We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$280
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kiboko Lodge(Arusha)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Raha Leo(Arusha)(Great Value!)
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
US$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
210
243
67
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
243
67
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herenelson mandelahot waterfirst nightdinner buffetfree wifinice balconyswimming poolair conditioningaway from the hustle and bustlea la carte menutour companybeautiful gardenkilimanjaro climbrooms are largebusy citykilimanjaro airport
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Great and friendly staff
Nice food ( set dinner menu and morning buffet)
good rooms with mosquito nets for bed and windows.
Had Chess board at the main hall.
Located close to Arusha and the Kilimanjaro airport
-
A bit of a humid area and some mosquitoes (we noticed in other places which were in dry and hot area were less mosquitoes)
Stayed one night before and after safari. We got to the hotel and were welcomed with wet towels and fresh juice ( as we experienced in each hotel after ). Massage service relatively expensive- 50$ per person ( in other nice places we got 35$ 1h per person )
The key to the room break from just holding it , we were happy one of the staff members went to get a new one very quickly. The food was nice, although meat sometimes was a bit tough, good variety of food for breakfast.
The mosquito net seems old and needs to be repaired.
Would be great to have a small cattle for tea/coffee at the room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ITOUMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodges, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello ITOUMK,
Thank you for sharing your feedback here. I appreciate your pointing out some of the nuances you face while here. Please know it is such feedback that helps us continuously improve our products for an even more enjoyable experience year after year.
Rest assured we are working on improving locks and keys for the guest rooms. Likewise, we tend to ward of mosquitoes by fumigating the Lodge periodically; and I am glad to say we'll be fumigating again pretty soon. With regards to massage prices, we do our best to offer great services at reasonable costs... however, our goal is NOT to be the cheapest but rather offer value to all clients. Toughness of meat is something our chefs are working on too, we do our best to source from local suppliers but at times that poses challenges. I've shared your feedback with the respective departments for action - so thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Best regards,
Eva for Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My friends and I staid at Planet Lodge before our Kilimanjaro climb and afterward before we headed out to our safari --4 nights total. We were very pleased. The grounds are beautiful with flowering trees, a lush garden, shady veranda, and a very clean and attractive pool.

The rooms are each separate from each other and are very large and well appointed. Beds are turned down every night and cleaned every morning. Showers were hot if you figure out that the heating switch outside the bathroom has to be on for a while prior. Everything is spotlessly clean. The food was really good and plentiful, served buffet style. Several people in our group had dietary restrictions and had no trouble finding appropriate items. The staff were all friendly, cheerful, and eager to help.

All in all a great place to stay! I wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PW02130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed in Planet lodge before departing on a week long safari. The rooms are bungalow style, which is nice because they are very quiet . The hotel has also inner garden and pool, where you can relax in the evening. The breakfast was good. For dinner, if you want Tanzanian food, you have to request the a la carte menu ahead of time because it can take up to 90 minutes to prepare. Otherwise they have a preset menu of the day which is Western.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dipaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodges, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hello dipaCT,
Thank you for the kind words following your stay with us! I am glad to know you enjoyed the garden, pool and meals. Yes, we offer a variety of Tanzanian meals on our Local Menu and most items there are made to order. We ask clients to allow ample time so we can prepare ingredients such as green bananas and local vegetables from our gardens nearby. Most clients who've tried items from this menu are very happy so we highly recommend it for clients staying multiple nights in a row.
We are glad to know you enjoyed it too and hope other guests will try our food too!
Asante sana na karibu tena!
Best regards,
Eva for Arusha Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Very generous and accommodating. I liked some chocolate and tea that are not available in my country and they were very happy to give me some to take back home. Special thanks to Sam and Neema who are the most fun receptionists. Sam particularly helped us a lot with our transportation trouble in Zanzibar. Check your receipts before paying as we had some receipts that weren't ours mistakenly between our receipts.The garden is so refreshing to relax in.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodges, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mona H,
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our Front Office Team to be very helpful and some of the "most fun receptionists"... we do our best to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. I am very sorry about the wrong bills assigned to your room in error... we always ask clients to cross check bills before they pay to ensure they are correctly billed. I believe this is when you caught the mistake... Kindly note this is a rare occurrence and one that Management does not take lightly. The Front Office and Night Audit teams are appraised of this and we are improving our night audit procedures to ensure we catch such a mistake before bills are presented to clients.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Karibu tena Arusha!
Eva for Arusha Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Great place for our group with great friendly service. Tha rooms were very clean and the food was delicious and very abundant. Pool was nice for afternoons. The servers were very helpful and very friendly.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodges, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you Joanne F,
We truly enjoy having you all here.
We hope to see you again in the years to follow.
Karibuni sana!
Eva for Arusha Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews