We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Ottoman pension”
Review of Don Pedro Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Pedro Garden
Ranked #85 of 221 Antalya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Comfortable accommodation just inside the walls of old town Kaleici. Very easy to find and very close to the main city and transport links (tram). Host was welcoming and obliging despite language difficulties - this highlighted the arrogance of we English speaking nations expecting everyone else to be able to communicate with us !!
Good breakfast served in a lovely courtyard. We would book this accommodation again should we re-visit Antalya.
Just a cheap tram ride away from swimming beaches, many good eating places both in and outside the old town - a vibrant city with plenty of options for visiting historic sites.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which looked out to the streets below but cannot comment upon other rooms. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Quiet, comfortable bed, and clean. Small room overlooking city wall. Both windows in our room looked out over trees. Taxi driver had trouble finding it.

Directions: Ask to be dropped off at Hadrians Gate. Walk down through the gate, take first lane on the left and Candles is at the end. About 50m only from the Gate. More difficult to find if driving though; go past Hadrians Gate (on your right) and take the first entrance that you come to (barrier). You then need to turn right and work your way back up to the wall. Parking in street outside.

It was very hot when we were there. Good, quiet air-con in room. Courtyard was too hot to sit in in the afternoons.

Breakfast was fine, no eggs though. No English speakers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Advantages and disadvantages

The pansion is very close to the Hadrian's Gate, we found it very quickly.
Very quiet place, no noisy neighbor cafes. If the windows of your room are from garden side, you'll not hear the morning prayer (a mosque located near Handrian Gates).

Cute design of the small hotel, just 5 rooms.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, and we had everything: air conditioner, led TV, mini bar, hot and cold water, a double bed. Clean room but nobody changed nothing during 4 nights.
WIFI worked well.

disadvantages:
Sound insulation is no good. We heard everyone on stairs and in other rooms.
Including water in shower from other rooms.
We were woken several times during the night because the neighbors returned late.

Continental breakfast (not Buffet): 2 slices of cheese, olives, half a tomato, half a cucumber, jam, chocolate-hazelnut paste, bread, cup of tea or coffee.
During the day, to make their own tea was not possible because in the balon did not contain the water and we didn't find the clean cups.

Antalya - city of the cats, especially a lot of them in the old town.
I loves the cats and was happy to see them in the garden, but they smell because the owners do not wash the territory.

Frequently nobody sits on reception but the staff is friendly. Although their English is very poor.

Room Tip: Better to ask the room with windows on garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kievcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We felt at home at Candles. There's just a handful of rooms and has a boutique feel to it. The family who run the hotel will go out of their way to help you. The hotel is hidden away in the corner of the old town. It makes it a little tricky to find (the locals will point you in the right direction), but means you're away from the noisy bars. It's right by the trams and Ataturk shopping street.
What began as an overnight stay in Antalya ended up a week enjoying the hospitality and restaurants of the historical city.
There is a small, stone beach near this hotel, just by the port. The entrance is through a hotel.
Our best meal was also eaten at Candles Hotel.
Don't miss a walk through the nearby park and getting lost in the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

i stayed there for three nights and my girlfriend and I miss that place as we travel around turkey. The best thing there was the food. We enjoyed every meal of breakfast and the dinner there was amazing. especially Serap was such a nice lady and made our staying memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.5 km away
Ozmen Pension
Ozmen Pension
#17 of 221 in Antalya
118 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Twenty
Hotel Twenty
#4 of 221 in Antalya
121 reviews
15 km away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
1.2 km away
Triana Hotel
Triana Hotel
#79 of 235 in Antalya
34 reviews
4.1 km away
The Marmara Antalya
The Marmara Antalya
#39 of 235 in Antalya
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pedro Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pedro Garden

Address: Barbaros Mah. Kandiller Sok. No: 6 | Kaleici, Antalya 07100, Turkey (Formerly Candles House)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Antalya
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Pedro Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candles House is the SMALLEST hotel of the Town.In the old part pf the city but very close to the centre.It is also very close to historic and naturel places of interst. An old house now transformed to a hotel,traditionally decoreted.Small garden with orange trees and colorful flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Don Pedro Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing