We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 7 May 2012

just spent 18 nights at this great hotel. don,t know what all the fuss is about with these people who moan. the food was lovely with plenty to choose from and as for the al-fresco. can the hotel control the weather?? no!!!!!. it was only a bit blowy and only lasted for a couple of days. the staff were fantastic and what is wrong with giving tips!!! a dinar is only worth 40 pence and means the world to them. they work blooming hard and are nowhere near as lucky as we are to take holidays!!!i have a mobility scooter and they could,nt do enough for me. the rooms are very spacious and the new building has special rooms for the disabled.everywhere was spotlessley clean. we would

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blake2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,055 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Bad Bits, The telly reception is awful. There was no tea coffee facilities in the room. There was not a common garden english tea in the dining room, ( We purchased some Lyptons yellow label from one of the supermarkets just up from the hotel.) I had a very dry tuna steak one evening.

The Good Bits. The food was awesome, so much choice and well cooked, I cannot believe that anybody can complain about the food. on a typical night going along the buffet they had a rice dish with either pork, turkey or chicken in a sauce cometimes all 3. next would be a variety of vegies and 3 types of potatoe including chips. next would be more vegies then 3 fish dishes, next was a cooking station doing fresh pasta dishes while you wait, then there was a roast meat carvery that changed daily. Coming back down the other side was the soup kitchen, then there would be a speciality dish such as Paella or Tunisian cus cus etc I had excellent liver and onions one night. Then the salad bar with cold meats eggs cheese and all the greenery and sauces. and as I said all perfectly cooked warm and well presented.

They were so concerned that they got it right that while we were there the chef and manager came round twice to every table asking for opinions and we also had a questionaire to fill in.

On our last day they moved the luch facillities al fresco which I can see could cause problems keeping food and the diners warm.

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, Though the waiters in the bar tried to take too many orders at once and often got it wrong. The rooms were large and kept spotlessly clean. The pool was cold but there were plenty of sun beds.

The animation team worked hard but were not in your face all the time and they did well to entertain us in the evening. The Beauty contest evening has to be seen They had me in stitches, tears were rolling down my face.

We did some very interesting trips but if you do the zoo and Zulu dancing make sure you take your Mozzie spray. Nobody warned us and as soon as we got off the coach we were covered, luckily there was a lady with a big bottle of cream that she shared.
The reps night is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dennis-Eastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

What to say, well exceeded all expectations food was superb and given how fussy my partner is there was more than enough to choose from and no need to eat the same thing twice. Staff were so unbelievably friendly and lovely, rude hoganbear? If you consider the staff rude you must have been dreaming! Easily worthy of 5stars! Would happily go back without a second of hesitation and given the comments of those staying at the sane time it's a no brainer! Oh and the pool was lovely. If you want a really warm pool use the indoor one or have a bath.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prior-Sankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was our third time to Tunisia and was by far the best hotel we have stayed in.All staff there very friendly always smiling and ready to help you.A varied menu so I don't understand why some guests have the need to complain!! if they require pie&chips stay at home or go to Spain and find a British cafe/bar.Cleanliness in all parts of Hotel 1st class,mini bar replenished as soon as we asked for it,states clearly on arrival>>> go to reception before 12 noon to have the drinks replaced.Would we go there again!! most certainly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VALERIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have visited the Imprial Maharba over 10 times in the past 4 years, but in April it was unfortunatly for the last time. most efforts in cost cutting seem to be aimed at the dining exsperience, the quality and range of food has deteriorated, a la cart dining has also been curtailed to a point of near none existance, worst of all from he 28th of April lunch dining was moved out of the hotel to al fresco near the beach , for the second week of our holiday we had to dine in coats on or with towels wrapped around us to try and keep warm, needless to say by the time you got to your table lunch was stone cold and ineatable

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papertech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
7.9 km away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.4 km away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,607 reviews
2.1 km away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,596 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#6 of 36 in Sousse
2,343 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Kantaoui Bay
Hotel Kantaoui Bay
#21 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay

Address: Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Riu Imperial Marhaba)
Phone Number:
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $103 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing