We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rock Ledge Motel(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riveredge Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonnie Castle Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ship Motel(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capt. Thomson's Resort(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capt.'s Inn & Suites(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otter Creek Inn(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hills Motor Court(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Swan Bay Resort & Marina(Alexandria Bay)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
106
58
40
16
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
58
40
16
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverseafood buffetboldt castlemoose lodgebeautiful viewoutdoor poolwedgewoodoscarsbay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Upon arrival the exterior of “Big Moose Lodge” building appeared quite rustic. However, I was quite pleased to see the interior of the room had been recently decorated with a softened rustic décor. Everything worked properly in the bathroom. In addition to the sink in the bathroom, there was another sink/vanity immediately outside the bathroom.The view from our window and veranda was terrific--Alexandria Bay and in the distance, Boldt Castle. Even the food was more than satisfactory, we ate at the hotel every morning and almost each evening. Service was excellent. The front desk was very friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is about ¾ of a mile from the center of the village. If walking to the village, the security guard will take guests part way in his golf cart to the end of the property to save some leg work. The village shops had some interesting/crafty items.The resort has a nice size outdoor pool but the weather didn’t cooperate. The extensive grounds have a mini boardwalk along the River/Bay.

Room Tip: Try Big Moose Lodge 200 level or check out the other buildings
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Shrimp, crab legs, haddock, and more are so wonderful. The buffet is $30.00+ but includes all you can eat, dessert bar, salad bar. They were gracious enough to prepare an off menu item for one of the kids.
Large picture windows face the St. Lawrence River and provide spectacular views. Food and service was above average; will be back!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

My initial review would be that it needs a face lift. And I think the Edgewood thinks so too, because they are in the process of face lifting the resort. But after staying there a few days, face lift or not, it's a great place to stay. Overlooking the beautiful St. Lawrence River will brighten anyone's day. The restaurant served delicious meals. Above and beyond all of that are the people that work there. The wait staff couldn't do enough for you. Grandma in the dining room, made us all feel like she was our grandma, warm and welcoming. The food was delicious. I was on a bus trip and she even packed a box of homemade delicious cookies for the entire group for our ride home. Her grandson drove a few of us into town one evening and came back to pick us up. One in our group needed the escort of a golf cart to get around the resort, and
Todd was there with no hesitation to help out with a ride. Not only were they there to make our stay the most pleasant it could be, they do so with ease and their charm added to the beauty of our stay there. I'm giving he Edgewood Resort an Excellent rating in anticipation of the face lift because of the most pleasant stay I had there!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanieo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We have been coming to the River for years and have always stayed at the Edgewood Resort. We are treated like family. The views are the best in the whole River. It is usually quiet and serene. Near to the Village of Alex Bay, the Resort sits on its own peninsula and therefore is much quieter. The Edgewood had successfully blended the history of the Edgewood and The River with upgraded quality and amenities of staying at a fine establishment. If you are looking to experience The River, this is a great place. There are lovely herons and ospreys and other small wildlife to photograph. The sunsets are extremely beautiful and you have tons of access to the River either by boat or by walking. The rooms offer wonderful views and private balconies.

After a long day on the water, it is wonderful to unwind at Oscars. The food is plentiful and the buffets are fabulous. The staff are so personable and friendly and we have enjoyed many wonderful meals and conversations. Anna and Janine make sure your food is perfect. I like that the family who owns the place eat in the restaurant.

Everyone looks to make sure you are having a good time and meeting your needs. If something happens, they jump to make things right.

We love that the Edgewood has kept its authentic River feeling though the years. The warmth and contentment of being on the River is reflected in the beauty and graciousness of the Edgewood and the people who work there.

Room Tip: There are a variety of types of rooms so ask for what you need.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbartell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

My recent experience and stay at the Edgewood Resort, attending an event in the banquet room and overnight accommodations, was outstanding! From the moment we were greeted in the lobby to the time we checked out, and everything in between was perfect. The banquet room was decorated beautifully, the food and service were top notch and our room accommodations were clean and comfortable. The view of the river off our balcony was picturesque. Couldn't have asked for more and certainly exceeded my expectations! I had the pleasure of making my reservation with Janine and meeting her during our stay.

Room Tip: Water view room in the 500 building was perfect!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kspado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews