We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Chic(Carmelo)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ah'lo Carmelo Posada Boutique(Carmelo)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmelo Hostel(Carmelo)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Urbano(Carmelo)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$111
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Azahares(Carmelo)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Chalet del Buen Vivir(Carmelo)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Candelas(Carmelo)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
817
168
43
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
168
43
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerfour seasonsbi level suitebuenos airesthe riverhorseback ridingeucalyptus forestoff seasonlate checkoutsouth americaamazing hotelbeautiful poolwine tastingrio de la platafire pitbungalowwinery
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

I came here with my parents and they absolutely loved this beautiful hotel. Picture don't do justice so you have to come visit for yourself. The ground are beautiful with vineyards running around the pool. The employee's were top notch from the front desk, the bar, the restaurant to at the pool. The rooms were nice and spacious which was nice and had great views as well. Another part we loved was the spa and gym which was nice to visit in the morning before or after breakfast (which is a great breakfast btw). Highly recommend coming for at least 2 nights and relaxing at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_KP7047DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We visited in January, summer vacation time, and believe that we were among only a handful of guests at the crowded hotel at that time without two or three accompanying young children (pre-teens).

We stayed in two separate bungalows (we were moved during our stay, somewhat inexplicably due to front desk issues/chaos), both of which were very nicely furnished, but both of which had window coverings (shades and curtains) that were torn/broken/missing.

The three on-site restaurants provided excellent food, but the dining environments were very much impacted by what appeared to be competitions of which 3-year-old could behave the worst. While we're all use to uncontrolled crying from young ones, we're sure that we've never seen (or heard) so much unattended screaming and bawling in high-priced resort restaurants.

One night there was an outdoor barbecue, and the various chefs were proud to show off their outdoor cooking mettle. Short chats with the various chefs-de-cuisine resulted in brilliant results. Highly recommended.

Uruguay has recently legalized recreational marijuana. It's only in retrospect, but I can't help but wonder whether our three truly bizarre interactions with the front desk were not affected by that. On first arrival, neither front-desk attendant could look up from their on-going phone calls for at least five minutes (there was literally no-one else in the lobby at the time); when finally one of the calls was finished, we were suddenly the attendants' best friends --- but were assigned a room that we had to move from the next day. On check-out, subsequent to paying, and saying good-bye, we inexplicably needed to provide our passports to the clearly befuddled attendant. Two hours after leaving the hotel, we realized that we had left behind two envelopes (with sundry receipts, notes, used boarding passes etc.) in the desk drawer of the desk in the bungalow, but the front desk attendant we spoke with by phone took pains to make clear that, if found, these envelopes could not be mailed to us. It's extremely unlikely that such materials would be tossed out by the housekeepers, but in any case, they were never returned to us. [When the concierge from the Hyatt Centric in Montevideo followed-up by phone on our behalf, he could only comment "that was strange"].

For World of Hyatt members, it should also be noted that no Hyatt points for the stay were processed automatically. A subsequent call to Hyatt corporate resulted in an immediate manual adjustment.

If you're a child psychologist wanting to research behaviors of the children of the nouveau riche of South America, you won't want to pass up the opportunity to visit here during the January holidays. Otherwise I'd advise giving this wonderful facility, with all of its obvious potential, a wide berth. Forewarned is forearmed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This is a very good hotel. My husband and I stayed for three days at this hotel in one of the bungalows located far from the main hall and pool, and it was perfect. We had a very nice view to the forest and vineyard in front of us, and mostly heard birds singing. The bungalow was wonderful, fully equipped and decorated with elegance. The breakfast and meals were excellent. The staff was courteous and extremely helpful. Highly recommended for a most peaceful and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The bungalows are nicer than the duplexes
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

After a stressful year planning our wedding, my now husband and I were most looking forward to a few days of complete relaxation. Carmelo Resort and Spa was definitely relaxing.

We were welcomed by friendly staff, particularly Eva and Virginia at the front desk, acknowledging our honeymoon. We stayed in a bungalow overlooking the water. The outdoor private shower was heavenly. I There are 48 (I believe) bungalows so the resort is overall very quiet. From Friday-Sunday it livened up with what we think are S.A. “locals,” meaning, weekend getaways.

Our first night we were surprised with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, lit candles and a bubble bath upon our return to the room after dinner. It was wonderful.

For the rest of the trip, we played tennis, got massages, relaxed by the pool (both indoor and outdoor). We took bikes out to get lunch at a local pier the front desk recommended. The wine, dulce de leche among other delicious items were made by the local vineyard, Narbona in Carmelo. We did a wine tasting there, located about 10-15 min from the hotel and it was well worth it.

Almost all of our meals were at the resort. This was both good but also got old quickly. Although the food was delicious. Waitstaff was friendly but barely spoke English so often it was hard to communicate. They seemed somewhat more cold to us than they did with other tables that we saw. A highlight was the lovely restaurant manager who checked in with us a bunch, very attentive.

Front desk staff helped us get our bus tickets to Montevideo and arranged for the bus to pick us up outside of the resort.

Our overall stay was great. It’s beautiful and incredibly relaxing.

A few cons:
- some of the waitstaff as I mentioned above

- we couldn’t communicate well during breakfast and had no clue they had eggs made to order until the 2nd to last day, no one told us. We were given a bill for $68 for breakfast on 3 mornings out of 5 but we thought it was included, had to confirm with the front desk

- only two dinner options during the week and not many other places to go (especially if they cancel one of your other dinner plans twice - see below)

- our wine tasting with dinner was canceled both nights we requested it, sort of disappointing but no big deal in the end as we switched it to lunch. However, for some reason no hotel shuttles were available? Despite being told they normally would be. So they charged us for a taxi there and back. We felt that was a little odd

- tennis was great but the rackets they have are so old that it made it hard to play. I recommend bringing your own if you can

- bed was pretty uncomfortable, fine for the first 2 nights but not much longer than that

- I practice yoga regularly at home and was super excited to see that there was a class on the beach. When I asked the spa, they were unable to accommodate us until a few days into our trip. Then when we got to the class, we realized we needed to be fluent in Spanish, not the biggest deal but definitely wasn’t the meditative experience I was hoping for

As a side note- I can speak a moderate amount of Spanish and even that was not enough to overcome a huge language barrier here. Id like to mention that the rest of our stay in Buenos Aires and Montevideo was also with little English but the circumstances were different. We were exploring the city. This is a resort and wasn’t supposed to be a source of stress. I feel we missed some things and seeing as it’s a Hyatt resort, I think we expected a little bit more.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Nothing short of incredible, room was a standout with large jacuzzi to the back of the property.
Beautiful pool and first class restaurant.
Attentive staff, ultimate luxury with beautiful beach and tranquil surroundings.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews