We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but a little too far out for us...beach is rubbish!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #21 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel but a little too far out for us...beach is rubbish!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September 2011 after scoring a good package deal through our travel agent. It's at the far south end of Patong and about directly opposite Tri Tra (not Tri Trang as something due to the resort of the same name), beach.

The location was not so much of a problem as we always hire mopeds on our Thailand visits, but costs could soon add up if you were to commute on a regular basis via taxi or Tuk Tuk. They do offer a local bus shuttle service but it runs too infrequently to be of any real use when you decide on a spur-of-the moment trip into Patong or elsewhere.

The hotel is large and sprawling and has a great couple of swimming pools. Rooms were adequate and clean, so no complaints there.

Several restaurants on offer with above average prices and I would imagine many would get trapped eating there instead of heading into Patong where food can be much cheaper. The food was okay but I've had better for cheaper elsewhere. Staff were fine on the whole and breakfast was good.

Small fitness centre for a quick workout if you're that way inclined, a library with internet, (not free), access, a few shops that were of no real interest to us and as always, plenty of drinks to be had.

Regarding the beach...it's total rubbish and would be impossible to swim at. Looks great in travel brochures and in professional photos when the tide is in but it is completely covered with sharp rocks and coral. So forget about it. Walk across the road to Tri Tra beach and have a swim there. It's a fair improvement.

I have no complaints but I wasn't all that impressed either.

Due to the location, I would not stay again and I imagine that this place could be very, very noisy in high-season, however, there are rooms far enough away from the patrons if you can get one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebollocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    656
    256
    90
    50
See reviews for
750
814
40
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We only stayed here 2 nights as part of our 10th wedding anniversay trip, so can only comment partially about the resort. Our room was lovely and big (deluxe with king size), bathroom large, but cleaners need to pay more attention to shower alcove. the air con was a little bit loud at night even at the lowest setting. Apart from that breakfast was good. Lots of choices from toast, croissants,cereal and egg station. It had three massive swimming pools. One was a family/kid area, which I thought was a great idea. The water was soo warm while we were there, but obviously due to the weather. The beach right out front of resort looked nice, but you couldn't really swim there as it is very rocky when the tide goes out. Great for kids for rock exploring. Two massage spots either side - didn't try them - but they were cheaper than back in Phuket. Only had dinner once at the resort, in their italian restaurant and we were very happy with the meal. This was probably one of the biggest resorts we have every stayed in, and it wasn't too bad. I think however we still prefer the smaller resorts. Phuket was a definite eye-opener. it leaves Bangkok for dead. not a place for small children at night! lots of shopping, lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korolevu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have just come back from a 14 night stay and totally loved every part of our trip! Merlin beach is a very beautiful friendly resort that has 3 of the most amazing pools i have seen. Having 2 kids aged 6 and 3 the merlin was defanatly a great choice. Our room was clean and inviting with a fantasic veiw of the pool and beach. Although the beach out the front of the resort was not a great place to swim we found Tri Trang beach just a short walk past the taxi rank out the front of the resort was amazing. We also ate a lot at this beach as the two resturants to the left of the beach- wind surfer and leky bar had awesome food with amazing choice and cost a lot less than in the resort. Another must eat is in town @ sams steak house this was the most delicious meal i have ever had.
Not all staff speak great english but will try to help as best as they can or they will find someone who can help.
We will be back!! :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Missrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The guides from Star tour have been fantastic, housekeeping brilliant, good snorkeling beach right outside the hotel ( not suitable for bathing!), Taxi service has been good, and it's not far from snorkeling/bathing superbeach Freedom beach.
it's a calm and quiet relaxing hotel wich is great when you have things to do in the morning and/or kids asleep.
BUT, theres always a but, the food is expensive at the hotel compared to Thai prizes, the massage was very expensive (1700 bath for 1 hour of oil massage, and on the beach a few minutes walk from the hotel it's 400 bath, and they were more experienced, giving a better massage experience lying on a bench on the beach with real ocean sounds and birds, etc) the wireless internet was expensive and unreliable, for example we paid for a 24hour pass and used it for 20minutes, went out for a few hours and when we got back we didn't get any connection until hours after the 24hours had passed, and because the staff isn't good in english I spendt about 30 minutes to get the money refunded for said pass.

24 hour room service, wich is a good thing, then again if you ever consider buying a Cesar salad, don't....... It was ridiculus, a few crutons, a small handfull of crispy flavourless bacon, a bunch of iceberg salad and a horrible dressing, I was pretty dissappointed to be honest. The other resturants on the hotel are also very expensive, too expensive compared to the quality of the food.
They have buffèt night with a different theme every night, we went for Thai, and oriental, it's good food, but not much variation, also alot of insects(ants, flies, etc) crawling around the food trays. They also have a live band wich is in my opinion, horrible.

Overall we did enjoy our stay here but the things we didn't like really damaged our rating of the hotel, and we do not feel that it's fair to call this a 5star hotel compared to other hotels with 5star hotels in other countries for example Bulgaria.

I have to say that my girlfriends 6year old daughter really liked it here!

Hope this review is of any help to the reader

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Loved the resort. The rooms had everything we needed and the swim up bar was awesome. Could have spent all day every day in the pool. Was slightly expensive to eat at the restaurants at the resort, only ended up eating there twice. The first night at La Gondala (italian) which was rather average and the next time at Chang Thai, which was awesome thai food. Most nights we would catch the shuttle into Patong to eat due to eat been cheaper and often nicer. Although the resort has shuttles they are few and far between. If you want to go in for the evening you had to leave the resort at 5pm and couldn't get back till 10pm, very long time. A $10AU taxi ride into patong soon adds an extra $20 onto your cheaper dinner in town. The resort uses the fact that it is far out of town to its advantage charging a little too much for meals and room service. Definitely recommend this resort if you plan to spend your whole holiday just relaxing at the resort. Used the spa on our last day there and it was superb, not as cheap as the beach massage ladies but definitely worth it. Also was not too impressed when our honeymoon fruit basket was removed still full of fruit

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj1984cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,659 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): $124 - $506
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing