We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Amenia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I could not find a good lodging option in Rhinebeck for the weekend and so glad I was recommended this wonderful B&B. Sandy was so very welcoming and sincere; she made sure I felt comfortable like home. Knowing that I’m a vegetarian she discussed food options with me right away and prepared two delicious breakfasts during my stay, including her own granola.
I stayed in Washington room. The cleanliness of the room was superb. I loved how it felt and enjoyed the fresh air and view of the trees outside the window. The flowers around the B&B were beautiful and well taken care of. I sat on the patio one of the nights- it was very peaceful, quiet and relaxing.
The area around the inn is simply beautiful. I’ll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yanchiklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy J, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for the nice review! I'm so glad you had time to enjoy the porch during your stay here! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

After a tasty breakfast featuring Sandy's ham & cheese toast, we plopped into a comfortable wicker sofa on the wide, welcoming porch and contemplated the peaceful village surroundings. I had vowed to actually read some of my book, because the rain lent such a sit-a-spell feeling, but needless to say we were off exploring within 15 minutes. What a great experience it is to stay here -- the combination of cheerful, attentive host, quiet village setting, and atmospheric interior is pitched just right for us. One reviewer noted that the bathrooms looked new; we have been here several times over the last three years and they look that way each time!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylebcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy J, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you Kyle! I always enjoy your visits and I'm so glad that you two were able to enjoy our amazing porch this time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We took my mom back to Amenia for her 90th birthday. There are 5 rooms available and our family took all 5. There was a wonderful porch where we spent a lot of time laughing and telling stories. Beautiful inside sitting area as well. The house is so beautiful. Sandy is an amazing proprietor and her breakfasts were wonderful. I think I gained 5 pounds. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank plmcenroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy J, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you so much! We look forward to all of you returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stayed at Hilltop house on the weekend after Thanksgiving 2016. The room was very clean and comfortable. The linens were great and our nights sleep was quiet and uninterrupted. Breakfast was delicious. Sandy was a great host and we would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Thank you for the review Marco! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and your charger is on it's way :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The Hilltop House is a beautiful corner property. The first floor has gorgeous rustic wood paneling and stone fireplaces. Our Cottage Room was beautiful. The sheets felt like silk. The towels so soft to the touch. Sandy was a very pleasant owner/inn keeper. She prepared a delicious breakfast that we thoroughly enjoyed. If we return to visit the area we will stay at the Hilltop House.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Thanks so much for the great review Phyllis! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amenia
18.9 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
88 reviews
29.9 km away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
14.3 km away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Millbrook Country House
Millbrook Country House
#4 of 4 in Millbrook
28 reviews
31.3 km away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#1 of 3 in Norfolk
155 reviews
30.3 km away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 43 Depot Hill Rd, Amenia, NY 12501-5602
Region: United States > New York > Amenia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Amenia
Price Range: $262 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilltop House is a great destination for a weekend getaway located just 2 hours north of NYC and 3 hours from Boston. We have five guest rooms, each uniquely decorated with fine linens and period antiques. A full country breakfast is served on our lovely screened in porch or a winter breakfast by the fire. Explore all the Hudson Valley has to offer from our local wineries, hiking and rail trails, five star restaurants, historical sites and numerous outdoor activities. What are you waiting for? Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing