We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Dorado Hotel
Ranked #89 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was my first time in turkey and i loved it! The hotel rooms where cleaned every morning and the cleaners where always polite. The foodwasnt always good but it was ediable, however you can go across the road for really cheap good food. The staff are really friendly and know how to have fun with the guests such as jumping in the pool with everyone. The drinks are served in plastic cups which doesnt really matter because you still get the drink you want. All inclusive does finish at half 10 but the cocktails and other drink are very cheap. I honestly dont get other peoples bad review as this hotel is brill and i cant wait to go back again next year! If anyone is looking to book up for this hotel ignore the bad reviews you'll have an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fallon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    176
    121
    77
    149
See reviews for
226
220
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just thought Id put in my complaint letter which I sent last week to give those a word of warning about staying in Club darado, Marmais!!

I have just returned from the holiday above, 29/7/11 to 12/8/11, Marmais Turkey, Club Darado as described on page 78 of the ‘’Holiday 4 U’’ brochure.
The whole experience at Club Darado has been horrendous from the first impression of the staff and food to the whole holiday. Having put a real damper on our whole holiday we were continuously stressed, and defiantly didn’t get the relaxing holiday we had hoped for.
The hotel was misleadingly described. It claimed to be ‘’Well run properly with friendly helpful staff’’ but in reality staff were not only unfriendly and unhelpful but in fact unwelcoming, intimating and made myself and xxxx feel uncomfortable. During the fourteen night stay at Club Darado not one staff member managed to greet us, not even saying hello. The staff were a disgrace, not only did they not understand English, they were unorganised, lacked in people and communication skills and did not know how to talk to people nicely, never once breaking a smile. As for the running of the hotel, it was difficult at times to understand who was in charge, as on many occasions staff pushed each other into the hotel swimming pool as well as pushing guests in also. On one occasion staff stacked up numerous sun – beds and jumped of them into the pool, making many of us wonder where the first aider was if something went wrong. By virtue of regulation six of the Package Travel Regulations, the brochures description formed part of our contract which has been breached as described above.
The hotel was a three star hotel and having paid a total of £880 for all inclusive as such I expected it to be of a certain standard. However, I experienced the following problems. On the first morning at the breakfast table a cat crawled over our plate of food, to which we were later told ‘’happens on a regular basis’’, as it was the hotels family pet. On the second day, we witnessed the same cat jump onto the counter where the food had been presented to which it was licking cheese. On the third day we found hairs in the watermelon. This was disgusting and unhygienic, none of the staff wore hairnets nor did they wear gloves. The food was below par and there was no variety, it was very bland and had no taste. The choices included chicken nuggets, chips to lamb stew of which were repeated on a regular basis. We also had to ask for tables to be wiped before attempting to eat the gruel on offer. The beer was watered down and the spirit variety was bad with all the lids on the vodka bottles already opened before put on the bar. The glasses in which the drink was served were not washed properly and we could still smell alcohol in them day after day. Alcoholic drinks were given out one per person. If they knew we had another drink on the table they refused to give us another.
On Wednesday 3rd august **** and ***** spoke to Holidays 4 U rep and we explained that we were unhappy at Club Darado with the food served and the attitude of staff that worked at the hotel. The Rep told us that she would try to resolve something by perhaps moving us to another hotel and that she would be back in hour but an hour passed and she never returned. Instead the hotel manager called a meeting with us and other hotel guests at 3pm that day to tell us that Holidays 4 U had gone bust. We were promised that we would still get our all inclusive and that everything would be ok but that night the manager put up a customer notice stating that they were now charging 25gbp per person per day to take use of the inclusive package. Of course this caused uproar and after consideration it was reduced to 15gbp as they realised it may have cause hardship. We were guaranteed receipts if we paid for the inclusive but as we were unhappy to eat in the hotel due to the complaint we had already made we ate outside the hotel whilst keeping receipts for breakfast, lunch and evening meal during the last 8days. As this was the case we were refused drinking water in the hotel unless we paid again for all inclusive. Therefore we had to keep buying water in order to keep drinks chilled. As there was no fridge in our room we requested one, to which we were told would be a charge of £20 per day, a complete rip off.
This fault also lies heavily with the travel agents Co-Operative Travels, Coleraine N.I. The Travel Agency recommended that we should stay in hotel Club Darado despite our worries regarding the bad reviews online from various sources such as Holidaywatchdog.com, Travelrepublic.co.uk and Holidaysuncovered.co.uk. In particular Tripadvisor.co.uk had 127 reviews of which 65 were terrible, 23 poor and 24 being average. But we were told not listen to the reviews and that no-one had ever complained before so with this we decided to take their advice on board and book the holiday package. Via the online website for Co-Operative Travel answers the question, “why holiday with us?” claiming that they give “open, honest advice, to help secure the holiday that is right for you”. Co-Operative Travel failed to carry out this unique selling point. Whilst on holiday I rang Co-Operative Travel on three occasions worrying and stressing about the hotel situation. On one of these occasions the staff member was unaware of Holiday 4 U going bust, and in another situation I told a member of staff to pass on a message to the manager to which I later realised the next day that in fact she had not been briefed therefore I had to explain everything again. Hilary Hanna the Travel Agent Manager told me that there was no-one to complain to as Co-Operative Travel only sell it on behalf of Holidays 4 U so therefore wouldn’t take full responsibility. According to 1st/abta research on travel industry Benchmark Survey (2008), “Co-Operative is a brand you can trust with well trained and developed staff with good product knowledge to help ensure high levels of customer service are provided to the customer and reduce customer complaints”. We felt that Co-Operative Travel were unable to fulfil their customer service as we had no help or no-one to turn to whilst in Turkey. According to consumerrights.co.uk travel agents act as a middle-man between us and Holidays 4 U. It is the company’s responsibility to provide the holiday that we asked for and to sort out any problems that we have. Co-Operative Travels were unable to sort out any problems we had and were very unhelpful. My complaints to Co-Operative the holiday representative were unresolved.
Under the Package Travel regulations I have a right to get the holiday that I promised. From our perspective this was not a holiday but a very stressful experience that we would have done anything to avoid. We are also making the details of this case known to Travelwatchdog who have expressed a willingness to publish the details in the hope that it will warn other travellers of Club Darado’s absolute lack of respect for their customers and inclusive package offered.
Under the Supply of goods and services Act I am legally entitled to receive compensation for the disappointment and loss of enjoyment suffered, loss of bargain and for the additional costs incurred. As a result of the problems described above we would like to make a claim for out-of-pocket expenses incurred due to the inedible food within our all-inclusive break, resorting to costs of eating elsewhere.
I look to you to compensate me with xxxxx.
We also look to you compensate us with a reasonable cost to which you feel is fair for the stress and awful experience encountered over the duration of the holiday. I wish I had taken the many negative reviews seriously and not come any wear near to this hotel. Its not called helldarado for nothing.
Yours sincerely, disgruntled and determined of xxxxxxx and xxxxxxx.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ominous22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We went to Club Dorado with reservations after reading some of the reviews on this site, but thankfully don't believe everything we read. We went during the collapse of Holidays 4u and have to say that the staff and management were brilliant throughout. Yes some of the bar staff jumped in the pool, but they were having a laugh with all the kids that were there, pushing each other in. Yes, some of the food wasn't the best and was repetitive but if you only want to eat british food, then stay over here for your holidays. The all inclusive drinks were served from plastic cups, but on the other hand nobody got cut on any broken glass around the pool. The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very comfortable. We had a great time, met some lovely people, had some fab days out courtesy of September and would happily book again and go back. For those who have reviewed this place as Helldorado I can't help but wonder if you expect a little too much!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smurph1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The food isn't fab but there are many good restaurants very close by, such as Sarah's right next door. I found the food good as long as they lay off the chicken nagits!! The staff were brilliant, especially the lovely cleaning lady and the loopy waiters and bar staff. They are not pervs they are just regular lads having a laugh with the yound ones. The girls loved them and no one complained. They were great during the Holidays 4 U colapse and made us feel safe. The manager and his team are really helpful. Lovely budget location close to all the great pubs and clubs in Marmaris and only a 10 minute walk away from the beach too. Great cheap trips available from September and his gang across the road. I would go again as long as they promised not to serve chicken nuggets!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiffy_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I wish I had taken the many negative reviews seriously and not come any where near to this Hotel. It's not called helldorado for nothing !! Yes the rooms are clean but that's the only positive. The staff are miserable,rude and dress as if they are guests.The food was terrible and the drinks so bad we ate and drank out. If you were a young dolly bird the young waiters were very attentive, if not they couldnt be bothered with you. The owners Kitten walked along tables while people ate and was seen licking displayed food ! Cups and saucers were constantly dirty having been left with residue from tea or coffee from previous use.distgusting. We had to ask for tables to be wiped before attempting to eat the gruel on offer.Staff playedthe type of music around the pool for their benefit and was booming out most of the day.They jumped and swam in the pool and behaved as if they were the holiday maker, once it was anounced holidays for U were gone..No management were around to stop them doing as they pleased. Sarah the hotel owner told us that she owns the bar next door, so not only do they get money for food in your holiday package but get extra from people that eat at Sarah's because they found food at the hotel so rank ! The hotel also own the supermarket opposite, so quids in all round.I asked the guy serving why he was eating in our restaraunt and he told me it was because we are all the same.
As for getting what you paid for statement, a lot of people had paid between £500-£670 pp and others had paid well under £400 for the same period.
We were here during the time holidays for u collapsed and were told to pay £25 pp per day for food and drink or eat out (not £10 as previously stated by another on here ) we chose to continue to eat out as paying twice over was the ultimate insult.
I have visited Turkey and many other holiday destinations and can honestly say this was the worst hotel ive had the misfortune of staying in,others have their opinion and I respect that, but my standards are a lot higher than theirs I suppose. View all the reviews going back to 2009 and then make up your mind, 60 odd % cant all be wrong,I gave them the benefit of the doubt and wish I hadn't. AS THE SAYING GOES BUYER BEWARE !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank theoracle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.3 km away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#70 of 234 in Marmaris
44 reviews
0.8 km away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#67 of 234 in Marmaris
293 reviews
1.2 km away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
#154 of 234 in Marmaris
361 reviews
1.1 km away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
457 reviews
0.6 km away
Soykan Hotel
Soykan Hotel
#182 of 234 in Marmaris
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Property: Club Dorado Hotel
Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price range (per night): $28 - $88
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing