We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the noise, nice owners, great food”
Review of Xanadu 2008

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xanadu 2008
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed 4 March 2017

By the river, but away from the heavily toured areas of the river and town. It's family owned, very clean, very nice garden and a small swimming pool. The food is absolutely great. There's a nice village about 1 km up the road, with a small daily afternoon market that is worth a visit. Along the road there are plenty of tobacco and roselle (used for hibiscus tea) fields.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and nicely designed, I don't think some are better located than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanookTrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 464 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Booked for a six night stay at this beautiful place via Agoda. On arrival it was clear that the pool was empty. We were greeted by a lovely Thai lady who said " We are closed for ten days, did you book with Agoda. She had informed them of the problems, which included her husband gone away!!! Still they sent clients and unlike us, a couple stayed. It was important to us that the pool was available as we wanted to wind down for a week before returning to the UK. The lady was so sweet and also very sad about her husband, you could see she was close to tears.
We used her internet and booked elswhere, and she tried to speak with Agoda, but struggled with the answering machine. I email Agoda and am currently awaiting a reply.
We had a quick look around and the setting is wonderful, right next to the river. So if wanting to stay here, do not use Agoda, all others are acting according to her wishes, but not Agoda!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I had read some non complimentary reviews as I was checking my reservations last week before I left home.Over tge past two months the reviews for this resort became very bad indeed .I called Agoda booking to check that everything was OK and they assured me it was .This morning we arrived from Bangkok to find the gate closed and unattended ,the letterbox had been broken into ,always bad news .I opened the gate and walked into the resort towards the pool and could see it was empty .A woman called out to me that she was closed .There are people staying as there were towels hanging out on the rails .This place clearly has fallen on hard times and until it gets its act together Agoda should not have it on its website .I have paid for this appalling service and will be looking for recompense

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank geraldine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I arrived here to stay for a night only but to be honest it didn't take me long to decide for extending the stay up to 2 nights just because this place IS SO FREAKING AWESOME!!
right from the beginning the owners Nee (Thai) and Dennis (from England) treated me like a good friend, even almost like a son! ;)
Fresh welcome-papaya for free, guided visit at the local market, having some beer and a lot of nice talks with Dennis who is a real fan of nature and animals (like me ;) ), just sit at the river which touches the hotels garden... beautiful animals to see everywhere arround! and of course the bungalows are quite fantastic and very clean! free laundry service also included. and the whole best thing is Nee's incredible cooking skills! Thai Food at its best for sure!!!
Make sure u don't miss this experience!
I even wanted to stay again for a night when I came back from my trip to Thong Pha Phum national park but unfortunately they didn't have any free room left that day :(
but it was nice to meet up with Dennis again for a smoke and a beer! Cheers mates! keep going like you do! ❤✌

I would rate 10 stars if possible !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Philipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We booked a bungalow Jan 3rd until Jan 5th. We arrived from Bangkok at Xanadu around 3PM and were welcomed in very limited English (yes/no/maybe) by the 3 gardeners. They gave us a key and told us the owner wasn't there but should arrive at 5PM. Long story short: we never met the owner, we weren't welcomed, the pool was green (which made our daughter cry after a long and tiring day), ... A real shame because the bungalows and the property are beautiful.

Because the property is very remote from the city and there isn't a lot of traffic (taxi/tuktuk) passing we decided to book another hotel for our second night (so that we would be able to leave for Sukhothai the next day).

We asked for a refund (for this second day) through Agoda, but didn't get it (they told me they would try to contact the owner... good luck with that!).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lieven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
5.6 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
174 reviews
4.9 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#3 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,122 reviews
4.8 km away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Away Kanchanaburi Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
6.4 km away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#7 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
393 reviews
10.3 km away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu 2008? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu 2008

Address: 19/5, Moo 1 | Tambon Nong Bua, Kanchanaburi 71900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $50 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xanadu 2008 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family owned resort on the banks of the famed river Kwai. With a large swimming/spa pool with adjoining bar and restaurant this is the perfect place to relax or as a base to explore the stunning local scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Xanadu 2008 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu 2008 Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing