We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start,good finish”
Review of Karen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Hotel
Ranked #171 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We try different budget hotels every year we come to Marmaris.This April we stayed at the Karen.e arrived on the 19th there were only about 10 guests in the hotel,they only served dinner till 8 pm we went down at 8.30pm there was nothing left they had cleared up.we complained and the next evening we were down at 8.again only one main meal so if you didnt like it you went without.after 4 nights the hotel was quite full the evening meal still contained one main dish,at least at the other budget hotels you get a bit more choice.The rooms are ok the staff are quite young and under trained,one saving grace was the receptionist Huseyin he was very helpful. I would say if you go after April and before October you would be ok but there are a few better 3 star hotels

Room Tip: Ask for front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boltontats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Arrived at this hotel at 6.30am on the 11th September and was shown to our room which on first impressions was very clean.

went down for breakfast at 9.30 now I know thats quite late however if breakfast is on until 10.00 you expect to be able to eat something.

Talkimg of the food if you like chicken then your in with a chance as thats all we had for 1 week apart from one day when we had fish

The shower was interesting it went from a dribble to a gushing shower and was either cold or scalding

The lighting in the corridors and on the stairs was dangerous to say the least, the lights were on a sensor and the lights flashed on and straight back off again.

Drinks were very small and the all inclusive bar was in reception which was inconvenient

Staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Myself and 5 of my friends went this hotel in July. I was strongly recommend not to use this hotel for the following reasons. Food was not good, in my opinion, perhaps to other peoples taste but we were told by barrhead travel the food would at least offer burgers, chicken burgers chiops etc, not one night did we get anything like this. We were all inclusive and did not eat out of the hotel after the one occassion my friend ordered chicken to find blood running out of it, and when complaining about this nothing sufficient was done. The drinks upon arrival, had no lemonade no beer and no vodka. All inclusive drinks and this is just about all they offered. When asking for a pint when the beer was eventually put back on a couple of days later the boy didnt have a clue and half filled a platic cup. Vodka was not measured, simply a very small amount poured by the boy, no one sitting at the bar meant having to wait ages for someone to serve us.
Rooms were small, 3 of us to a room, single beds pushed together, my head was sleeping right next to an open plug, and a telephone balancing above on the head board. One wardrobe between 3, with the smallest balcony. No room to move or get ready, all girls on holiday you can imagine how difficult this was. Staff were drunk at night sitting with other guests. Other staff were unpleasent and unhelpful.
When complaining to rep were told to write out a complaint form which we did, and did not hear anything back. He said we could not request to be moved rooms otherwise we would be charged.
Towels were requested at one point and provided damp.
The list goes on....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarah-Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Insufficiently trained and too casual staff teenagers. We asked for lunch packages and in 4 a.m. they told us, drunk of course, that they have forgotten all about it.

Exchange office on the reception desk didn't work.

Food was 2*, mostly without meat.

Rooms were nice and clean and maids are doing good job.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meneater_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Me and 5 of my friends are just back from a weeks holiday which we were stayin in the Karen hotel. We had 3 single beds pushed together in each room which left no space for us to unpack we were living out our suitcases. The food was terrible we got a cooked chicken which was still bloody and pink inside when asked to have something else the manager just picked it up with his hands and walked away. There also wasnt a great selection of food and the fizzy juice ran out at certain times of the day. There was never anyone serving at the bar or reception and the staff were not pleasant. We never had clean towels and when we had to ask and eventually got the towels they were still wet. We complained to the rep but all he gave us was a complaint form and signed it. I seriously suggest you do not go to this hotel I've been to loads of hotels in marmaris and never had a problem except this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniellexmclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 km away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,348 reviews
0.6 km away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
1.1 km away
Ideal Prime Beach
Ideal Prime Beach
#17 of 234 in Marmaris
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,385 reviews
1.4 km away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
394 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Hotel

Address: Uzunyali Caddesi 209 Sok. No:5 Dergah Mevkii, Marmaris, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $21 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Karen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing