We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay at this B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Amenia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2016

me and my husband and good friends recently stayed at Hilltop B&B in Amenia and it was great ! very warm and cozy, extremely clean price was reasonable and breakfast was homemade from scratch to your specifications. The owners couldnt be nicer ! recomended to all!!

Room Tip: corner rooms are larger :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you Susan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016

Beautifully restored and charming inn. Sandy is a gracious innkeeper and wonderful breakfast chef. Loved the blueberry pancakes! For dinner, Sandy recommended a superb local restaurant called Serevan, which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thanks for the review Terry! I miss your car ;) We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by Sandy, who we found to be such a generous host. She showed us our room (which was immaculate, very comfortable and inviting) What a beautiful home!! My husband and I made time to sit on the porch and have tea, and spend time together. We met friends there and all enjoyed dinner down the street at a local restaurant. Our entire stay was wonderful. Oh, and the breakfast - so amazing and delicious!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merrilylacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you Merrily! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

My husband and I spent one night at this charming B&B located just up the hill from the Harlem Valley Rail Trail. We had done a very long bike ride the day we arrived and were very happy to have booked a night here. Beautiful, clean, well kept house, lovely room tastefully decorated, beautiful bathroom, and a delicious breakfast the next morning on a large, sunny screened-in porch.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank bethbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thanks so much Beth! We appreciate your nice review. Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

A desire to ride the Harlem Valley Rail Trail led us to book This delightful Bed & Breakfast.

I'm not big on B&B's, due to past experiences with dusty antiques and squabbling hosts, but the Hilltop House had many positive reviews and is down the street from the bike path. Our room and bathroom were attractive, comfortable and clean. It was nice to have quiet, central A/C instead of loud window air conditioners that are typical in older homes. The innkeeper, Sandy, was friendly and helpful. Her homemade breakfasts are served buffet style and in good weather, seating is on a beautiful porch.
I would definitely go back! The rail trail is #flatandeasy, about 8 miles from Amenia to Millerton. In Amenia, try Montes Kitchen and visit the drive-in movie. Other activities close-by include wineries, the Orvis store with shooting and fly-fishing lessons as well as the Innisfree and Wethersfield gardens.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Judi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you Judi! Glad you two decided to give our B&B a try! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amenia
18.9 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
88 reviews
29.9 km away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
13.4 km away
Millbrook Country House
Millbrook Country House
#4 of 4 in Millbrook
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
406 reviews
31.3 km away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#1 of 3 in Norfolk
154 reviews
30.3 km away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 43 Depot Hill Rd, Amenia, NY 12501-5602
Region: United States > New York > Amenia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Amenia
Price Range: $263 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilltop House is a great destination for a weekend getaway located just 2 hours north of NYC and 3 hours from Boston. We have five guest rooms, each uniquely decorated with fine linens and period antiques. A full country breakfast is served on our lovely screened in porch or a winter breakfast by the fire. Explore all the Hudson Valley has to offer from our local wineries, hiking and rail trails, five star restaurants, historical sites and numerous outdoor activities. What are you waiting for? Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing