We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amagi Aria(Negombo)
US$72
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Inn(Negombo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$33
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Jetwing Blue(Negombo)
US$166
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$44
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neo Holiday Home(Katunayake)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$22/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel J(Negombo)
US$54
US$34
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kapuru(Negombo)
US$60
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$89
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pledge 3(Negombo)
US$100
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
US$231
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
115
130
66
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
130
66
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaone nightthe main roadsmall hotellast nightsitting areabars and restaurantsrooms are largequiet locationmini barswimming poolnegombo cityshort staygreat place to staytea and coffeenight staynice pool
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had a marvelous stay in Negombo at the St. Lachlan hotel and suites. Warmly welcomed by the owner and the staff. Wonderful room, very good service and excellent dining too. Recomended hotel in every way!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zeeshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear S. Zeeshan

Warm greetings from the new management at the St. Lachlan Hotel.

It was indeed nice to read your lovely comments about your stay at the hotel.we glad to see these during days that you are happy,i hope our staff take care and given best hospitality service to you, however we do hope you will visit us again, perhaps during your 1st stay in here. you can once again relive the magic at St. Lachlan Hotel.

Wishing you and your partner all the best for a bright future,

Ralf Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at St. Lachlan hotel at night and were greeted very warmly by the owner and the staff. Then directed to the superior room which is unlike any other hotel.
Room was not only spacious but very clean and we were given the choice of choosing our own room. Its almost like a small studio apartment with a seating area to relax and watch TV.
After we settled, we went down to the restaurant for dinner and it was supper yum. The ceasar salad, cream of spinach soup and grilled chicken was well presented and it was a very generous portion. Kudous to the chef here. Very good food.
The next day the breakfast was also made according to our choice and was very filling.
The swimming pool is big and clean and well maintained.
We wanted to go around negambo and Ralph (guy at the main reception) went out of his way to arrange a tuk tuk for us as we were with a toddler.
Our flight was at 5.30am and even though it was too early and after his working hours, he still came to help us out with the transportation and everything else. Its people like him that make guest like us want to come back again n live here.
Special thanks to Ralph and all the other staff members for making our stay comfortable at St. Lachlan.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Tasneem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Aziz Morbiwala,

Warm greetings from the new management at the St. Lachlan Hotel.

It was indeed nice to read your lovely comments about your stay at the hotel.we glad to see these during days that you are happy,i hope our staff take care and given best hospitality service to you and your family, however we do hope you will visit us again, perhaps during your 1st stay in here. you can once again relive the magic at St. Lachlan Hotel.

Wishing you and your partner all the best for a bright future,

Ralf Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Be warned! This hotel is closed due to renovations (dd 16 jul 17). We booked it but stood with our three small children before a closed door and paid (partially) upfront.
We were very dissapointed as we had a reservation and just arrived in Sri Lanka. (and had to look for something else when we had just arrived).
Emails are not answered, I think we lost our money. Be warned and dont book this very unfriendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank annemarie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, General Manager at St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear annemarie2u

Warm Greetings from the new management of the St'Lachlan Family!

We were highly distressed to hear about your predicament with regards to your booking. During the past 3 months the property has changed management as well as the owning company though we still retain the name of the hotel.

I apologize that you were not informed of said change and as a result was stranded outside due to the fact that we had closed for renovations and there was no one in the hotel at the time.

As for your money, if there was no refund done as yet, please do drop us an e-mail and I will be happy to follow up and ensure that your money if refunded in full. (since we cannot mention e-mail addresses on the site, you will be able to view same on our website)

Once again, we do apologize for all the inconvenience you had to undergo as a result of this management changeover, Assuring you of our best services at all time...

Shawn J. Peterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We stayed here for a night at either end of our trip. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and the staff so friendly and helpful. The hotel has a comfortable lounging area and a good pool although the sunbeds and towels could do with renewing.

Our rooms were large with all the bits you'd expect. The bed was big but not the comfiest (might be down to my dodgy back though) and the shower was good. However, we would say that the bathrooms weren't sparkly clean and the rooms could do with a lick of paint and a bit of TLC. There was A/c in the rooms with fans as well but the A/C was quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annan8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, General Manager at St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Annan8312

Greetings from the new management at St. Lachlan Hotel!

At the outset I wish to thank you for choosing to stay at the Lachlan Hotel even though my Team was not in the hotel to welcome you at the time.

As the new management team we have addressed the issues you mentioned with a few new ideas from our side as well and we hope these improvements will meet with the discerning tastes of all our valued customers.

Please do look us up on our website and we hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Shawn J. Peterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We arrived at the hotel early morning 5.30 am after a long days travelling.When we were shown to our suite [ no 4] we just wanted to have a quick cup of tea and get some sleep.Went to fill the kettle and found that there was no water on in the kitchette. Managed to get that turned on.
When we got up had a better look around the suite, all the towels toiletries etc were fine but it was absolutely filthy, especially the kitchette which by the way did not have any cutlery, plates, dishes just two cups and a kettle. In the description on Booking.com it also said there was a dishwasher, not true. All there were in the cupboards were a few dirty old pans, a filthy chopping board, dead flies and general grime.
The air conditioning was inadequate and noisy.
The bed was comfortable but both my wife and I were bitten by something when under the covers.
I complained and they did give the bedroom a good clean.
On hindsight I think we should have moved out and found alternative accommodation but as we were booked in for 7 nights I thought they would charge us for the whole period.
We had a couple of breakfasts in the restaurant which were really nice and the staff were really polite.
When we checked out they then tried to overcharge us.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, General Manager at St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Jeremy W,

Warm greetings from the new Management Team at St. Lachlan Hotel!

Let me start off by saying how sorry We were to read about your experience at the hotel even though my team was not present at the time. As the new management we have addressed all of the short comings and have taken the necessary measures to rectify and improve the facilities and services at the hotel.

There is very little we can do at this point to make up for your less than satisfactory stay, however we do hope you will visit us again and experience for yourself the improvements done to the property.

Best Regards

Shawn J. Peterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews