We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estancia Tierra Santa
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ah'lo Carmelo Posada Hostel Boutique(Carmelo)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Chic(Carmelo)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet del Buen Vivir(Carmelo)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017

It has been more than a month since we were at Estancia Tierra Santa, but I go back there in my mind from time to time- Our stay there was exactly what we wanted and reamed of- an absolutely GORGEOUS property, fantastic food and wine, the warmest company in our hostess, Karen. Do not hesitate to book this place, whether you are looking to just relax in a beautiful setting for a few days or whether you are looking for a more active holiday of horseback riding, birding, walking in the lovely countryside, exploring wineries... We did some of each. Karen is an incredible host- warm and welcoming, entertaining and informative, and the place she has created here is a work of art. I think I will travel there right now, in my mind...

Room Tip: Any! There are only three and all are gorgeous, have private patios and their own charm.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marketmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

From dinner (the food was stunning), to the setting, to the freedom to design our days as we pleased, Estancia Tierra Santa and Karen provided just what we were looking for in our time in Uruguay. As an example of Karen going above and beyond, she was booked up when we wanted to come, but she spoke to a regular who was staying at our desired time, found out they were flexible, and then managed to move them to a different day to fit us in: as usual, going above and beyond. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indychamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the estancia tierra santa.

The location, grounds and people are superb. The estancia is owned an American couple, who are charming. The grounds in which the estancia is set are beautiful and green. A stream runs through the property. My wife and I did a delighful 2 hour walk along a back road from the estancia- we were passed by one car in that time. It is peace and quiet personified.

When we stayed, the price was US$485 plus 14% tax for room, dinner, breafast and unlimited refreshments.

The breakfast is simple and cooked by the owners Uruguyan helper- who is lovely. She cooks simple scambled eggs beautifully. There is fruit, muesli, bread. All good wholesome fare- very enjoyable.

The dinners are served communally- nothing wrong with that but if you did not like your fellow diners, that would be a problem. Our fellow guests were charming.Dinner was served at 8:00pm- we were happpy with that but it did not appear negotiable. The food is wholesome country food. rather than fine dining. Whilst you are asked what you like, management has to accomodate other guests as everyone, when we were there, received the same food. We were served lamb one night and some lovely fish the other night. The starter on the second night was a lettuce salad.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but they are not luxurious. Comfortable farm stay, with old claw bath and big bathroom, is the best I can describe it.It is beautifully quiet.

We went because we wanted to experience an estancia. We did enjoy ourselves. We would reommend it to people who also want to experience an estancia. We dont ride horses or fish, so some of the activities are of no interest to us. We do cycle a lot- the owner said that if she had known they could have hired us bikes. If you go and want to cycle, tell the owners when you book. If they had had bikes, we would have very much enjoyed cycling there.

The owners are lovely- they treat there guests well- they are lettiing you into there home-but you are paying over $500 per night for the privilege.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at this lovely farm after spending time in Buenos Aires. We loved Uruguay and Carmelo. The property is privately owned and personally operated by Karen the owner. She's the proprietor, farm manager, and chef. The 3 rooms are large and beautifully decorated. We wanted to enjoy the large tub, but in this area of the world,water service/electrical power is not always reliable so we had to skip the bath and take quick showers instead. Having a large bathroom and space for luggage is always appreciated. The area of Carmelo is lovely and worthwhile to see. Yes, get a car. We went to the local winery, which is excellent, and the Four Seasons for a couple of delicious meals. If you like B&Bs this place is for you. If you don't like communal dining or have special dietary needs (we had a couple of vegetarians in our group and this posed a stressful problem even though we notified in advance) than stay at the wonderful Four Seasons nearby. Both are great places. My only wish was for a cool pool at the end of the hot day. That would make a great addition to the property. There is no fitness center, but it was not expected. We jogged along the road. We also thought Karen could use some extra staff to help her out. Carmelo is a good respite from BA.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Everything about Tierra Santa expresses a high level of consciousness and esthetic. Karen, a consumate host, has created an oasis of peace and nurturance. Her intuition, her intelligence and her timing are all impeccable. She has a talent for cooking, for caring and for making you feel like her new best friend. She provides privacy, calm, comfort and care. A deep sense of repose infused our cells and all our regular mind chatter quieted. The experience of this place is really beyond my ability to express in words. It is a blessing, a gift of grace.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews