We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thu Bon River”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours (Formerly HOI AN ECO-TOUR) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours is to provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming communities in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 11 December 2012

It was a very fine tour along the river. We visit the local fisherman, and have a nice meal on the boat. We have a funny tour in small boats with guide along the bananatrees.
Everything was very fine organized - we enjoy it.

1  Thank 111212jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Jensen,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours crews in Hoi An- Viet Nam !

Thank you very much for taking your time reviewing us on the Trip Advisor. Thank you so much as well for joining Fisherman & the waterways on the Thu Bon River. It is nice to know you have a nice trip with our crews. We hope to welcome you back

With all the best !

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013 !

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"eco tour"
in 325 reviews
"captain cook"
in 215 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 393 reviews
"basket boat"
in 307 reviews
"rice"
in 236 reviews
"gangnam style"
in 92 reviews
"fishing nets"
in 117 reviews
"fishing village"
in 176 reviews
"boat crew"
in 61 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 58 reviews
"palm paradise"
in 48 reviews
"great fun"
in 201 reviews
"cast nets"
in 31 reviews
"fishing techniques"
in 29 reviews
"catch fish"
in 39 reviews
"local fishermen"
in 78 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 50 reviews
Filter

2,330 - 2,334 of 2,786 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

We went on our tour in November 2012, we were met by a friendly member of staff and were the only people on the tour which was great for us. We started by transferring to the main boat via basket boat and shortly after setting off we joined a couple fishing in the estuary and helped with pulling in the nets. With heavy rain settling in we took a trip around the water coconut plantation and then spent a dry hour in a local house before heading off again for a great meal cooked on board the boat. We finished by pulling up the large nets which are common in the area.

We had a great day out and left with some fantastic animals made from palm leaves made by the captain and the guide.

Excellent staff with good English who were very friendly.

Thank Safia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Dear Safia H,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tour Family in Hoi An- Viet Nam !

We have seen your great review on the Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for joining tour with us. We are very happy to be told that you had a wonderful experienced trip with us like sailing with our round bamboo basket boat, cast net hauling, animal toys made of the palm coconut leaves and a visit walk to a local family at the coconut village and a yummy lunch cooked on board by our captain cook ...despite the fact that the weather was raining vey heavily in November in Hoi An then. It is great to know that everything was saying greatly about Hoi An Eco-tours.

As the Christmas season and a new year 2013 is coming, I am Jack Tran, the owner of Hoi An Eco-tour to say our big thanks on behalf of our staffs to wish you and your family with al the best luck.

We wish to welcome you back in the short future.

With kindest regards,

Jack Tran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We recently did the fisherman's tour and had a spectacular time. Not only was it informative and interesting but great fun too. Our guides were brilliant and kept us entertained the whole time with anecdotes, stories, explanations and antics. They took great photos for us when we were busy learning how to fish and prepared a superb lunch. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Vietnam and we can't recommend it highly enough.

Thank KlaxonBeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Lara C,

It is so cool for us to read your fantastic review on the Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your time to share about your Fisherman trip to other travelers about Hoi An Eco-tours. I am very pleased that our crews has helped you with great photos while you were very busy to catch fish with the local fishermen. I am also very happy to learn that you got very special entertainment from our crews especially my captain cook cooking and he served you a great meal on board.

Thank you so much for joining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013 !

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A great local experience. We took the fishing and waterways trip, which gave us a real sense of the lifestyle of local fishermen and their families as well as a wonderful opportunity to view the coastal area close to Hoi An. Jack Tran's crew and team were vibrant and infectiously good humoured. They pointed out the locals using all sorts of ingenious methods to fish. We spent a brief while on a small fishing boat with a family who were fishing together. We boated the shallow areas in a coracle shaped boat. We tried some of the local fishing techniques such as throwing nets. We even played baseball on the sand with coconuts. After a great few hours we were treated to a fantastic lunch of fish. Our boat was scrupulously clean and the food was delicious. We enjoyed every minute.

1  Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Nicky B,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tour Family Company in Hoi An ancient town- Viet Nam !

My name is Jack Tran ( Mr.). I am The Managing Director & Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours. I have read your wonderful review on The Trip Advisor. On behalf of my company, I would love to say our greatest thanks for joining our Fisherman & the waterways with us. We are so happy to hear about your enjoyment with our local fishing people and crews on our Hoi An Eco-tour's boat.

I hope that you had a great holiday in Viet Nam and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner and Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We did this tour in Sept 2012, and we lucky enough to have Jack in our basket boat, this man has an amazing wealth of knowledge, a strong sense of community, ensuring that many of the local village people are employed by his business. Apart from this, it was just a truly fantastic experience, one not to be missed! Had an absolute ball Jack, thankyou!

1  Thank Tracey Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Tracey Q,

Thank you so much for your great review on the Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to know that you had a truly experience with Hoi An Eco-tours. On behalf of my family crews and local people, I would love to thank you so much for joining tour with us. It is also my pleasure to have welcomed you privately on board.

I wish you with all the best and looking forward to your soon return.

Best wishes,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tour Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing