We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banh Xeo Experience..”
Review of Bale Well

Bale Well
Ranked #222 of 1,570 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed 23 July 2016

In Hoi An, try not to miss this dish "Banh Xeo" at Bale Well restaurant,
Well..you do need a bit of patient to find this Hidden Gem, if you can't find try asking the local when you around there, and of cos avoid asking those restaurant that sell Banh Xeo, not so nice lah? Believe me, you find eventually!

Clean & Good food, very homely service, nice ambience with very reasonable price for Tourist!
It could be the reason for me to go back Hoi An!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 603 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Great food! Bánh Xèo was so different from the North. Damn tasty! Ms. Bé was so kind to us,offered free Amazing tea and took care of us all the time. we fell sorry that We could not come to say goodbye before we left but we will come back for sure.

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank Alice160691
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Bale well has expanded to across the road with a lovely garden setting but still the great value Vietnamese food. The standard fare is barbecued squared chicken, pork, prawns and deep fried rolls which you prepare yourself by wrapping in rice paper with lettuce, greens, herbs etc then dip these in peanut and chilli sauce. The kitchen keeps binging these out until you can't fit another one in! All this for about A$7, add a beer and the whole lot costs A$10 per head. You can't beat that.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrisfromcatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

This restaurant was recommend to us by the receptionist at our hotel. We were just expecting a street food place, but we were surprised by the quality and amount of food we got as part of a set menu. The food was delicious and more than enough for 2 people! I especially liked the chocolate mouse dessert. A very local experience and staff were wonderful and friendly. If you want to experience local dining in Hoi An, I recommend this cool restaurant!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Lujo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We went to this place after seeing it in Lonely Planet's guide. We shouldn't have listened. Although the place looks and feels very authentic and has a great atmosphere, we were soon to discover that not everything was as good as it seemed. When we arrived we were given the drinks menu only - no food menu. Apparently this place serves just one menu and everyone seemed to be eating the same dishes. DIY spring rolls with rice paper, greens, cabbage and meat, fried spring rolls and rice pancakes as well as two types of mousse for dessert. The food arrived just minutes after we sat down. We didn't get to order it, it just came. The waiter was very aggressive in her way of showing how to roll the spring rolls, and she even grabbed my girlfriend's arm quite roughly, trying to shove the food into her mouth.
We were not told what we ate. I happen to be a bit allergic to shellfish, so it was unfortunate that I discovered a shrimp in one of the fried spring rolls. Thankfully, the waitress quickly replaced our dishes with none-shellfish ones.
We never knew what all this would cost until the end when we had to pay 290,000d for drinks and food. Very overpriced compared to the rest of Hoi An! It was good, but not that good and I hope LP will soon remove it from its guidebook.
I cannot recommend this place, unfortunately.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank sebastianhirschdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bale Well also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bale Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.