We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
46
72
26
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
72
26
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelrooms were very cleanstreet foodsuperior roomwifipoolsbeachdeckchairsminibar
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Let me start by saying this is not a "high-end" resort. With that being said, we had a very good experience. The rooms were very clean, the air conditioner worked great, the restaurant had good food and the pool was very nice. Easy access to the beach. I would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gallitorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

The Methavalai hotel is beautiful. The pools were gorgeous and it is located right across from the beach and close to local restaurants. The rooms need updating. The sea breeze rattled our balcony door most of the day and night. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. The staff was nice. The food okay. It is a beautiful hotel on the outside but needs some improvements.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I was here together with my two teenagers. Superior room with extra bed is really tiny to live with three people. We have no habit to spend time in rooms, so no problem with that. But the toilet was broken, and we needed to change the room in the first day. Luckily got one from the next door, so it was not such a big deal either. But to be honest, it would really help to get things dealt out if there would be some English-speaking staff in the reception!

Overall there are a lot to fix in the hotel. Everything is a bit "rusty" and dirty. Outside showers spread the water where ever they want, paint is dropping from walls, elevator doors keep opening by themselves etc. Everywhere is something what I would fix if I'd own the place. Now the place looks to be untouched from 90's.

Breakfast was decent but not varying almost at all. Two weeks of that actually took us to have breakfast some days from nearby restaurants.

Pool had a such much chemicals in the water that we needed to get some eye drops from local pharmacists to get eyes to work again. But maybe this is good because at end of the holiday the pool cleaning system got broken and we were even not able to see the bottom of the pool! Really, the water was clearly greenish! The question about the water quality was answered "ye siir caan swiiim". Yeah, sure.

Pool chairs were already taken on early mornings. There were signs that staff would collect unused towels after 1.5h, but that never happened. The biggest problem was on Wednesdays when the beach was closed. But waking on night to reserve chairs just isn't my thing on holidays.

Staff was friendly and smiling, even joking. But of course, the slackness of English skills was a huge problem.

We didn't see any cockroaches in the hotel and that is rare in Thailand! Really nice. But we had a lot of small and fast yellow ants in the room. They seemed not to harm humans but be sure to not to forget anything eatable visible. Some light brown spiders were also in the room but did no harm to us. But those pigeons... Newer seen so many in Thailand before. They dirtied the whole balcony to unusable state, where drinking and bathing in pools, kept a quite a much noise and even dropped eggs to surroundings. Just wondering that if people with ornithophobia would come this hotel, they would probably not leave the room.

During evenings there drove bunch of busses bringing local Thai people to stay in the hotel and to have some kind of conferences etc. They had parties and they were leaving after breakfast. Nice to see local people staying in hotels too. But that also meant that the wifi got really stucked during their stay as there seemed to be too much traffic in internet then.

So, as conclusion, just fix things to match nowadays standards, learn some English and this would be nice place to stay. In this state we are not coming back.

Room Tip: Chose rooms far from the restaurant so that the night music will not bother you.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stennius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Across the beach with an amazing pool . A great hotel with friendly staff ..language is a little issue but staff happy to help . The children's pool was not very clean and very very cold. Breakfast area was a litle disorganised.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank sams5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

A beautiful hotel with lovely staff. 24 hour room service is a little dicey and lose of translation can be experienced. Food superdry even if you don't get what you orderd. Bars and afternoon cake great and pool area and our room is stunning. Room 501 is like the Penthouse with amazing view of beach and pool. Great prices for a luxury hotel xx

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Holidaystew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews