We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reaching Out Tea House

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #1 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing tea house with quiet cozy atmosphere. 3 kind of tea and 3 of coffee, 10 different cookies. Tasty, nice, relax. Love this place.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank aradan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,749
    201
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended to try this place, and wow what an experience it was. It was beautiful and tranquil. Quality coffee and service to match. Enjoyed every minute of it, and an experience like this cannot be had anywhere else!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank KathyMiki7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Yes, our tea house is an exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful space, you must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A special place, peaceful, lovely service and beautiful ambiance. Drip Coffee great and served in the most beautiful way. Plus lovely cookies. A place not to be missed.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitzy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for telling the Trip Advisor world about the beautiful ambiance of our tea house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the first time i visited the restaurant with hearing and speech impairment people as employees. The atmosphere here is quiet and peaceful. We communicate with body languange and some blocks with written common requests and greetings

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank AlunHutoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor followers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely quiet tea house in hectic Hoi an ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great coffee and tea and cookies in a serene space. And you get to help keep young deaf/mute Vietnamese employed.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing