We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unbelievably poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Minotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Minotel
Ranked #179 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This was our 5th trip to Patong, we booked last minute, it was high season so we decided to book at a more affordable guesthouse rather than our usual resort. We booked The Minotel based on tripadvisor reviews, but upon arrival this place had a terrible feel to it, no-one at the reception desk to greet us, no-one to assist with carrying bags and when we did open the door to our room ... it smelt, was dirty and dusty, the sheets were a shade of grey and thread bare and we certainly felt there would be little to no security even if we used the inroom safe. We set about finding another guest house with a vacancy, we could not stay at The Minotel for one night!! We were prepared to forego our deposit and moved to another apartment near Patong Tower for the same price with excellent quality, cleanliness and security.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnNiiiiEe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for your review - I am obviously concerned that you had such a bad experience - as you stated the majority of the reviews on Trip Advisor are positive and thus it does upset us at the hotel when someone has a bad perception of the hotel.

You said there was no one at reception - we are a small hotel so during the day we have one person allocated to reception and 2 - 3 people cleaning. There are times when the receptionist is away from the front desk when they are showing prospective guests our rooms, helping guests that have checked in with their bags etc but I appreciate that for a new guest just arriving for the first time an empty reception desk does not look good and we will arrange going forwards for a sign and bell to be put on the counter when the receptionist has to leave the front desk for any reason.

It is our policy to offer to assist the customer with their bags - but the majority decline the assistance - so may be some complacency has set in. We will remind the staff on this point.

With regards to cleaning - all rooms are cleaned every day with the sheets and towels changed. The floors are washed and surfaces wiped down. Rooms are subject to independent inspection during and after cleaning. The time you stayed with us we were full (as we were for nearly all of November) and the previous people checked out of your room in the morning and you arrived around 4 - 5pm. The room was fully serviced in that time. It is therefore very surprising that there would have been any accumulation of dust or dirt - I can only apologise and say that this is a very exceptional occurrence.

With regards to the sheets - this is another area that we do focus on. We regularly renew the bedding. In the last 4 months all the mattresses were renewed, this month all the pillows will be changed and for sheets and towels these are on a regular renewal cycle. Sheets are inspected before they get sent to the laundry and on return for any wear and tear. Staff are under instruction to take out of service any substandard items. I do a monthly check myself. Thus again to have "grey and threadbare sheets" is not something we would expect to hear. However as a result of your comments, we are doing another full review of the inventory of sheets to recheck the quality.

For security we have both a safe in the room and safety deposit boxes at reception. It is difficult to respond further to your feeling of there being little security.

With regards to your deposit - you paid for one nights accommodation on arrival and our records showed you stayed the night so it appears reception were not aware that you left early. If you had mentioned on seeing the room that you did not want to stay then you would have received a refund of your advance payment. As you are regular visitors to Patong please let us know when you are next visiting and you can pass by to collect a refund of your payment.

Your comments are quite a variance to those we normally get - however we do take them equally as seriously and as mentioned above we are taking action to make further improvements. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had and I hope the rest of your stay in Patong went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
11
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

was visiting a friend staying at Minotel , which is right next to my hotel - Album.
very basic hotel.
3rd floor no lift.big clean room with comp tea coffee.
Decent house keeping.
No breakfast included in the room rate.
Location is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - though it was a pity you could not stay with us to experience our service first hand.

We do very much market ourselves as a budget hotel and our business model is geared around that. This is why our room rates are significantly cheaper than the hotels around us. More than 50% cheaper than the hotel you mentioned.

As an older hotel our rooms are, as you say, larger than what would normally be expected and definitely much larger than the shoe box size of many of the recent new budget hotels that have been built.

We do put emphasis on cleaning and housekeeping and are glad you comment positively on the cleanliness of the rooms.

Whilst basic - the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We do not include breakfast as our principle is to provide the basics and let the guest decide where to spend the rest of their money. We also do not charge extra for payment by credit card unlike many budget hotels.

As you say the location is great and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed here last 5 days dec 2011

Dont expect a 5 star and you wont be disspointed, however the service is 5 star especially from taxi!(yes thats her name!)

Rooms are clean and come with tv dvd and fridge and free wifi...

Great location, 5 minutes to beach or to the nightlife. Taxi can arrange tours bikes (very cheap and reccomended) Best way to see the island is on a bike, tho be careful where you park!!

4th floor is a bit of a trek as theres no lift and no irons either. Tho laundry is very cheap inc ironing

Cheap and chearful in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikathrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to the staff to hear such positive comments.

We are definitely not a five star hotel - we very much market ourselves as a budget hotel but with great service. A significant proportion of our customers return each year.

We do put a lot of emphasis on cleanliness and thus are pleased to hear your positive remarks on that.

Whilst a budget hotel the rooms do include Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We note your comment on lack of iron and this month we will be buying irons and ironing boards so that guests can borrow this from reception as well. We appreciate such comments so we can look to continually improve.

Our front desk staff Taxie and Arm try their best to deal with all the queries and questions our guests have. I am glad Taxie looked after you well.

We also do believe that we have a great location and and I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

The minotel is a great location just off the main road and 3 blocks from the beach. The staff does not know English so it's good that we booked in advance. The rooms were good size and clean except for the bugs. We only saw bugs the first night but...who knows. Overall, it was okay for 2 nights but still overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate receiving the feedback.

As you say it is a great location. I am not sure what the definition of a block is - but I would say we are within 1 block of the beach as there are no roads to cross from our hotel until you reach the beach - it is just 3 minutes walk away. I think many visitors to Patong fail to make adequate allowance for this when selecting hotels - as with Tuk Tuk fares generally being a minimum of BHt200 it can cost at least Bht400 a day to get to and from the beach / nightlife at hotels some distance away.

You said that our staff do not know English - this is contrary to the reviews of other TA guests that remark positively on their helpfulness. Khun Taxie is the manager and works on reception in the morning and Khun Arm - who you dealt with - works in the afternoon. They both respond in English to the various emails we receive and have many years experience at working at receptions in hotels. I know there was some issue with your booking that you made via another booking website and maybe Khun Arm did not understand all the facts around that but his basic understanding of English is good.

As an older hotel our rooms are, as you say, larger than what would normally be expected and definitely much larger than the shoe box size of many of the recent new budget hotels that have been built.

We do put emphasis on cleaning and housekeeping and are glad you comment positively on the cleanliness of the rooms. You mentioned some bugs on the first day. Normally our guests do not open the windows and if they do we have mosquito screens to be pulled across. It is possible that the guests before you had the windows open. We rarely have any complaints with regards mosquitos - we would have sprayed the room if you had informed reception of the problem.

With regards the price and value that is always a judgement of each guest and what they look for. We are a budget hotel and our prices are the cheapest in that location despite having large rooms, an emphasis on cleanliness, the deluxe rooms having Flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities a large fridge so guests can buy their own provisions, free wifi (new fibre optic cable link with 10mbs service) with beach towels, umbrellas and hair dryers available for free at reception. We have many guests that stay for extended periods and many that return each year.

I am sorry that you did not find it value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

There are many average places in Phuket, especially in this price range. This place offers friendly service, daily room cleaning, nice large rooms that are well decorated, a good location- a short walk to the beach. There's a restaurant under the hotel that serves good breakfast. I stayed here late October 2011. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 km away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 km away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#65 of 308 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 km away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#57 of 308 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sabai Inn
Sabai Inn
#280 of 396 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bird Cage
The Bird Cage
#153 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 km away
The Album Hotel
The Album Hotel
#87 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Minotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minotel

Property: The Minotel
Address: 19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price range (per night): $27 - $74
Hotel Class:3 star — The Minotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minotel is a boutique guest house offering 20 comfortable and individually air conditioned guest rooms in the centre of Patong. It is just 3 minutes walk to the beach (central area of beach), 5 minutes to Bangla entertainment area and the Jungcelyon shopping and restaurant complex and just 2 minutes to the gay Paradise entertainment area with its nightly cabaret shows.It has a street side restaurant and travel desk at the front of the hotel.It has very friendly staff that puts this hotel in the enviable position of having many repeat customers and long term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Minotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minotel Hotel Patong
The Minotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing