We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
29
16
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
16
6
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Quiet, comfortable bed, and clean. Small room overlooking city wall. Both windows in our room looked out over trees. Taxi driver had trouble finding it.

Directions: Ask to be dropped off at Hadrians Gate. Walk down through the gate, take first lane on the left and Candles is at the end. About 50m only from the Gate. More difficult to find if driving though; go past Hadrians Gate (on your right) and take the first entrance that you come to (barrier). You then need to turn right and work your way back up to the wall. Parking in street outside.

It was very hot when we were there. Good, quiet air-con in room. Courtyard was too hot to sit in in the afternoons.

Breakfast was fine, no eggs though. No English speakers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Advantages and disadvantages

The pansion is very close to the Hadrian's Gate, we found it very quickly.
Very quiet place, no noisy neighbor cafes. If the windows of your room are from garden side, you'll not hear the morning prayer (a mosque located near Handrian Gates).

Cute design of the small hotel, just 5 rooms.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, and we had everything: air conditioner, led TV, mini bar, hot and cold water, a double bed. Clean room but nobody changed nothing during 4 nights.
WIFI worked well.

disadvantages:
Sound insulation is no good. We heard everyone on stairs and in other rooms.
Including water in shower from other rooms.
We were woken several times during the night because the neighbors returned late.

Continental breakfast (not Buffet): 2 slices of cheese, olives, half a tomato, half a cucumber, jam, chocolate-hazelnut paste, bread, cup of tea or coffee.
During the day, to make their own tea was not possible because in the balon did not contain the water and we didn't find the clean cups.

Antalya - city of the cats, especially a lot of them in the old town.
I loves the cats and was happy to see them in the garden, but they smell because the owners do not wash the territory.

Frequently nobody sits on reception but the staff is friendly. Although their English is very poor.

Room Tip: Better to ask the room with windows on garden side
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kievcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We felt at home at Candles. There's just a handful of rooms and has a boutique feel to it. The family who run the hotel will go out of their way to help you. The hotel is hidden away in the corner of the old town. It makes it a little tricky to find (the locals will point you in the right direction), but means you're away from the noisy bars. It's right by the trams and Ataturk shopping street.
What began as an overnight stay in Antalya ended up a week enjoying the hospitality and restaurants of the historical city.
There is a small, stone beach near this hotel, just by the port. The entrance is through a hotel.
Our best meal was also eaten at Candles Hotel.
Don't miss a walk through the nearby park and getting lost in the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

i stayed there for three nights and my girlfriend and I miss that place as we travel around turkey. The best thing there was the food. We enjoyed every meal of breakfast and the dinner there was amazing. especially Serap was such a nice lady and made our staying memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanK2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Very difficult to find. We asked a local guy to get us there.
Great location in the hart of the Old town by the Hadrian's Wall for the cheap price.
We took a tram and then a 600 bus to get back to the airport what cost us 6TRL p/p.
Nice breakfast, cheese omlet and plenty of Turkish tea.
The owner doesn't speak much English so do your research, but wii-fii is available.
Rooms clean but sometimes you can smell of the old drains. Overall worth the price!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Modern_Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews