut down until a complete inspection is done on the ENTIRE property. When I checked into this property, as stated it was an ideally pleasant process. I was set up by my company with this property and after traveling 12 hours I did not do anything but hit the bed the minute I walked into my room. Upon waking up, I had decided to order some delivery from a local wing place. After placing my order, I figured I had enough time to shower and this is where it all went downhill... As I stepped into the shower and went to bend down to turn on the water all I saw was mold! And when i say mold I am not referring to a small amount! I am referring to a SERIOUS SERIOUS health risk!! (as seen in the pictures I am posting) After calling the front desk I was switched rooms; however, I demanded someone come up and actually see what I was observing and damn near vomiting from. As he arrived he did exactly what I would have wanted an employee to do when I managed a hotel. However, his response was "I am sending someone to clean it up now" REALLY!! Clean it up??? This was not a "bleach" solution! The walls need to be ripped down and thoroughly inspected! Mold even with the proper procedures is never easy to wipe out nor should it be taken lightly as it can cause severe affects to a person years down the road! Will this actually be done? Who knows? However, I would think that one could actually go after the "health inspectors" as well as the city of Albany for complete negligence pertaining to their lack of demanding the hotel resolve the issue and close the doors until this is done! Furthermore, this is not a COSMETIC problem! It is far more serious! (as seen in the pictures I am going to post). I was repulsed, shocked, and outright disgusted. I could type another 100 adjectives to describe the outrageously ill conditions of this property, but I would prefer not to waste your time nor mine.

Lastly, the room I was transferred to was better than the original room, but considering what was going on I don't think it is saying that much. This property is a true example of what NOT to do when you run a hotel. The sad thing is they have the privilege of flying a "Ramada Corporate Flag" which that in itself will attract future guests and influence their decision to stay here based on the fact 99% of these chains are far more superior; moreover, abide by the standards handed down by corporate in order to call themselves part of the "Ramada" chain. I personally am at such a loss of words that I am taking it beyond Trip Adviser and am sending a personal letter with included pictures at my own cost to every high up representative that is in the corporate offices. Furthermore, I will be contacting my management who I work for which provides LOTS of business to this company as a whole letting them know what I went through and why no one should be put in a situation where their safety is at risk!!

Note* Terrible rating regarding service has nothing to do with front desk employees. I just cannot give anything better due to the sheer principle. Once again, front desk staff was A+ and this problem is far out of their pay grade!

Room Tip: What a tip! You would be better sleeping in a pile of rat droppings than staying in this hotel prope...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

We take great pride in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. I can understand a guests concern, but I want to reasure you this is not mold. There are a few leaky tub drains that we are in the process of fixing and we are replacing the faucets. The water is very hard up here and will cause this on the downspouts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.7 km away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
2.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
3.0 km away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
5.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Albany

Address: 3 Watervliet Avenue Ext, Albany, NY 12206-1629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $117 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Albany hotel offers that rare combination of great rates and friendly personalized service. With all new carpeting in the rooms,(Jan,2014) select comfort pillow top beds from Simmons and 32" flat screen TVs, we are confident you will not only be comfortable but have a great night's sleep. Centrally located in Albany just 10 minutes to downtown and the airport. The perfect location for unforgettable weekend escapes and elegant meetings and events. We pride ourselves in customer service with a well rounded knowledgeable staff that has consistently met all our guests needs. We offer a Complimentary upscale hot breakfast with fresh baked goods that guests rave about. Our restaurant offers American cuisine including New York center cut steak to our Certified Angus beef half pound burgers. All reasonably priced to fit anyone's budget. We guarantee the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Plaza Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Albany Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing