We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hidden Treasure in Kanchan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Lodge Guest House
Reviewed 24 October 2015

This quiet guesthouse is a true gem. Off the main tourist strip is this stunningly peaceful quiet place right on the river. Looking on to Kanchanaburi's famous mountains, fields and a temples, its the perfect place to relax.
Bright clean rooms ranging from 100TB to 1000TH . Single rooms fan share bath room, private bungalows fan 250TB (air-con avail), VIP rooms & Dorms (groups)
ALL ROOMS have amazing river views with the BEST SUNETS with outdoor seating to enjoy.
Super chilled atmosphere, mellow music, little bit of reggae, truly a great place to lounge around, read a book and enjoy a coffee or a beer. Big open reception area with plenty of relaxing seating areas right over the river.
5min walking to anything you need, shops, night market, local food, western food, nightlife and tourist attractions. 5min tuk tuk to the Bridge of river Kwai and market.
Cheap drinks, shakes and coffee is offered and a help yourself feel at home. The staff really do treat you like family and if you hang out during the evening you can join in on some amazing homestyle thai cooking! Kitchen use available to long stay guests too.
I really enjoyed my stay here and recommend to any traveller, especially if your on a budget and looking for a nice place to chill. This place has it all and with and exceptional view to top it off. I will defiantly be returning rainbow guesthouse!

Room Tip: best views, family vibes, chilled atmosphere, quiet, close to everything, cheap, clean, cozy, bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mcjessie589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here 3 times within the last 2 years. Now here since june 2015. First I want to say, thanks to the people here, for take care of me. I know, is not easy to come a long with the falang, all the time. But you do your best, I know.

Now to my comment, I really love this place as much as you can love a place. Its definetly the place with the best sunset in kanchanaburi, relaxing beside the River, chilled deep house or lounge musik, a nice straberry daiquiry. All over the day there is somebody to talk. thats life .

The rooms are still ok, if you remind that it is really amazing cheap.

The Single room, direktly at the river, share Toilet and bathroom, is 100 bath. But only one of that availible.

The double room is direktly at the river, share Toilet and bathroom 200 bath.

This rooms are really easy, that mean a mattress on the floor, a mirrow at the wall, a fan, a Window with a wonderfull view on the river, light, a plug. The share shower and Toilet are easy too, but still ok.

Next category is the Fan Bungalow. It is for 2 person, 250 bath. They are just fresh renewed. They got a fresh painting, some nice bamboo decoration, and a good cleaning. The Bungalow have 2 levels, on the upper level you sleep, and down there you can store your stuff, change your dress or also possible to Set up extra bed for 100 bath. and you have your privat bathroom.

The aircon Bungalow for 2 people is 450 bath. They also got a fesch painting and a intensive cleaning. You have a tv inside and the wonderfull river outside. Maximum for this bungalow is 2 Person because only 1 level.

If you want to spend a little bit more for accomondation, there are the queensrooms. For 950 bath you get a good sized room with big bathroom. Include aircon, cable tv, fridge. Some of the queensrooms have a big Window front to the riverside. beautifull and very privat view.

And at least there are the dorm rooms. They have one room for 4 people and one for five. You have to book the whole room and can share with your friends. Every dorm have a privat bathroom and shower. Very nice bamboo deko at the wall. Mirrow for the ladys, some cubords. If you book it with fan, its only 500 bath but also only cold shower. With aircon you pay 850 and get hot water too. Best view again, belive me.

The public area or lobby, got a refreshing too. They have a nice bamboo bar and offering all kind of drinks and coktails. They also think about offer food and snaks soon. You can relax to the soft house and lounge musik all over the day, while you enjoy the great view and make new friends. If you lucky you will be invited for having dinner with the people there.

The whole guest house is changing since a few month, for sure there are still some things to improof. But I see,they are working on it.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for a budget accommodation, skip this, because they take from you way more than you paid. I have 450SGD and 330USD, which I was intending to use in Laos and Cambodia after travelling up Thailand, stolen from my backpack, which is one of the bags I'm carrying, the other being a small dayback, which is always left in the room of the accommodations I stayed. If you wish to stay at this thieving place, it's safer to have all your valuables with you than leaving it in the room.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Shin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This guesthouse is easy to miss and does not standout from the crowd. Its right next to the VN which the staff appear to be very unhappy for some reason. The rooms are OK and the view of the river is right up there with the best. The reception area is a bit shabby and does not have a restaurant or bar to speak of. However.... Its really relaxed and allows visitors to use the kitchen to cook and keep things cold. Some of the guests have been there months and they must of all gravitated towards or word of mouth. Very friendly and not at all pretentious. Proper old school. One of the true originals in town. Its a shame that most travellers go to the same old places like the Blue Star or Jolly frog (as headlining in the Lonely planet) and miss out on these little gems. I love this place. The "old lady" came to our rescue when we thought we had mice in our room only to discover geekoos. We changed our roome 3 times in one night and they could'nt of been more helpful. My daughter was screamish. Sorry. Not the fault of the guesthouse.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the VN and watch sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

We spent there 2 night in January and it is a nice place. The bungalow is not big but is okay. It is situated on the river that's really nice to see the sunset in the evening and is quite, at the same time is only 5 min walks from bar and restaurant. I think that the place could be better maintened.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank stellina254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.0 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
0.0 km away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,052 reviews
0.0 km away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#14 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tamarind Guesthouse
Tamarind Guesthouse
#42 of 108 in Kanchanaburi
90 reviews
0.0 km away
Saiyok River House
Saiyok River House
#33 of 108 in Kanchanaburi
30 reviews
0.0 km away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge Guest House

Address: 48/5 , Soi Rong Heeb Aoi, Chaokhunnen Road, Tambon Ban Nuea, Muang, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $39 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Lodge Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing