We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveller rating
708
501
241
168
176
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
501
241
168
176
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar animation team pizza great holiday bar staff chicken bottle of water water sports work hard evening entertainment turkey visited this hotel meal times main bar disco tunisia tip
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We visited the Dessole Abou Sofiane Hotel at the start of June for 10 days all inclusive. We were initally a bit cautious as to what to expect, especially as the holiday was so cheap. However, our fears were not realised and we had a fantastic holiday. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially when you tip them a couple of dinars every now and again. Food was excellent - plenty of choice and variety, and exchanged regularly throughout the service so it is always hot and fresh. The waiter always had our drinks ready on the table when we arrived and was always on hand if we needed anything. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, the rooms are serviced every day. The rooms could do with some decent air conditioning - even in June when Tunisia isn't at it's hottest, it can be very difficult to sleep at night due to the temperature of the rooms. The pool and beach areas are priivate to the hotel and always well kept - we did have an hour long full body massage on the beach, which comes highly recommended. We also went paragliding on the last morning - very cool to see the resort from the air. The Thompson Reps are generally on hand most days for a chat or to book any tours you want to go on - we did the Zulu evening, camel riding and 3 Cities Tour. The Zulu Evening was average - very touristy, limited average food and cranky staff. The camel riding was great fun and reasonably priced, and the 3 Cities Tour was excellent, giving you the chance to get out and see some of the wider Tunisia. Back to the hotel - it is a short walk either along the beach or along the road to the Port, which is lovely and has a good range of places to eat/drink - you will get approached to go into the restaurants/souvenir shops but if you're not interested just keep walking and say no thank you.

Having been back from our holiday for around 10 days, we were saddened to hear of the terrorist attack a few hotels down the beach. We feel for all the locals who have been so negatively affected by this incident - at no point when we were out there did we feel unsafe or under threat, so we hope that in the near future things will get back to normal and the local people can get back to doing what they do so well!!

Wouldn't hesitate to return and hope we get the opportunity at some point in the future

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoffeeAddict107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Wouldn't hesitate to go there again. I was due to go again on 27th. June and 11th. October but sadly they were both cancelled.
All the staff were brilliant except maybe the guys on the beach who tend to expect payment for just doing what they're paid for. Also they start to clear the beds away just after 4pm?! Pool towels could be changed every day
Food was good and I loved the breakfast as I love omelettes. Plenty of fresh fruit.
Staff on reception where very helpful and polite.
Rooms were spotless and I was on the top floor overlooking the gardens and found it nice and quiet. Sounds trivial but my only complaint was the shower as it had a clingy curtain instead of a screen.
Barmen were very prompt and efficient as were the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suerogers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

We arrived on the 24th June till 8th July. The hotel was very nice the garden outside as-well which was kept really nice. The staff were amazing here even the security and the cleaners who always side hello and spoke to you. in restaurant the woman who was on breakfast and their was another man on a night time really looked after us , didn't catch there names but they worked on the left side of the restaurant. the food was nice especially the desserts, but I think there could of been a little bit to choose from for breakfast.
The entertainment team were really good they all were lovely people and a good laugh,there was a lot to do through out the day such as volleyball,archery,waterpollo ect. on a night time the entertainment was good they all got us involved dancing and karaoke.
The water sports on the beach was good i think the ones down the left side you get a bit longer on .
The shops were good they are 10-15 minute walk that's where the boat rides are as-well, the people who are selling boat ride and the people in the shops are nice but they are a nightmare. If going on any trips the people give you stuff when you think it is part of the deal but they end up asking for money for it.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 211davidh247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milda B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Abou Sofiane, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at DESSOLE ABOU SOFIANE. . It is always rewarding to read that our guests have enjoyed their holidays among us. We are very pleased to read that our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.
Once again, thank you for your visit and your review. We will be waiting for your next holidays at DESSOLE ABOU SOFIANE!

Best regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We arrived late on the 29th May and had a brilliant stay for a week. From the off staff were friendly and really wanted to may your holiday enjoyable, The rooms were clean and our maid was fantastic. The food was plentiful and hot and the menu changed daily. My BBQ man looked after us every night with fresh cooked food, and our lovely waitress was always smiling. Your desserts were to die for, yum!.
The beach was clean and the life guard were helpful and looked after us. As for the entertainment gang, each and everyone of them worked exceptionally hard to make our stay fun and were fantastic, you deserve recognition from your company.

I would not hesitate in going back and i am so very sad that these lovely, wonderful hard working people are going through a hard time caused by terrorists. I wish you well, Keep safe guys and us Brits will return to your lovely country, We promise.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyTracie-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milda B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Abou Sofiane, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing DESSOLE ABOU SOFIANE hotel for your holidays and for sharing your feedback on your stay.
Moreover it is wonderful to read that your felt well looked after during your stay and we thank you for pointing out the buffet, the cleanliness of our hotel.
It will be an honor for us to welcome you and your family again at DESSOLE ABOU SOFIANE and offer you another wonderful holidays among us!

Sincerely yours,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I went with some ladies on a hen week to this hotel in Tunisia. It was alas at the same time as the horrific shootings which ocurred quite close. We were all shocked and stunned at the loss of life and the manner in which it happened. Having said this the staff inside the hotel and Animation group were quite amazing and carried on their jobs in the highest of professionalism. At no time were we aware of what was going on in their search with helicopters etc. You may not believe me but at no time were we in any danger and felt like we were in a bubble of safety. I would go back again in a heartbeat and feel safe

Room Tip: as far as I am aware any of the rooms are really good with air conditioning a must
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milda B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Abou Sofiane, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Dear Mary,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing DESSOLE ABOU SOFIANE hotel for your holidays and for sharing your feedback on your stay.
Moreover, we thank you for your praising comments on our staff; their professionalism and authentic kindness are one of our main strengths.
Thank you again for your visit and your supportive review.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews