We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa(Khuk Khak)(Great Value!)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ayara Villas(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$31
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$76
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
US$189
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
US$57
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chongfah Beach Resort(Khao Lak)
US$82
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
87
55
18
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
55
18
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnorkeling tourwooden bungalowsnice bungalowsbasic accommodationsarrange taxishanging spacewestern foodcouple of nightskhao soilovely beachaboardbahtmassagescooterbeachsidelizardsphuket
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

It all started from that first email conversation, so helpful and did everything to make my trip easy. I arranged an airport transfer which is done by a registered taxi firm that they have a long term relationship with that are very polite and efficient.
I had a couple of nights in a wooden bungalow (fan) - the bungalow was fab and the view was just perfect. Expect to hear the jungle around you and the waves crashing on the shore......you book here to enjoy being part of nature not for soul-less quiet hotel rooms. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff are so friendly. I also ate next down in the nearest bay - a lovely place to sunbathe, swim, eat & drink. I did take the 20-30 mins walk to Khao Lak as needed an ATM but was so happy Poseidon was a lot quieter that main Khao Lak as thats exactly what i wanted from my trip.
The 3 day snorkel tour was what led me here and that indeed needs a review of its own. In short i was bowled over by the quality of the food on board, the expert guide Ester, the fab crew, the sights we saw on our trip, some really beautiful soul moments and i was blessed with a lovely group of people to share it with. The whales were a chance in a lifetime but i'm so glad they picked our tour to come say hello.
Its not often i feel strongly about a place that id like to return but i know for sure it won't be my last time at poseidon. Thank to all the staff for an amazing first week to my trip.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Group of 7 friends, booked 5 cabins for 5 nights. Highlight was the friendly and energetic staff who offered tips, guides, etc to nearby areas to explore, including a diving expedition, bike rentals, waterfalls and hikes. Breakfast available on-site was great to start the mornings off right.

Beach was a 20 second walk from our door: quiet, white sand, some days we would only see a dozen other people - hard to find such quiet in a tourist hot-spot like Thailand! The beaches had 3-4 locally owned Thai restaurants to eat on the beach and serve tropical drinks, and of course amazing massages :).

I would highly recommend this space for anyone looking to enjoy the tropical appeal of Thailand, and its amazing food culture and massages, without dealing with the chaos of Phuket or other tourist traps. Also plenty to see for day trips around the area. Many in our group wished we had another day or four here!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms come with fans, but otherwise expect hot or muggy nights.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VonFlugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Nice bungalows close from the beach. Very quiet for relaxing holidays. Close from a nice and hide beach with good restaurants. Poseidon proposes activities as diving or snorkelling in the Similan islands. Close to the nature and ecologic, rooms are comfortable but not luxury. Excellent service and good food in the restaurant

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ylescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

After a couple of nights in the Khao Sok jungle, I headed west in Khao Lak to join the Poseidon snorkeling trip in the Similan islands. I stayed in one of the wooden bungalows at Poseidon for 1 night after the snorkel trip ended. The room was small and basic but sufficient for 1 night. However, if I was going to stay for more than one night, I would probably avoid the small wooden bungalow and choose one of the bigger new rooms. There was a staircase leading to a lovely beach and a few beach restaurants where you can enjoy a meal and get a sunbed for free. The restaurant at the Poseidon Bungalows is nice with free wifi, but a bit expensive compared to the restaurants on the beach and with very slow service.

As far as the snorkel trip is concerned, it was an amazing experience and an excellent adventure. Overall, the trip is well organized, excellent food, sleeping quarters sufficient. But I really missed a proper shower at the end of the day. The Similan islands are beautiful, but it was a shock to see how many speed boats visit every day. Unfortunately it looks like very soon the Thai government will be forced to close most of the islands to prevent their destruction by the tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed at Poseidon Bungalows for 1 night before we went on their 3 day Similan Island Live-Aboard snorkel tour. They were very responsive and helpful through the booking process over email. They helped arrange a fair priced taxi for us from the Phuket airport to Khoa Lak. We booked their basic wooden bungalow without A/C - great location near the water, but with very basic interiors. Don't expect a lot if you normally travel to nice hotels and resorts. We knew what to expect so it wasn't surprising. I would recommend staying here and doing the Similan Island tour when you first arrive in Thailand if you have more luxury accommodation booked for the rest of your holiday. The beach at the end of the resort path is very nice and laid back with a few beach bars where you can get water, drinks and food.
Now for a review on the Similan Island tour! This is the real gem of what Poseidon Bungalows offers! Basic accommodations again, but so worth it for what you get to experience! We saw so many incredible fish, as well as turtles and eels. Esther our guide helped point out fish and sea creatures that we would have no normally seen. The captain helps scout out snorkel locations that are not crowded so you get to experience snorkeling without the hundreds of people coming to snorkel for the day. The captain's wife is a fantastic cook and we ate as much as we wanted! There were many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you are traveling as a couple book 2 separate twin beds instead of a double since the double is small.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christinebrandt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews