We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
32
17
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
17
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice pool home away from home main road late check stayed here room was spacious one night stay sri lanka last night hallway relaxation balcony colombo beach fridge amenities airport
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We were looking for a hotel not too far from Colombo to crash for the night in order to recover from a long flight. The hotel is quite modern and only a short walk to the Main Street where the bars etc are. You do need a torch though as the side road it is on is not lit. We were met by the manager who offered us a drink whilst we checked in. Bizarrely there is no real reception area! The room was a decent size but not particularly clean. The shower was Luke warm and not very powerful. Breakfast was minimal, and as one previous reviewer stated, the service was hit and miss. It was as if the hotel had just been opened and staff weren’t sure what to do. Considering how tired we were you’d have thought it would have been easy to get a good nights sleep. The beds were comfortable enough but the couple in the room next to us decided to have their music on and although they did turn it down after 10 mins or so you could still hear it. Can only assume the walls must be thin as you could literally hear everything. Not sure how it would work should you want to report anything to reception as there wasn’t really one. Although it served a purpose, so glad we only stayed here the one night. They do have a safe in the room but you have to pay for it!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martini-duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We booked this last minute and couldn’t have been happier. Set back from main road so quiet, but only a 2 minute walk from beach. Plenty of places to eat and drink but we ate at the hotel. There is an a la carte menu with great selection but we were offered a tailor made curry which was just perfect. We received a warm welcome from Joe the manager who did his utmost to make our stay memorable. And it was. Room small but perfectly formed and nice balcony with chairs to sit out on. Nice pool too. Excellent value for money and would definitely stay there again. Thnaks for a wonderful time.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we spend here only one night but we have been spoiled so much like we were super vips. We can’t thank the staff of the Waves by Tranquil enough for everything they’ve done for us and our daughter. Great job guys! We will highly recommend you to everyone.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paola_Roma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We were quite disappointed because the pictures gave a different and better impression (in terms of room size and look - room was very small).
The room also had a smell. Something from the aircon.
There were also two aircon exhaust units on the balcony, which was quite noisy.
Price per value is low.
The place was clean, the bed was good.
But we are not coming back.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Tarek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This new hotel is well presented & quiet as it is slightly back from the Main Street running through Negombo. It has a nice pool, which is good as the beach isn't the nicest I've come across. As it is a new hotel, it was difficult for my tuk tuk driver to find - when I visited, there were no signs either on the hotel or indicating the turn that needed to be taken. The staff were friendly, although there doesn't seem to be a provision for a late check out, which I had inquired about on my booking.
The hotel is close to the beach & plenty of restaurants & shopping. It is a good spot for some relaxation in Negombo.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank ash0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews