We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Tunisia wit my parents for two weeks. Arrival was very quick (so it should at half four in the morning lol) and we got given two rooms next to each other. The rooms were huge! And they had everything we needed. In the morning we went down to breakfast, there was so much choice I'm not sure how anyone could complain! The welcome meeting felt like it dragged a little, but I think that was something to do with only having a couple of hours sleep. We got round the pool by about 11ish, stood there for two minutes an the pool man gave us three sun loungers. Lunch is surved at the pool bar and yet again, the choice was unbelievable! Drinks are surved at a self-service table, which we thought was a brilliant idea! No ques, and a lot quicker than having to wait at a bar! At around half four/five each day we sat jus outside tr lobby bar to have a drink. The waiters were excellent at getting you drinks an the longest we waited was a couple of minutes and that was because they were clearing glasses away. Dinner at night is in two servings, we choose the half eight serving. There was a mix of every taste you could imagine and each night you kept the same table, so the waiters would know what you were drinking an have them on the table ready for you. Each morning we had no problems at all getting sun beds, we even got the same spot each day and this was about 10 o'clock each day. Overall, this might not be a 5 star hotel in the UK, but in Tunisia it most definatly is. We really enjoyed our holiday and would definatly think about going again! The only down point is that the pool could do with being abit bigger, when the entertainment team are playing game in the pool, it does get a little crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peteh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 950 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have never been to Tunisia before but have previously stayed twice in a Riu hotel in Spain which swayed our decision towards this hotel, and we were not disappointed.

We were here 1 week from the 30th July until 6th August, AI the 6 of us: hubby and 16 year old boy plus brother in law, wife and 16 year old nephew. Everything went well, yes, tip is expected from everyone for everything...

Everything has already been said about the hotel, gorgeous marbles, etc., pool is indeed small, at least in peak season, wonderful beach with clear blue water - be careful with jellyfish, they almost can't be seen, as they are so small...my brother in law has been stung by jellyfish and the staff from the beach restaurant immediately gave us tomato slices... Tip the beach man and he will find you a good place on the beach, (by the way, friday is his day off, we tipped the grey dressed beach security guard), the wages are poor, they rely heavily on the tips they get from the tourists, tips make their days...

The staff and the manager are excellent and cannot do enough for you, they are extremely polite and friendly.

The buffet is good, a good selection even for fussy ones...

At breakfast you can find real good fresh made juices (I'm telling this because when we were at Port El Kantaoui, we have spoken with some other portuguese people that have stayed at the El Mouradi's and when talking about each others holidays, they told us that they were also AI but had to buy on the nearby supermarket their own bottles of water; they didn't have water, you can imagine when we told them that we had fresh made juices for breakfast!!!).

Tried the A la -Carte restaurant, the Tunisian one, which was a bit disappointing in the meal especially not being given a choice on what we could have to eat or drink.

The night time entertainment is in fact non-existant but then if you want that kind of action then maybe you should go to the hotel next door, Riu Belleview, which we did a couple of times, you can have a drink and enjoy the shows.

There's a shop inside Riu Imperial but you will find some more in Riu Belleview (fake clothes & trainers, watches, jewelery, etc).

I am a gym fan, went to the gym a couple of times, no air con but some bikes and treadmills will do.

We were glad we went to Tunisia but wouldn't want to go back, there are too many other places in the world to see... but would always try to book a Riu hotel wherever we go, as it is a good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the Imperial Marhaba from 22nd July for 2 weeks. There was a group of 10 of us.

Hotel:

All public areas were spotlessly clean. Check in was a bit of an ordeal as they messed the rooms up and gave couples single beds and non couples doubles, however it was quickly fixed. The glass lifts were a nice touch and there were plenty of other lifts around meaning you never really had to walk far to get to the pool or beach. The biggest let down of the hotel itself was that although being advertised on both the Thomson and Riu website as having WiFi throughout, we were lucky to get 5 minutes of internet anywhere for the entire 2 weeks, and believe me, we searched long and hard!


Rooms:

All of our rooms were very modern and spacious with nice Air-Con. The separate toilet is a nice touch I think, although I didn't try the 'bidet style' hose next to it! The bathroom was nice and big and we had a safe and mini fridge. Tip here is to make sure you ask for the fridge to be refilled at reception, and if they haven't done it, phone down and complain. We had to do this a couple of times. As mentioned by a few previous reviewers, I went on the hunt for ants in our room. I did find 2 who lived in the Toilet (we nick-named them Ant and Dec). Did it spoil our holiday? No. Maid service was very good and the maid was very attentive.

Pool/Beach

I have to agree with previous reviewers, the pool is nowhere near big enough for the hotel. We spend every day on the beach, however I think we would have been hard pressed to get even 2 beds around the pool without getting up at silly o'clock. The beach however was lovely and we always managed to get even 10 beds there.

Food/Drinks

Food was the best all inclusive I've had. Lots of variety and lots of special dishes. Yes, it did feel a little 'samey' towards the end, but I expected that. Stuffed Lamb and the Octopus were my favorites. Drinks wise the local alcohol was quite nice, and our 2 waiters in the evening were superb. Couldn't do enough for us. As a result we tipped 10-20 dinar per night, which we didn't think was much considering there were 10 of us to look after.

Other Thoughts:

People have mentioned the manager Manuel always being around the hotel. Whilst I agree this is true, from my experience he was too busy feeding his wife and children at the restaurants to speak to any of the guests. He generally had a face like a bulldog chewing a wasp, and I wouldn't give you tuppence for his paella. However all the other staff were very friendly and attentive.

The only thing that stopped me from marking this hotel as 'Excellent' was the disappointment around the WiFi.

All in all this hotel is what you make it. If you go looking for things to complain about on TripAdvisor, you'll probably find things. If you're going for a nice holiday and to have a good time, you'll certainly do this here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBLondon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

where to start went to reps meeting manager of hotel opened meeting by explaining all that happens in hotel how to get towels and sheets changed.also told you if any problems go to him or under manager explain the problem and he will do upmost to put right straight away.
the manager was seen all over the site early morning to late at night all ways speaking to people
the hotel was excellent in immaculate conditions room perfect all kept very clean. cleaner was allways asking if room was okay
food was really good anyone complaing about it must be very pickey allways plenty to choose from bar staff and waiter service excellent with or without tips. Only thing that lets this hotel down was the eveing entertainment none exsisting met some nice people especially a lady called hilary and husband ron me and jud forgot to get email or facebook address as coach came a bit sudden should have got second name so i could find then on facebook we left sunday night
one last word thanks to the Mnager and all the staff keep up the good work

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank user1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This place is amazing!! I loved my week here with my partner. Staff are really friendly REGARDLESS of tipping or not. We tipped our cleaning lady at the end of the week as she did an amazing job, although the petals in the sink were a bit above and beyond!! The waiters are incredibly genuine! We tipped ours too, not a lot though and they were appreciative. A knowledge of French is good but NOT essential but it helped to be understood a bit better at reception with a minor issue. The beach is spotless, the weather is guaranteed hot! Laura the rep was professional and knowledgable, she knows her stuff. Quad biking is also excellent but not for the faint hearted! Wear trousers men for dinner, the food was of good quality, and plentiful. A nice mix of nationalities too, not your burger and chips 'Man U shirt' brigade here, was a pleasure to chill. The Thalasso spa was also excellent.

Local area very poor, and there was a bit of rubbish on the roads in the arrondissement of the hotel, but you don't see any of this unless you go 'off the beaten track.' taxi drivers very good and knowledgable/friendly.no problems at all there! We got an interesting lesson on N African relations from one! I want to write more, but don't want to bore you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chobbs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
7.9 km away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.4 km away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,570 reviews
2.1 km away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,564 reviews
3 km away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
354 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay

Address: port el kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Riu Imperial Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $84 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing