We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,108)
Filter reviews
3,109 results
Traveller rating
1,838
816
282
112
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,838
816
282
112
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team sea view pool bar bar staff great holiday our waiter lunch and dinner thomas cook fussy eater fantastic hotel salad the hotel shop turkish bath plenty of choice evening entertainment large balcony worked very hard
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 3,109 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Spent two weeks recharging our batteries. Although the hotel looked a little tired in some areas it was cleaned to a high standard. The entertainment team were brilliant encouraging people to take part in activities if they wanted to. No pressure. Food in the restaurant was varied with enough choice for us. Azzouzi our waiter was excellent often having our table ready with drinks for each meal. Rooms were cleaned to a very high standard and were comfortable. Well done. Hope to return soon.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hinds525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience.

Finally, we thank you once again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed 18/7 till 25/7
The good
Security, felt safe, beautiful beach, only rubbish was the global plastic i.e. Straws, cups etc as you walked along but only bits. Nice pool with lovely grass area, lovely clear sea. Plenty of beds at pool/beach no need to get up at silly o clock. Restaurant staff great, friendly and helpful. Food so much choice of good quality food. Quick response to any room maintenance issues. Staff hard working. Animation team enthusiastic with boundless energy, had no issues if you said no. Quick transfer. Immaculate grounds. Relaxing. Clean. New bar/lounge furniture, large A/C room to relax.

The poor
Old dated rooms with rusty bathrooms and ripped chairs ( the four rms we had)
Found main bar staff unfriendly AND uninterested unless you tip. On two occasions at 12 they actually turned off the lights while we were playing cards and left us in the dark. Henna man annoying. Red wine and beer ok but white & Rose was awful. Could do with new beach umbrellas in the future.
So now my honest review. Quick flight quick transfer. Airport smooth. Booked six months previously asked for adjoining rooms and had read with interest about lovely rooms/views. Checked in by Mouldi, wasn't busy, three others, took passports gave us our AI bands & asked us to sit in red chairs & wait ?? Half hour later asked him if our rms ready oh yes(but didn't tell us just left us) no drink offered like had read. Is it a nice rm, yes a garden room he said(see picture) across the roof/ a/c units no sight of a gdn. Are they close to each other, yes ( 20 rms away) mouldi was totally uninterested in us. Given rm 3058 & 3078 rusty baths, ripped chairs and toilet not working. Our lovely porter rang down to change our rms next day. Only towels for 2 in each despite 3 in each rm. Rooms big and clean but so old. Nothing like other iberostars at all. To cut long story had to really push to get new rooms. Given 1032/33 adjoining rms ground floor with garden view by the archery. Happier but old ripped chairs/dated room but spotless clean. Tip upgrade rooms for hopefully better ones.
Relaxing week by pool and beach, lovely weather and food, mostly great staff. Thanks to Jwadi our waiter Salim at breakfast Choker at pool restaurant.
All food was hot and tasty lots of local food, yum do try. Wonderful desserts fresh pastries cooked there. Plenty of fruit. Great breakfast. Enjoyed food.
To be fair we had a decent week of relaxing in the sun with plenty of nice food. Excellent price. No major issues. Just didn't like the dated rooms.
Would we go again, probably not as so many hotels to discover and quiet in evening. Would we recommend, don't see why not, good price good food. With some improvements this could be an excellent hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018


Dear Susan,

We would like to thank you for sending us your very helpful review of your recent holiday. We sincerely regret that you were unhappy with the first room that we accommodated you in, however, we are delighted that our lovely team could assist you in finding one that you preferred. We do realise that our rooms are not new, therefore we do our utmost to pamper them and keep them in good condition to enable our guests to have a comfortable and happy holiday. We apologise for any inconvenience.

On the other hand, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the beach and pool area, our cuisine, the cleanliness of our establishment, our entertainment programme and staff and of course our entire team of kind and friendly professionals, we will relay your kind words to them and thank you on their behalf. Finally, we would like to say that your comments are invaluable in helping us create the ideal holiday experience and we really hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future at one of our establishments.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This was our first trip to Tunisia but we wouldn’t return. Buffet was nice but the same food would be offered each night without much variation. The waiter Abselbaset was excellent. Some of the entertainment team were rather informal and pushy- no means no. Nedo however was wonderful and made us feel comfortable and got us involved. Activities everyday were the same which meant things could be a bit boring and night time entertainment was the same every night and finished early as well as the bar which had no atmosphere. The hotel greatly needs a teenage room where people can meet and relax instead of having to play air hockey or table football in an outdoor corridor. Spa was cheap and lovely worth every penny. Cleaning staff were excellent and went above and beyond to make our room look inviting and welcoming everyday.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rpaamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Although we are very surprised to read your comments relating to your recent holiday at Iberostar, we do thank you for having chosen our hotel for your holiday. Gastronomy is one of the most important aspects at Iberostar and we are characterized around the world for our high-quality cuisine, therefore we regret reading that you found it repetitive, at our buffet restaurant we repeat certain foods daily, for example, pizzas and salads, however, our other dishes are rotated regularly, we are sorry that you did not receive this impression and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We will investigate the areas of concern that you mention in your review as it is through constant dialogue with our guests that we can improve and maintain our standards.

Nevertheless, we are so pleased to read your compliments regarding our spa and our amazing staff who work so hard every day to ensure our guests comfort and well-being during their holiday. It would be an honour to serve you again in the future at one of our establishments and until then we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This was a much awaited return to this hotel following a gap of four years. We knew what to expect and were not disappointed We were delighted to find that many of the staff were still at Averroes. We were greeted on arrival on our first evening by the beaming happy face of Jamel, running into reception as we booked in. The friendly and helpful staff are still the greatest asset of this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was excellent and Latifah provided a brilliant service throughout our stay. My only negative comment relates to the bath/showers, they are showing their age and could do with a refurbishment.

Food: there was a wide choice, freshly produced and good quality. I would recommend the Brek and Ouja Tunisian savoury dishes. Desserts were many and varied.

Animation team were friendly and encouraging with the daily activities, we didn't feel harassed if we said no to anyone. Thanks to Chochita for being a great French boule teammate.

A special thank you to Rached for sorting us a quiet room with a sea view.

Many thanks to Jamel, Mohammed, Touafik, Mounier, Hamza and Rydah for the your friendship. Looking forward to seeing you as soon as we can get back

Tip: Learn a little Arabic, it really makes a difference to the staff

Steve and Sarah

Room tip: Top floor seaview tend to be quiter
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Stephen,

It is always fabulous for us to receive such wonderful reviews like yours. We appreciate the time and effort taken to share this opinion of your holiday at our hotel. We have treated your description of our services and facilities as a triumph and your comments confirm that we are still on the right track with our numerous efforts and attention to detail.
We, therefore want to express our gratitude again for your excellent review and will be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels in the near future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Just finished a week stay we found the hotel staff to be very friendly especially ridah and Mohammad (waiters). The animation team did an excellent job of providing a variety of entertainment throughout the day and night without being pushy as read in recent reviews. The hotel also provided a white party which is definitely worth attending. Food was lovely and a good variety which should suit everybody however towards the end of the week we began to find it very repetitive. There is a barbecue area which is located behind the outside stage which is not in view when sitting in pool area but worth a visit. A good selection of water sports on the beach some of which are free e.g. windsurfing, kayaking and peddleoes. We enjoyed jetskiing and paragliding as well which are reasonably priced at £20 for 15/20 minutes (its worth a haggle). A big shout out to Steve a valued member of staff who made the water aerobics and archery really enjoyable.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jessicaashley1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Jessica,

It has been really good to read that you had such a great time in our hospitality and we want to thank you for sharing your experience. Confirmation that we were able to provide you with such a wonderful holiday experience is extremely satisfying and we promise to continue working hard to achieve this every day. We try to think about everything to provide our guests with a perfect experience.
Once more, we thank you for writing and sharing this wonderful review of our hotel and we hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews