We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poseidon Bungalows & Similan Tours
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We went for the 3rd time on the Similan Tour, very beautiful! Snorkeling is great, food on the boat is good, guide was good, very nice time! Water temp is just right not too warm or cold, can stay in for hours and be fine

Room Tip: we stayed in the room that had A/C and it is above the kitchen so is noisy, asked for a bungalow but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moshiborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

It all started from that first email conversation, so helpful and did everything to make my trip easy. I arranged an airport transfer which is done by a registered taxi firm that they have a long term relationship with that are very polite and efficient.
I had a couple of nights in a wooden bungalow (fan) - the bungalow was fab and the view was just perfect. Expect to hear the jungle around you and the waves crashing on the shore......you book here to enjoy being part of nature not for soul-less quiet hotel rooms. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff are so friendly. I also ate next down in the nearest bay - a lovely place to sunbathe, swim, eat & drink. I did take the 20-30 mins walk to Khao Lak as needed an ATM but was so happy Poseidon was a lot quieter that main Khao Lak as thats exactly what i wanted from my trip.
The 3 day snorkel tour was what led me here and that indeed needs a review of its own. In short i was bowled over by the quality of the food on board, the expert guide Ester, the fab crew, the sights we saw on our trip, some really beautiful soul moments and i was blessed with a lovely group of people to share it with. The whales were a chance in a lifetime but i'm so glad they picked our tour to come say hello.
Its not often i feel strongly about a place that id like to return but i know for sure it won't be my last time at poseidon. Thank to all the staff for an amazing first week to my trip.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Group of 7 friends, booked 5 cabins for 5 nights. Highlight was the friendly and energetic staff who offered tips, guides, etc to nearby areas to explore, including a diving expedition, bike rentals, waterfalls and hikes. Breakfast available on-site was great to start the mornings off right.

Beach was a 20 second walk from our door: quiet, white sand, some days we would only see a dozen other people - hard to find such quiet in a tourist hot-spot like Thailand! The beaches had 3-4 locally owned Thai restaurants to eat on the beach and serve tropical drinks, and of course amazing massages :).

I would highly recommend this space for anyone looking to enjoy the tropical appeal of Thailand, and its amazing food culture and massages, without dealing with the chaos of Phuket or other tourist traps. Also plenty to see for day trips around the area. Many in our group wished we had another day or four here!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms come with fans, but otherwise expect hot or muggy nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VonFlugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Nice bungalows close from the beach. Very quiet for relaxing holidays. Close from a nice and hide beach with good restaurants. Poseidon proposes activities as diving or snorkelling in the Similan islands. Close to the nature and ecologic, rooms are comfortable but not luxury. Excellent service and good food in the restaurant

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ylescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

After a couple of nights in the Khao Sok jungle, I headed west in Khao Lak to join the Poseidon snorkeling trip in the Similan islands. I stayed in one of the wooden bungalows at Poseidon for 1 night after the snorkel trip ended. The room was small and basic but sufficient for 1 night. However, if I was going to stay for more than one night, I would probably avoid the small wooden bungalow and choose one of the bigger new rooms. There was a staircase leading to a lovely beach and a few beach restaurants where you can enjoy a meal and get a sunbed for free. The restaurant at the Poseidon Bungalows is nice with free wifi, but a bit expensive compared to the restaurants on the beach and with very slow service.

As far as the snorkel trip is concerned, it was an amazing experience and an excellent adventure. Overall, the trip is well organized, excellent food, sleeping quarters sufficient. But I really missed a proper shower at the end of the day. The Similan islands are beautiful, but it was a shock to see how many speed boats visit every day. Unfortunately it looks like very soon the Thai government will be forced to close most of the islands to prevent their destruction by the tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.9 km away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
18.5 km away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 70 in Khao Lak
895 reviews
14.2 km away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#55 of 70 in Khao Lak
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
The Briza Beach Resort Khaolak
13.6 km away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Bungalows & Similan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Bungalows & Similan Tours

Address: 1/6 Moo 2 | Lam Kaen, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Khao Lak
Price Range: $46 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run operation right on the beach in Khao Lak, here since 1988. Bungalows directly on the beach, a small private beach and Khao Lak beach, swimming pool, restaurant and bar. We also run three day live aboard Similan Tours for snorkeling. Good food, tours, long empty beaches! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poseidon Bungalows & Similan Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Bungalows Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing