We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,934)
Filter reviews
1,934 results
Traveller rating
679
770
311
96
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
770
311
96
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road sunset bar a superior pool view room the hard rock cafe otop markets pools are great reception staff beach side interconnecting rooms buffet breakfast pool access bangla road egg station ground floor pool towels happy hour travel agent
Filter
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 1,934 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016

The Patong Merlin Hotel's welcome was very warm and accompanied by a lovely cool cocktail to quench our thirst.

My room was very basic and a little on the small side, but I was there to be outside so it really didn't matter. It was very clean and kept that way the entire stay. The price was very economical as well.

I was on the ground floor which was perfect. No waiting for the elevator (floor 12 or higher in Bangkok the week before). I will ask for ground floor rooms if staying here again.

The rooms private balcony looked out over the first of four pools, all divided by landscaping and cabana type buildings. Each pool was attended by waiters to take food and drink orders. One of the pools had a central swim-up bar. Food was very well priced and quite yummy.

Breakfast was a huge banquet with everything from bacon and eggs (cooked just the way you like them) to loads of fresh fruit and yoghurt. Tea and coffee were topped up regularly and the array of fresh juices was beautiful.

Position in the town was great. Out the back entrance was the beach and lots and lots of small shops and eateries. A short walk down the beach brought us to Bangla Road with all the nightlife. Warning: Do be careful with the price of drinks here. Some of these bars charged 900 Baht for a Chang Beer - usually 30 to 50 Baht. Always ask to see the price list.

From the front entrance we walked across the street into a wide selection of market type shops and small free-standing bars. These were full of friendly staff who loved to chat and ask about where we came from. There was also the Hard Rock Cafe right next to our Hotel although we never heard the music from our rooms.

The hotel itself has 3 different themed restaurants, and each of these had nightly entertainment.

The best thing about my whole stay was the easy going friendly staff. Nothing was too hard for them and everything was done with a smile.

I would definitely stay here again when next on Phuket Island. I was so comfortable with the area and the accommodation that I would even travel here alone.

Room tip: I loved staying on the ground floor. No waiting for elevators.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank MacElle_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am really pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the 4 swimming pools and the services provided around the pool areas.

Your further comments on the room, the convenient location breakfast and staff are very well received with thanks.

We hope you will visit Phuket and stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

It was our first time to Phuket - and stayed at the Patong Merlin Hotel. Loved it, it was central, so when you walked out you, you were close to the beach and shops. Loved the location. The beds were a little too hard and wifi during the day was difficult to get a connection. My 5 yr old loved the pool, we also used the small gym a few times, which was good. The spa/massage at the hotel was lovely, but you could also go down the road to the many other places for a massage, for a lot less in cost. Food at breakfast time was great, loved the egg station, where you could get your eggs done any how. All staff were great and attentive, cleaners were lovely. A great hotel and would definitely go back.

Room tip: If you find bed too hard, ask for a mattress topper, highly recommend.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed your stay, the hotel facilities and the convenient location of the resort.

Your further comments on the breakfast and staff are well received with thanks.

We hope you will have a chance to travel and stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Pool areas are very good with easy access from hotel to Patong beach in a matter of minutes and my 7 year old thoroughly enjoyed this. Rooms are clean and comfortable though not as spacious as other hotels we've stayed in while in Thailand but certainly reasonable sized. There is a nice ambience around the hotel. Staff generally are helpful and friendly and this especially so for the breakfast staff. Breakfast had a good selection of foods to choose from. Hotel is located next to Hard Rock Cafe but also in easy walking distance of all that Patong has to offer and so it's location was another reason for choosing the hotel. Only aspect they should improve is the wifi as we travel to lots of countries around the world and have found the wifi at the hotel the poorest in terms of speed, access and reliability which is such a shame given all the other very good features the hotel. We regularly went to local bars and restaurants to use their free wifi access and it would have been far more useful if we had been able to do this at the hotel. We stayed during the New Years' Eve event which was very well organised, plenty of range and choice of food at the buffet with a good mix of live entertainment on the stage and as with any event at hotel of this size the cost of drinks was higher than in local bar and restaurant venues. Overall we enjoyed our stay and wifi would be the only aspect that needs improving for the standard of hotel.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 775Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the convenient location of the resort.

Your further comments regarding the helpful and friendly staff and the New Year Eve event arrangements are very well received.

However we are sorry to read that the Wifi signal didn't not meet with you
satisfaction. I will look into this with the department concerned.

We hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We have been to Phuket more times than I can remember and thought we would book something more central. My husband had reservations as to whether this was a good idea as it is right in the middle of Patong, but when we got there, he quickly ate his words and loved it. We asked the manager Chananya via email a few weeks before we were due to arrive if we could upgrade to a pool access room despite it being over the Christmas and New Year and did try previously but they were all booked but the Manager done everything possible to help. We receive confirmation that we had been upgraded a week or so before departure and this added to the excitement of going o the Patong Merlin. We found the staff very helpful, friendly and worked so hard to make our stay enjoyable including the hard work put in to the New Year Gala. This was worked on for days and they done a really good job. The pools were clean and rooms exceptionally clean. Love this Hotel and already booked for next year. Thank you for making our holiday so very special and to Chananya for adding that final touch of a pool access room.

Room tip: book a pool access room. Rooms 7103, 7104 and 7105 catch the sun. Rooms 7101 and 7102 catch the sun but are close to the pool bar
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am really pleased to know that you have enjoyed our pool access room and the convenient location of the resort.

Your further comments regards the Christmas and New Year Gala dinner arrangement
and the friendliness, helpful staff are very well received.

We all look forward to seeing you again next year!

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Firstly have to say comparing the room rate to other hotels we considered we got a very good rate. This controlled our expectations and didn't expect everything to be perfect. Anyway mostly it was good. Staff were reasonably useful, room was decent and always clean. Highlight of the resort is the swimming pools area, which is really fantastic.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the hotel, the swimming pool and its facilities.

We hope you will have the chance to visit us again soon.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews